Page 1 of 17 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: North Tipp & District League 2008/09

North Tipp & District League 2008/09

Just said Id add a new thread for a new season.

Plus on the off chance :
    Anyone want to play for Ballymackey FC this year?
    Got promoted to the first division and hoping to do a double promotion.
    I think we are short 1 or 2 players though to achieve it.
    Newtown Celtic FC RIP (1992-2007)

Also Ballymackey have announced the purchase of a field in Ballymackey with the intention of putting in a development of 2 soccer fields, astro-turf pitch, 5a side pitch and club house in the medium term.

Quote Originally Posted by bawn79 View Post
    Also Ballymackey have announced the purchase of a field in Ballymackey with the intention of putting in a development of 2 soccer fields, astro-turf pitch, 5a side pitch and club house in the medium term.
    Ya heard yee got 5 acres or so, fair play about time some other clubs started putting effort into their facilities . Especially so considering Ballymackey would be seen as a smaller club .

Brickfields is coming on very nicely and I guess it will be done early into the new season .

Obviously I'm biased but I reckon we'll build on last years success to do even better this season .

Quote Originally Posted by Big Ears View Post
    Ya heard yee got 5 acres or so, fair play about time some other clubs started putting effort into their facilities . Especially so considering Ballymackey would be seen as a smaller club .

Brickfields is coming on very nicely and I guess it will be done early into the new season .

Obviously I'm biased but I reckon we'll build on last years success to do even better this season .
    I dont doubt that ye will. Just heard the shield is starting 3rd August which seems very early in the year. Thats only two weeks away like!

Have Nenagh started back training yet, ye must have only just finished up from last year?

Also I got the North Tipp Soccer website to put this thread in its links page so hopefully a few more people might come in and post here.

Divisional Shields
    Shield Draw 2008-2009 Season

Premier Division
    First Round
    Toomevara v Cloughjordan
    Moneygall v Nenagh AFC

Quarter Finals
    (A) Arra Rovers v Toomevara or Cloughjordan
    (B) Thurles Town v Blackcastle Utd.
    (C) Moneygall or Nenagh AFC v Nenagh Celtic
    (D) Rearcross v Birdhill

Semi-Finals
    D v A
    C v B

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Division 1
    First Round
    Templetuohy v Clodiagh Rangers
    Ballymackey v Borrisoleigh

Quarter Finals
    (A) Borrisokane v Nenagh AFC B.
    (B) Clonmore v Templetuohy or Clodiagh Rgs.
    (C) Ballingarry v Kilcommon
    (D) Ballymackey or Borrisoleigh v Sallypark

Semi-Finals
    C v D
    B v A

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Division 2
    First Round
    Gurtagarry v Cloughjordan B
    Blackcastle Utd. B. v Clodiagh Rgs B.
    Holycross v Kilcommon B.
    Borroway Rovers v Nenagh Celtic B.
    Sallypark B. v Noreside Celtic
    Latteragh Celtic v Rearcross B
    Moneygall B. v Ardcroney
    Thurles Celtic Bye

Quarter Finals
    (A) Thurles Celtic v Latteragh Celtic or Rearcross B.
    (B) Gurtagarry or Cloughjordan B. v Moneygall B. or Ardcroney
    (C) Borroway Rvs. or Nenagh Celtic B. v Blackcastle B. or Clodiagh B
    (D) Sallypark B. or Noreside Celtic v Holycross or Kilcommon B.

Semi-Finals
    A v C
    B v D

I dont doubt that ye will. Just heard the shield is starting 3rd August which seems very early in the year. Thats only two weeks away like!

Have Nenagh started back training yet, ye must have only just finished up from last year?

Also I got the North Tipp Soccer website to put this thread in its links page so hopefully a few more people might come in and post here.
    We were officially back training last week, although some of the lads never properly stopped and kept at it once a week to stay sharp .

That's a nice tough draw in the shield, but it's probably a good thing to start the season with some hard games .

By the looks of what I saw last season both Thurles Town and Birdhill will have to improve a lot if they are to survive .

We were officially back training last week, although some of the lads never properly stopped and kept at it once a week to stay sharp .

That's a nice tough draw in the shield, but it's probably a good thing to start the season with some hard games .

