Thread: Leisure Leagues 6-a-side

Leisure Leagues

Are any of you doing this? It's a 6-a-side league run across Ireland and the UK. There's one starting in Sligo next month and a few of us are doing it. Should be a bit of craic.

Anyone any experience with this league, good or bad?

They've been running a league in Limerick since November. L37 supporters entered 2 teams. Seems to be reasonably well run although the ref's arent great.
    LTID

Quote Originally Posted by KevB76 View Post
    They've been running a league in Limerick since November. L37 supporters entered 2 teams. Seems to be reasonably well run although the ref's arent great.
    then again when are refs ever good?

Sm, my team is gonna wipe the floor with yere's...and your manager's dirty tactics aren't going to pay off...

Quote Originally Posted by Red&White Rover View Post
    Sm, my team is gonna wipe the floor with yere's...and your manager's dirty tactics aren't going to pay off...
    In fairness, we have a class manager so whatever tactics he uses, are obviously going to be quality and will beat all others

238 Posts
    Its run in Letterkenny too, anyone I have spoke to about it reckon its great. Its actually a fairly high standard. If you look at the LK league on that site you will clearly see which teams entered for the craic.

228 Posts

Leisure Leagues 6-a-side

There may already be a thread on this (apologies in advance, but I couldn't find it), but are any of you on here in a team that is competing in their local 6-a-side Leisure League? They recently set up a league in Derry and my friends and I decided to enter for a bit of fun. It would be cool to win and then enter the All-Ireland, so that we can attempt to emulate our unprecedented success at the Galway Mini-World Cup...

*is reminiscent*

That being said, since then, many of the lads have started 'grown-up' habits such as smoking and going out on the pi$$, so our chances may be limited! Haha.

Leisure Leagues UK & Ireland

Leisure Leagues Ireland
    Last edited by Predator; 20/06/2009 at 12:26 AM. Reason: tidy

Here.

It's terrible. Over-priced, way too many stupid rules.

We won the first sligo league before droppin out.

Stupid rules, refs and prices.

228 Posts
    Here.

It's terrible. Over-priced, way too many stupid rules.
    Really? What actually happened was that one of my friends entered without reading over everything, instead leaving me to do the reading! He didn't realise it's £25 a game. With 14 games, we will have to pay £350, but I'm thinking up ways around this (seeing if sponsorship is permitted and looking for support from local community groups). Most of the guys looking to do this from our area are all aged between 17 and 22 (and are either students or unemployed!), so it should provide a recreational outlet on Sunday if nothing else.

With regard to the rules, I was reading over some and I agree, some seem rather strange, but hopefully the referees in Derry will know the craic. I couldn't believe it when I read that there were FINES for disciplinary procedures like yellow cards! That's mental if you ask me.

I'm not actually assuming the responsibility either, so if it all goes pear-shaped, my friend can sort it out! ha The games start this Sunday (21st), but I'll be in Donegal, so it'll be interesting to hear how it goes!

228 Posts
    In an effort to stop two threads being open about the same topic;

From the thread I started:

Quote Originally Posted by Predator View Post
    Really? What actually happened was that one of my friends entered without reading over everything, instead leaving me to do the reading! He didn't realise it's £25 a game. With 14 games, we will have to pay £350, but I'm thinking up ways around this (seeing if sponsorship is permitted and looking for support from local community groups). Most of the guys looking to do this from our area are all aged between 17 and 22 (and are either students or unemployed!), so it should provide a recreational outlet on Sunday if nothing else.

With regard to the rules, I was reading over some and I agree, some seem rather strange, but hopefully the referees in Derry will know the craic. I couldn't believe it when I read that there were FINES for disciplinary procedures like yellow cards! That's mental if you ask me.

I'm not actually assuming the responsibility either, so if it all goes pear-shaped, my friend can sort it out! ha The games start this Sunday (21st), but I'll be in Donegal, so it'll be interesting to hear how it goes!

521 Posts
    Threads merged

Yeah I'm in the one down here in Naas, very competitive anyways and every team seems to take it very seriously. Good few Kildare County players on the team top of the league too. We're by far the youngest team in the league and get bullied in most games which is frustrating to say the least, referees are inconsistent and its €35 a game which is pretty dear.
    Good craic all the same though
    Cmon County!

Quote Originally Posted by Kildare Lad View Post
    Good few Kildare County players on the team top of the league too.
    ...I thought you said it was competitive?

Sorry but you left it wide open for that

Yep we played in our local one a year or so back, very poorly run and over priced..... I remember the footballs were so crap we brought our own up, asked the other team if they were happy to play with ours, which they obviously were, then the ref and the rep told us we had to use the one they provided. I told them everyone was complaining about the crap footballs and the rep said she would supply new ones..... 3 weeks on and she shows up delighted with herself with new footballs, but of the exact same ****e quality as the old ones. We dropped out after the end of the season.... as winners by a mile .

In summary, its run by a bunch of hungry chancers.

We had one ref who clearly was in no fit state to ref, and subsequently fecked off with two weeks entry fees...

I tsill see him in the tracksuit around town now!