Thread: every team in serious trouble??

250 Posts

every el team in serious trouble??

is there any el teams that are doing well because every second thread is about an el team in trouble or seriour bother.so who is doing well financially etc or is the whole league f****d???
    Last edited by the 12 th man; 20/01/2004 at 10:27 AM.

Cork City seem to be ok, thanks in no part to the recent sponsorship deal. City should also be getting a nice chunk of change towards UEFA licensing.

Longford Town recorded a profit (AFAIK) in the previous financial year, and they're well run, so they're ok, they're are also due money towards UEFA licensing.

Bohs and Shels are all tightening their belts, but because of their fixed assets i doubt any of them are likely to go anywhere near broke to be honest, we all probably tried to get too far too quickly in the professional stakes. Bohs and Shels are also due money towards UEFA licensing (and the euro money will help them out too, depending on the draws they get).

Pats (as stated in another thread) are reported to have a bit of bother which may require the loss of playing staff should they not raise 100k before the start of the season, but they're a well run club and i'd expect them to get over it without too may problems.

Derry, Drogs and Waterford are a complete mystery to me, although the former are at least doing better than they were a few years ago in financial terms. they'll have limited capacity in the brandywell next season I've heard but i think they're ok otherwise.

Rovers and Dublin City will have to pay Shels for the use of Tolka next season, and both have other probems, DC will find it hard to compete without laying out a lot of money on new players and the wages required to keep them all done with poor attendances.
    Rovers stadium in tallaght is becoming a noose around their neck, and costs them every week they don't play there.

others will no doubt correct me on much of that, but it's my understanding of things, limited as it is.
    Last edited by tiktok; 20/01/2004 at 10:42 AM.

250 Posts
    good to hear all is not doom and gloom

Seeing that they've lost allmost the entire first team squad since being relegated, I don't think that UCD is having any difficulty meeting wage costs.

Originally posted by tiktok
    Cork City seem to be ok, thanks in no part to the recent sponsorship deal. City should also be getting a nice chunk of change towards UEFA licensing.

Longford Town recorded a profit (AFAIK) in the previous financial year, and they're well run, so they're ok, they're are also due money towards UEFA licensing.

Bohs and Shels are all tightening their belts, but because of their fixed assets i doubt any of them are likely to go anywhere near broke to be honest, we all probably tried to get too far too quickly in the professional stakes. Bohs and Shels are also due money towards UEFA licensing (and the euro money will help them out too, depending on the draws they get).

Pats (as stated in another thread) are reported to have a bit of bother which may require the loss of playing staff should they not raise 100k before the start of the season, but they're a well run club and i'd expect them to get over it without too may problems.

Derry, Drogs and Waterford are a complete mystery to me, although the former are at least doing better than they were a few years ago in financial terms. they'll have limited capacity in the brandywell next season I've heard but i think they're ok otherwise.

Rovers and Dublin City will have to pay Shels for the use of Tolka next season, and both have other probems, DC will find it hard to compete without laying out a lot of money on new players and the wages required to keep them all done with poor attendances.
    Rovers stadium in tallaght is becoming a noose around their neck, and costs them every week they don't play there.

others will no doubt correct me on much of that, but it's my understanding of things, limited as it is.

We are probably the most sound financially in the whole league.
    The Barcalona friendly and our dream draw alone raised over £200,000 sterling, before that we had the £100,000 fee for Darren Kelly and our other fundraising events have been ongoing.

200,000???

thats odd so why did Jim only declare 80,000 to the tax man?

Re: 200,000???

Originally posted by gael353
    thats odd so why did Jim only declare 80,000 to the tax man?

Combined total of a successful dream draw too...NOT simply Barca gate !

Were in

grand shape as well, the club did a great job of reducing costs when we were relagated, as well as selling a few players for quite a few bob ! Big redevolepment going on in the carlisle grounds as well (new all-weather pitches, club house, stand, changing rooms etc...)

