enjoyed the game last night,aisling did well early on but once the new champs scored they dominated and deserved to win.good idea to have linesmen too and given villas form inthe last 9-10 games they proved worthy winners,at different stages both knocklong and caherconlish looked certs to win league,so villas surge up the table merits great praise.well done too to caherconlish promoted and cup winners.
if mike curran (athlunkard) doesnt get on team of the yr. its a joke, he scored in every game he played in exept corbally, some goal poacher
Yeah fare play to Athlunkard we beat ye twice in the League and ye recovered brilliantly each time and capitilised and ourselves and knocklongs slip ups fair play to ye and we'll see ye in 1B next season and best of luck to the rest of ye next year too some really tough sides in this league and best of luck with Moyross coming up for 2b next year seemed unstoppable in that League
every league game... couple of cups (hcross & corbally a). been a great year for us. went right to the wire but the big thing was getting out of the league. 3 strong teams have gone up, but aisling will be back next year stronger than this term i reckon. moyross have come up and we all know how well they are doing, and the lads from the soap opera say they'll be stronger so it would hve been a nightmarish prospect.. 1b beckons for us thank god and i cant wait to give that a crack.
Would like to thank all my lads with Athlunkard Villa, cheers for the great effort pre-season, in training and in the games, after christmas you were excellent and you got what you deserved. looking forward to next year in 1B lets try do it all again. Well done to mikey for finishing top scorer (look at me now WH) and to all the lads, slán to Camille whos back to france. And lads ive been reading this all season, and Kennedy Park craic me up, best of luck to them next year, i mean that. and as far as the team of the season go's.... no debating.... there's only 1 team of the seasoncheers KK11
jesus lads, thread has gone very quiet the last few days!! well done knocklong and conlish for gettin promoted and pushin us right to the last kick of the season, see ye in 1b next year. 10 points ahead of us this at christmas says we have to start better next year to keep up with ye. but where did it all go wrong for everyone this year, k'long looked like they were gonna run away with it after 7/8 games. why did conlish draw so many?
Have to say I really enjoyed the league this year, right down to the wire. I think Athlunkard will do well in 1b, we play great football and have a very solid back 4 that allows the rest of the team to attack. Role on August, the ambition is to get Villa to the Premier and beat Star Rovers along the way, though age is coming against a lot of us, we never had a lot of pace so it wont affect us too much I hope. (Where are you now WH and PB!!!!)
Good luck to the teams in 2A next year, I hope Aisling get promoted, a very good footballing side...not like the majority of long ballers who should all be put in their own league where the person who can kick the ball the furthest wins a a tractor or something, I think Holycross keeper would win that easily.
Caherconlish, we will want revenge for the defeats this time around
Come on the Villa!!!!!!!
must say vision ye had the best organised defence this year in 2a and will do pretty well next year who knows even promotion again because i cant see why not surely your not referring kilfinane as one of those long ball experts!! aisling just lacked that extra edge in game against ye and it showed but also in defence and midfield they were very tidy.. now must go through another summer trying to sign a few new players cause towards the end of the season was a joke for us lads going on the lash letting us down and also gaa which affects alot of the country sides so in an ideal world would love to get three or four new players dedicated to just football and no other sport ie gaa would be delighted.. alot of the team lost interest towards the end and its very hard playing alongside fellas that you know dont care about winning a match as much as you do..
so vision send us on any of the athlunkard lads on free transfers this year and well look after them free accomodation etc free drink ...
Nothing yet, paper seems to show castle as being on 15 and pats on 18 after 22 played which isn't right
I'd say Castle would scrape they got a good attack, very very poor defence though
Last edited by 3 Heroes; 14/05/2010 at 7:44 AM. Reason: Mature recollection
I think that match was played last sunday morning dont know who won it though.
Top goalscorers and team of the year is as follows, according to the Limerick Leader and limericksoccer.com:
Div 2A
Champions; Athlunkard Villa
Runners Up; Caherconlish
Relegated Castle Rvs and Herbertstown B
Lipper Cup; Caherconlish
Division’s Top Scorers
Mike Curran (Athlunkard) 25
Billy Hayes (Knocklong) 25
Derek O'Hurley (Aisling) 19
Team of the Season
Ray O'Connell (Caherconlish)
Mark O'Connor (Caherconlish)
Paul Loughrane (Corbally)
Sean Kiely (Caherconlish)
Darren Bridges (Athlunkard)
Gary Murphy (Caherconlish)
Ray Kerley (Athlunkard)
Philip Clancy (Athlunkard)
Brendan Hourigan (Caherconlish)
Derek O'Hurley (Aisling)
Mike Curran (Athlunkard)
Reserves; Barry Guerin (Kennedy Park), Conor O'Driscoll (Corbally), Matt Costello (Athlunkard), Joe Power (Caherconlish), Roy O'Connell (Athlunkard)