The reason we nearly went to the wall was Jack is pulling out and we needed 70k to see out the season,he's ploughed over 300k of his money in and could'nt put any more in.He was promised help from the FAI but they renaged and this is where we are.
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/...imerickfc.html
Limerick FC's efforts to maintain their League of Ireland status received a boost this week with news that Co Limerick businessman Pat O'Sullivan has made a 'significant and generous' contribution to the club's funds.
In a statement issued by the club today, the management committee and board said that O'Sullivan 'stepped up to provide substantial financial support' while chairman, Jack McCarthy, said that 'several individuals and businesses donated €250/€500 to the club' and many people signed up to 'Leo's Lotto' to bolster the club's finances.
At a public meeting in the Strand Hotel on Sunday night, club PRO Joe Sweeney revealed that it needed €70,000 'within a week' and appealed to ordinary supporters and business people to 'ensure the future of Limerick FC'.
A club statement said that at the positive meeting it 'demonstrated how far it has come in 18 months under the stewardship of Jack McCarthy and showed its plans for the future, but stressed the importance of further funding to reach their goal of self sufficiency and their return to the Premier Division.'
Sweeney revealed: 'Pat is a local successful business man with a genuine interest in soccer and he has the future of Limerick FC at heart. He brings us considerable business acumen and is a very welcome addition to the Limerick FC board.'
McCarthy also expressed his appreciation to O'Sullivan, saying that 'the team is fortunate to have a man of his calibre and standing join us'.
Originally from Ballylanders, O'Sullivan has two businesses - Galtee Fuels and Green Heat - and has an interest in all sports.
'Soccer being the most played sport in the city, county and indeed the entire mid-west can help to keep young people out of mischief and help them become the best they can be,' he said.
McCarthy praised the management committee for its 'unwavering dedication' and added that 'despite the challenges I have grown to love this club, and I am thrilled that local investors are getting behind us'.
Great news. Just find it disconcerting how they are nearly going bust with minimum outgoings and not the worst attendences. Worry for other clubs...
The reason we nearly went to the wall was Jack is pulling out and we needed 70k to see out the season,he's ploughed over 300k of his money in and could'nt put any more in.He was promised help from the FAI but they renaged and this is where we are.
"We've had a lot of good times, but you don't know how good they are until you have the bad ones" Tony Adams
Fair play to Pat O Sullivian for investing the money it asnt easy to put money into something that will have no Financial reward for you especially in the current climate. Its a pity their isnt more business people like him around the country.
back to the ppl who contributed. we aint in need of money for anything but to progress. now u and ur mates join leos lotto
http://www.limerickfc.ie/fundraising/leoslottery.html
I dont know the details but I would assume we are a long way off the €70k mark yet.
But it sounds like the contribution from Pat O'Sullivan was large enough to convince Jack not to give up on us.
This would be the first time he's had any financial support from local business people (apart from the sponsors of course, of which there arent many), which is what he's been looking for all along.
Last edited by KevB76; 24/06/2009 at 12:33 PM.
LTID
http://trophymanager.com/?c=489688
Trophy Manager - online football managment game - I like it - I think I'm getting obsessed with it though.
i for one will not be going.i was planning to take myself ,wife and daughter to the game - 3 x 55 euro. i think now i'll donate it instead to the club patron scheme and i would hope that any true Limerick fan will not go to the game and give the money to the club instead. That shower of wasters in the FAI can swing for it.i hope they lose a packet.
"We've had a lot of good times, but you don't know how good they are until you have the bad ones" Tony Adams
To be fair, there is no real evidence that the FAI screwed Limerick as suggested at the meeting on Sunday.
I know for a fact, there would be no club in Limerick if it wasn't for the FAI introducing Jack McCarthy to Limerick when he was interested in buying an Irish club.
Its them shower of greedy wasters over Thomond Park that we should be having a go at.
For all the latest League of Ireland news visit www.extratime.ie
Ya agreed. In all fairness, there is no way the FAI would try and screw over Limerick on purpose.
Its the third largest city in the country (sorry Galway fans) and it would be a PR disaster for the FAI if Limerick had no club when they came down for two International friendlies.
I know for a fact that John Delaney did great work in working with people down here when Limerick 37 was set up a few seasons ago. Not all the FAI's fault lads, although agreed they could have done more but I don't agree with the FAI helping out clubs.
For all the latest League of Ireland news visit www.extratime.ie
The FAI obviously wouldn't try screw Limerick over on purpose for no reason but they would have had no problem screwing PlatinumOne over for obvious reasons, its a bit of a coincidence that the FAI just happened to bring in their new rule (no games to be played on pitch 30 days before an international match) when Limerick had a game(s) planned 28 days before an international. I'm not an FAI basher usually but surely they could have changed something to facilitate Limerick
We still haven't got to the bottom of why a club with such low wages and a fortnightly attendance of c. 500 was so short of money ?
For as long as Limerick (or any other club, for that matter) is dependent upon the good will of one or more individuals, this sort of problem will always have the potential to arise. That's the real reason why Limerick nearly went to the wall - Jack pulling out was only the symptom of this problem.
One way or another benefactors always disappear at some point - and if a club is heavily reliant on them then they'll end up in trouble.
It's back to the sustainability solution again.
I always wonder why people sign up to forums with a current player in their username. Surely he will, in time, leave for another club and then where will you be? I'm just guessing but I'd say a couple of posters on here had red faces on the days Harpo Joyce, (Super) Frank, and Pineapple Stu left their clubs.![]()
The structures don't matter a jot. A league teams could have the same expenditure but with less income.
To answer steve's question; Regardless of outgoings, Limerick simply weren't bringing in enough. Its that simple. They were lucky to have a backer, and lucky that they didn't gamble and attempt to pay high wages.
are'nt most of the clubs relying on 1 or 2 main backers,its not ideal but its that or bust.There's not enough money to be got from the general public to sustain any club.
Nonsense, tell it to Kilkenny (how they must have longed for a Jack McCarthy of their own).
It wouldn't matter a jot to the FAI if there was no club in this city. I don't they'd be overly pushed if there was no senior league in this country to be utterly honest.
John Delaney couldn't shaft Danny Drew fast enough and left us with our most shambolic chairman ever whose massive debts, amassed in just one year, led us to the precipice that Jack McCarthy dragged us back from. Of course the FAI shouldn't literally finance clubs but they should do their very best to work with them and help them to grow at the same time.