250 Posts

Re: Were in

Originally posted by Roo69
    grand shape as well, the club did a great job of reducing costs when we were relagated, as well as selling a few players for quite a few bob ! Big redevolepment going on in the carlisle grounds as well (new all-weather pitches, club house, stand, changing rooms etc...)
    great to hear about the redevelopment of the carlisle ground as
    you dont need me to tell you how bad it was needed/the dressing rooms and viewing facilities particularly on a bad day were very poor.

Any chance of youse putting a cover on the railway side of the ground? Sweet jesus, Bray away on a cold wet January night is no place to be for man nor beast. Until youse get that sorted, you can fcuk away off with your 22-team League!
    Revenge for 2002

Originally posted by Dr.Nightdub
    Any chance of youse putting a cover on the railway side of the ground?
    They're buliding something over there. I assume it's a roof, hope so anyway!

3,488 Posts
    Originally posted by Schumi
    They're buliding something over there. I assume it's a roof, hope so anyway!
    No roof as far as I know - just a clubhouse!

And that's from one of the Bray officials.

U.C.D. aren't doing well but we're not doing badly either.

You'd swear Ned Flanders is on the board...
    And stay out of Bumtown, ya no talent bum.

We seem to be getting somwhere paying of debts well and brought in a few good signings by the looks of it and more to come , so dont be to surprised if we come up god we need some good luck bew year new team .

Cork City seem to be ok, thanks in no part to the recent sponsorship deal. Rovers and Dublin City will have to pay Shels for the use of Tolka next season, and both have other probems, DC will find it hard to compete without laying out a lot of money on new players and the wages required to keep them all done with poor attendances.

Yes very limited as regards DCFC. Dublin City will find it much cheaper to rent out a ground than having their own 52 weeks of a year. All our players/staff get paid, no cash problems. I think John Gill is being sensible with the players and the wages he's paying. A regards sponsorship, the Cork City deal wasn't that big, when you broke it down over the 3 years & the amount of sponsors & in fact would be less than the deal with Carroll's Irish Gift Stores/Lansdowne & future print. So have no concerns about our financial wellbeing. With gate receipts going up & a fan base that’s growing , things are looking bright for Dublin City:

250 Posts
    so it looks like the bigger the club the bigger the problem seems to be.on the whole it seems that particularly in dublin that the
    so called "big guns" are the ones in the mire.is it the wage bill
    thats causing the problem or what is causing this sudden downturn in fortune??

Originally posted by Ringo
    Yes very limited as regards DCFC.
    As i admitted, i know very little about DC, but i can't see the attendances you were getting last year leaving you much income after the rent/insurance/security payments for a year in Tolka.
    How much was the Carroll's deal worth to DC, is it long term?

Originally posted by Dr.Nightdub
    Any chance of youse putting a cover on the railway side of the ground? Sweet jesus, Bray away on a cold wet January night is no place to be for man nor beast. Until youse get that sorted, you can fcuk away off with your 22-team League!
    You telling me about the cold ! try doing it every 2nd week ! i recon got frost bite down there a few years back when a national league selectaion were playing Ireland B !
    The Railway side, love it ! its actually named after John O'Brien, a bray LEGEND ! he brought all the seats back fro bolton for us on his on accord, paid for everything himself, RIP John. yeah thats where the new stand is going - with a ROOF ! it's gonna be along the same line as the St. Pats main stand, with the changing rooms etc.... underneath and behind it, players will come out on the halfway line. cant wait till it's finished !

well

Originally posted by pineapple stu
    No roof as far as I know - just a clubhouse!

And that's from one of the Bray officials.
    This is an offical club statement:

Work Begins on New Stand -

Work has finally begun on the long awaited cover for the seated east stand. The work is to include retaining walls and holding joints, the work should last for several weeks and it is hoped that it will be ready for the start of next season as per UEFA's new licensing rules.

As i admitted, i know very little about DC, but i can't see the attendances you were getting last year leaving you much income after the rent/insurance/security payments for a year in Tolka.
    How much was the Carroll's deal worth to DC, is it long term?
    Can't get into the exact amount, but the deal is for 3 years & merchandise deal for 5 years. there was a step up if DCFC got promotion.( which they did! in year 1 ). the exposure the deal gives Dublin City is brilliant. its the perfect tie up. Dublin City shirts are on sale in 8 city centre stores.