Thread: Cyprus away (5th September 2009) - places

Cyprus away (5th September 2009) - places

Mod edit - 'scuse me...

Post any info on towns, places, resorts, etc in Cyprus here. I'll keep a summary of links and what have you in this post.

For other info on the game, see -

Flights
    Accommodation (hotels to campsites)
    Charter travel (incl tour operator bookings, charter buses, taxis, etc)
    The game (match tickets, kick off time, directions to the ground, etc)
    Pubs (incl meet ups)
    General (things to do, other chat)

Were were we?

Did anyone stay in Nicosia itself at any of the recent games? I went in 2006 but made a complete balls of booking it after succumbing to the hot girl in Thomas Cook and signing up for a week in Paphos despite having done no research whatsoever about the place. As good a deal as it was, I was fecking miles away from Nicosia for the game and ended up spending a fortune on taxis.
    I'll be back for this game but i'll want to stay somewhere thats convient for the stadium (or at least the edge of its surrounding desert) and has a bit of culture etc about it, as opposed to just bars and nightclubs. Any ideas?
    Last edited by pineapple stu; 12/06/2009 at 1:16 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by stiofain View Post
    Did anyone stay in Nicosia itself at any of the recent games? I went in 2006 but made a complete balls of booking it after succumbing to the hot girl in Thomas Cook and signing up for a week in Paphos despite having done no research whatsoever about the place. As good a deal as it was, I was fecking miles away from Nicosia for the game and ended up spending a fortune on taxis.
    I'll be back for this game but i'll want to stay somewhere thats convient for the stadium (or at least the edge of its surrounding desert) and has a bit of culture etc about it, as opposed to just bars and nightclubs. Any ideas?
    Wouldn't really advise staying in Nicosia, aside from a few old churches and the boarder posts there's not alot else to see. As it's the capital and situated inland all that's there are business' and designer shops.

My advice would be to stay in or around Larnaca. It's about 30 mins. drive from the stadium, on the coast, 20 mins. drive from traditional villages and about 45 mins. drive from the Troodos mountain range. Not to mention that this is where the main airport is.

The town itself doesn't offer too much but has a very large salt lake and nice seafront promenade.

Arse to anywhere bar Aiya Napa. Some laugh, though won't be allowed stay in the same place again. All the bars put buses on for the match & you could pretty much just get on any of them. Has to be Aiya.
    "I always likened him to a Rolls Royce. You just used him once a week & he'd be flawless"
    Townsend on McGrath

Quote Originally Posted by supasparx View Post
    Wouldn't really advise staying in Nicosia, aside from a few old churches and the boarder posts there's not alot else to see. As it's the capital and situated inland all that's there are business' and designer shops.

My advice would be to stay in or around Larnaca. It's about 30 mins. drive from the stadium, on the coast, 20 mins. drive from traditional villages and about 45 mins. drive from the Troodos mountain range. Not to mention that this is where the main airport is.

The town itself doesn't offer too much but has a very large salt lake and nice seafront promenade.

Do not stay in Laranaca...there is no life there, Limassol is the place to stay, best pub is The Step Inn open till about 5am, but check out the location of hotels, a lot of them are 4-5 miles from the heart of Limassol.

Quote Originally Posted by Greenforever View Post
    Do not stay in Laranaca...there is no life there, Limassol is the place to stay, best pub is The Step Inn open till about 5am, but check out the location of hotels, a lot of them are 4-5 miles from the heart of Limassol.
    To answer Stiofain again, he mentioned wanting to stay somewhere convenient for ground, with some culture and not full of bars and nightclubs.

Having lived in Limassol for a couple of years, its not the kind of place to tick his boxes.

Having said that The Step Inn in Limassol, was a great bar, and it's where I watched all the World Cup games in '94.
    Last edited by supasparx; 07/02/2008 at 5:02 PM.

Thanks for the advice lads, its much appreciated.

Fans Based in Limassol ?? or Ayna Napa ??

Hi ,
    Im in the middle of booking flights for the cyprus game. As its my 1st trip to Cyrpus, can any of you tell me where to stay.
    Does the majority of fans stay in Limasssol or Ayna Napa ??

