Results 1,101 to 1,120 of 1192

Thread: Limerick Division 2A 2009/10

Quote Originally Posted by mogus View Post
    round 48 pts should get a team promoted so long way to go. wouldnt rule out anybody lots on unhappy players still going to transfer yet.,
    i must say im a genius, thats how i roll old school. that was posted in september

I dont think your a genius.... but it was a good guess.

37 Posts

Cool

enjoyed the game last night,aisling did well early on but once the new champs scored they dominated and deserved to win.good idea to have linesmen too and given villas form inthe last 9-10 games they proved worthy winners,at different stages both knocklong and caherconlish looked certs to win league,so villas surge up the table merits great praise.well done too to caherconlish promoted and cup winners.

if mike curran (athlunkard) doesnt get on team of the yr. its a joke, he scored in every game he played in exept corbally, some goal poacher

37 Posts

Cool

turning point of our season was 2 things a last minute penalty save against st pats and coming back from 1 down to beat kp with 9 men. 10wins in a row and balla premier the only team to beat us in 2010 is some achievement, couldnt see that happening at christmas, fair play to everyone on this thread it gives me something to do in the evenings,if theres anyone looking for me in august ill be in the 1b thread
    sorry to spoil the post but...was,n there a drubbing by holycross?

Quote Originally Posted by Fairkop View Post
    sorry to spoil the post but...was,n there a drubbing by holycross?
    selective memory, forgot bout that, they gave a good hiding that day alright, 6 players that started thurs were missin or suspended for that 1 and b players couldnt play either which is a stupid rule
    Last edited by mogus; 01/05/2010 at 11:18 PM.

Yeah fare play to Athlunkard we beat ye twice in the League and ye recovered brilliantly each time and capitilised and ourselves and knocklongs slip ups fair play to ye and we'll see ye in 1B next season and best of luck to the rest of ye next year too some really tough sides in this league and best of luck with Moyross coming up for 2b next year seemed unstoppable in that League

every league game... couple of cups (hcross & corbally a). been a great year for us. went right to the wire but the big thing was getting out of the league. 3 strong teams have gone up, but aisling will be back next year stronger than this term i reckon. moyross have come up and we all know how well they are doing, and the lads from the soap opera say they'll be stronger so it would hve been a nightmarish prospect.. 1b beckons for us thank god and i cant wait to give that a crack.

Quote Originally Posted by AllBalls View Post
    'm new on this site, but been watchin limerick soccer for the last 15 years, used to plat in 2B, 2A And 1B.Have watched a few games this year, stroll around catchin as many as possible, Mainly 2A for the past few years as I'm from st marys parish, had abbey and athlunkard last year, corbally this year, anyway my 2pence worth fpr this season on games seen and results so far.
    My top 3 are 2 new boys Caherconlish, Knocklong and a really old scholl 2A side Athlunkard V. Dont know enough about the new boys to commit fully, but Athlunkard are possible one of the nicest footballing sides outside the premier, but maybe get punished for that exact reason, they lost their way last year too and I think they lost players. but manager Ray Kerley will get them playing football and if the team is any way strong, they'll be hard to beat (not hard to score against but hard to beat) my other neigbouring club Corbally came up to quick I think and are not ready (bottom 5 i'd say), Aishling- cup final last season, could be anything really, a big chance if they improve, dont know much of St Pat and herbertstown but the results speak for them selves I think on them. Kennedy Park, castle and Killfinan are 2A old boys too but always seem to be mid table, I'll stick with that again. Shels and Holycross - NO - just NO. SO neck on the line and neighbours in mind I'll opt for Athlunkard to top the table. with Knocklong and Caherconlish to fight it out for 2nd. If I'm any good I should get 90% of the results (not Scores) right for tomorrow, so here goes: Holy0 v Kil2 Knock5 v st pat0, Ath V 3 v Kp1, AA2 v castle2, shels2 v Herb2, caher4 v corbally1.
    Dont worry I'll never write this much again. MM
    some man for predictions, jesus, have u lotto numbers for wednesday

5, 13, 25, 28, 33, 42 bonus 6

Good alright!

Well done to Athlunkard, ye deserved it.
    great run to finish. best of luck next season.

Would like to thank all my lads with Athlunkard Villa, cheers for the great effort pre-season, in training and in the games, after christmas you were excellent and you got what you deserved. looking forward to next year in 1B lets try do it all again. Well done to mikey for finishing top scorer (look at me now WH) and to all the lads, slán to Camille whos back to france. And lads ive been reading this all season, and Kennedy Park craic me up, best of luck to them next year, i mean that. and as far as the team of the season go's.... no debating.... there's only 1 team of the season cheers KK11

jesus lads, thread has gone very quiet the last few days!! well done knocklong and conlish for gettin promoted and pushin us right to the last kick of the season, see ye in 1b next year. 10 points ahead of us this at christmas says we have to start better next year to keep up with ye. but where did it all go wrong for everyone this year, k'long looked like they were gonna run away with it after 7/8 games. why did conlish draw so many?