By the looks of what I saw last season both Thurles Town and Birdhill will have to improve a lot if they are to survive .
    We kept things going till the end of May but I think you need a break from it too to get the mind fresh and bring a bit of hunger back.

I heard about the whipping ye gave Thurles in the cup final, Birdhill arent a bad team at all, there is a good pick of players down that area. The majority of team would be soccer only guys. Plus they have a very dedicated manager. I would bet on them staying up this year.

Borrisoleigh is a tough enough draw but we played them last year in the Tipp Cup and lost on penalties. If ever I saw a team that relies on hurlers its Borrisoleigh so we should be playing them at a good time of the year.

Ye should beat Moneygal, unless things have changed they are one of the worst teams in the Premier.

cough.......

Lads, what's the story of Thurles Celtic?

Just that I never heard of them before.Would have thought that the last thing the game in Thurles needs is yet another club.

Quote Originally Posted by jimhacker View Post
    Lads, what's the story of Thurles Celtic?

Just that I never heard of them before.Would have thought that the last thing the game in Thurles needs is yet another club.

I havent played against them yet but yes I would agree with that, in north tipp alone there is Thurles Town, Borroway and Thurles Celtic. That doesnt include the teams in South Tipp and the teams on the outskirts of Thurles like Holycross etc.
    Personally I do think it should be harder than just turning up with a set of jerseys to enter the league.

im involved in south tipp and have always thought a cup between both leagus would be a great success.can anyone see it happening? i believe underage teams have one

Big Ears mentioned in last seasons thread that it reckoned that the youths cup was an experiment for an eventual junior cup. I havent heard of anything for definite but I think it would be a good competition.
    Best probably to play a few prelim rounds in your own section and then play inter-county between north and south.

bump xx

We've signed Paul Kelly, Jerome Ashman, Stevie Ryan and 'Mole' Mitchell from Nenagh Celtic.

Very strong panel now, real competition for places and plenty of strength in depth.

The plan is to have a real go at winning the Munster Junior and FAI this year and improve on our performances in North Tipp competitions from last year.

Only after noticing now that the 3rd division has been scrapped, good decision imo.
    Last edited by Big Ears; 01/08/2008 at 5:36 PM.

Moneygall FC 0-3 Nenagh AFC, not the greatest of performances but we got the job done.

We haven't had any friendlies so far this season so maybe that's why we were a bit off the pace today. Nenagh AFC v Nenagh Celtic in Islandbawn now on Wednesday in the Quarter Final.

We've signed Paul Kelly, Jerome Ashman, Stevie Ryan and 'Mole' Mitchell from Nenagh Celtic.

Very strong panel now, real competition for places and plenty of strength in depth.

The plan is to have a real go at winning the Munster Junior and FAI this year and improve on our performances in North Tipp competitions from last year.

Only after noticing now that the 3rd division has been scrapped, good decision imo.
    Some very strong players there, Mitchell is a great striker. You should be hard to stop alright.
    Best to luck in both the FAI and Munster, success in them can only help soccer in North Tipp improve in general.

We lost 4-1 to Borrisoleigh, no complaints really, they have all the hurlers back. I can see them winning the first division this year (Only to get relegated again next year if they go farther in the hurling!)
    We lost our goalie from last year and are still trying to replace him. Until we do I think we will struggle.

Some very strong players there, Mitchell is a great striker. You should be hard to stop alright.
    Best to luck in both the FAI and Munster, success in them can only help soccer in North Tipp improve in general.
    Thanks for that, Stevie Ryan has resigned for Nenagh Celtic without training or playing for us. That was his own personal decision and nothing to do with us.

Nenagh AFC 6-2 Nenagh Celtic

Another below par performance from us but we got the job done.
    Celtic's team was very young, which although promising for the future means they mightn't be in contention this year.

Blackcastle in the semi-final now on Sunday.

Another good win, I think I read that Blackcastle bet Clonmel Town recently so they cant be bad.
    Still you should beat them.
    Last edited by bawn79; 07/08/2008 at 11:19 AM.

Another good win, I think I read that Blackcastle bet Clonmel Town recently so they cant be bad.
    Still you should beat them.
    They beat them 5-4, I've been told that Clonmel didn't put out that strong a side but still it's a win to be respected and we are well aware of what Blackcastle can do if we don't play to potential......the Premier Cup final wasn't that long ago.

Page 1 of 17 12311 ... LastLast