JT if it's any help, there are quite a few of us staying in Larnaca......basically for "a change" from Ayia Napa/Limassol, and also because the game is scheduled to be played in Larnaca

Arriving in on the Thursday and leaving on Sunday
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

57 Posts
    Big crowd in Aya Napa in 05 (went down for one evening) but I felt very old.

Larnaca is a good option (stayed here last 2 trips in the same hotel although they upped the price big time in 06 and that after the result so checking in advance this time). Decent nightlife although nothing like Aya Napa (thankfully).

The game is likely to be in Larnaca but still not confirmed on the FIFA website.

I'm just doing a 24 hour trip in friday night and leave 00.30am sunday morning.

Quote Originally Posted by gspain View Post
    Big crowd in Aya Napa in 05 (went down for one evening) but I felt very old.

Larnaca is a good option (stayed here last 2 trips in the same hotel although they upped the price big time in 06 and that after the result so checking in advance this time). Decent nightlife although nothing like Aya Napa (thankfully).

The game is likely to be in Larnaca but still not confirmed on the FIFA website.

I'm just doing a 24 hour trip in friday night and leave 00.30am sunday morning.
    Cheers thanks for your advise ,

Yeah I am with the Hornets and Saint Tom and Babysis in Larnaca for this one I was in Aya Napa in 05 and not really my scene to be honest. But each to their own and some people much prefer Aya Napa. THe fact you can fly into Laranac, the game is likely to be there and hotel is right on the beach convinced me to go this trip.
    In Trap we trust

How far is Larnaca from Ayia Napa?

Quote Originally Posted by finbarrk View Post
    How far is Larnaca from Ayia Napa?
    About 40 minutes by taxi and it was about €50 in a taxi, with limassol €60 and about 50 minutes by taxi, this is from memory from the 1 - 0 win when we stayed in Lanaca, which was absoloutely dead, Aya Napa is definitely for the 18-30s while Limassol is for all regardless of age
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

If I can give you one piece of advice JT it's stay in Ayia Napa. Was there in 05 myself & the craic was mighty. Bloody great craic. Depends on what you want but if you're after football and madness (2 of my favourite things) Ayia Napa is the place to be.

On another point, and a very painful one at that, does anyone reckon there is any chance of getting a flight from Dublin on the Saturday & then a bus to Larnaca in time for the match? One of my bloody mates is getting married on the Friday and the Saturday (the cheek) but I think I'd get away with just attending the 1st ceremony on the Friday. Probably pushing it but I really have to be at the match.
    "I always likened him to a Rolls Royce. You just used him once a week & he'd be flawless"
    Townsend on McGrath

We are going to stay in Protaras, which is pretty close to Ayia Napa. Just wondering if anyone else is planning on staying there and do they know if its a good spot.

Quote Originally Posted by Green Paddy View Post
    We are going to stay in Protaras, which is pretty close to Ayia Napa. Just wondering if anyone else is planning on staying there and do they know if its a good spot.
    Stayed there for the time before last (1-0 win) and it was quite nice....a little quiet (but it was October)....lots of bars and a good beach with watersports........it's only about 15 mins in a taxi to Ayia Napa
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

Quote Originally Posted by Green Paddy View Post
    stayed there 2 years ago its quieter but theres good bars and ayia napa is only 10 mins in a taxi
    horney[dublin brian]

It's got to be Ayia Napa

Surely it's got to be Ayia Napa for the craic.....

Nope....majority votes Limassol; guess were off to Limassol so JT!!!
    Last edited by Girl in Green; 23/06/2009 at 9:13 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by JT,New'09 View Post
    Hi all,
    Well myself and our gang ( 10 of us ) have decided to stay in Limassol.

If anyone has stayed there previously for matches and knows of any reasonable hotel / apartments, close to city centre, please let me know and ill check them out,

cheers
    JT
    Limassol is a big resort spread over 4 or 5 miles.

All the night life seems to revolve around the Step Inn, plenty of bars restaurants etc here.

Most of the hotels / apartments seem to be up the far end meaning taxis up and back etc

We stayed in a small apartment block last time just 2 minutes walk from the Step Inn, and 2 mins from the beach, apartments were very baswic but only about €20 pp pn, and the staff were very friendly.

I'll dig out the name and web site during the week if you want to lok at them.
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

Just wondering where the best craic will be the night before the match. Will all the fans be in Nicosia or in Ayia Napa and travel to the pitch before kick off? Do most fans head back to the resorts straight after the game or stay in Nicosia that night?