Have to say I really enjoyed the league this year, right down to the wire. I think Athlunkard will do well in 1b, we play great football and have a very solid back 4 that allows the rest of the team to attack. Role on August, the ambition is to get Villa to the Premier and beat Star Rovers along the way, though age is coming against a lot of us, we never had a lot of pace so it wont affect us too much I hope. (Where are you now WH and PB!!!!)
    Good luck to the teams in 2A next year, I hope Aisling get promoted, a very good footballing side...not like the majority of long ballers who should all be put in their own league where the person who can kick the ball the furthest wins a a tractor or something, I think Holycross keeper would win that easily.
    Caherconlish, we will want revenge for the defeats this time around
    Come on the Villa!!!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Vision View Post
    Have to say I really enjoyed the league this year, right down to the wire. I think Athlunkard will do well in 1b, we play great football and have a very solid back 4 that allows the rest of the team to attack. Role on August, the ambition is to get Villa to the Premier and beat Star Rovers along the way, though age is coming against a lot of us, we never had a lot of pace so it wont affect us too much I hope. (Where are you now WH and PB!!!!)
    Good luck to the teams in 2A next year, I hope Aisling get promoted, a very good footballing side...not like the majority of long ballers who should all be put in their own league where the person who can kick the ball the furthest wins a a tractor or something, I think Holycross keeper would win that easily.
    Caherconlish, we will want revenge for the defeats this time around
    Come on the Villa!!!!!!!
    must say vision ye had the best organised defence this year in 2a and will do pretty well next year who knows even promotion again because i cant see why not surely your not referring kilfinane as one of those long ball experts!! aisling just lacked that extra edge in game against ye and it showed but also in defence and midfield they were very tidy.. now must go through another summer trying to sign a few new players cause towards the end of the season was a joke for us lads going on the lash letting us down and also gaa which affects alot of the country sides so in an ideal world would love to get three or four new players dedicated to just football and no other sport ie gaa would be delighted.. alot of the team lost interest towards the end and its very hard playing alongside fellas that you know dont care about winning a match as much as you do.. so vision send us on any of the athlunkard lads on free transfers this year and well look after them free accomodation etc free drink ...

Quote Originally Posted by Roadend View Post
    Well done to Athlunkard and Caherconlish on promotion to 1B, St Pats and Castle to play off to see who gets relegated
    Any news on the relegation play-off? I'd have my money on Pats to stay up

25 Posts
    Nothing yet, paper seems to show castle as being on 15 and pats on 18 after 22 played which isn't right

I'd say Castle would scrape they got a good attack, very very poor defence though

Quote Originally Posted by briancool21 View Post
    I'd say Castle would scrape they got a good attack, very very poor defence though
    My reasoning in for going for Pats is form, Castle have lost their last 10+ i'd say(apart from their final game), and Pats have been picking up quite a few points in the last few games, confidence plays a huge part
    Last edited by 3 Heroes; 14/05/2010 at 7:44 AM. Reason: Mature recollection

I think that match was played last sunday morning dont know who won it though.

Top goalscorers and team of the year is as follows, according to the Limerick Leader and limericksoccer.com:

Div 2A
    Champions; Athlunkard Villa
    Runners Up; Caherconlish
    Relegated Castle Rvs and Herbertstown B
    Lipper Cup; Caherconlish
    Division’s Top Scorers
    Mike Curran (Athlunkard) 25
    Billy Hayes (Knocklong) 25
    Derek O'Hurley (Aisling) 19
    Team of the Season
    Ray O'Connell (Caherconlish)
    Mark O'Connor (Caherconlish)
    Paul Loughrane (Corbally)
    Sean Kiely (Caherconlish)
    Darren Bridges (Athlunkard)
    Gary Murphy (Caherconlish)
    Ray Kerley (Athlunkard)
    Philip Clancy (Athlunkard)
    Brendan Hourigan (Caherconlish)
    Derek O'Hurley (Aisling)
    Mike Curran (Athlunkard)

Reserves; Barry Guerin (Kennedy Park), Conor O'Driscoll (Corbally), Matt Costello (Athlunkard), Joe Power (Caherconlish), Roy O'Connell (Athlunkard)

21. Thanks From:

Page 56 of 60 FirstFirst ... 6465455565758 ... LastLast