Page 4 of 9 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork in the cup

Quote Originally Posted by Knappagh Red View Post
    Anyone get the name of the reserve goalkeeper last night?, a young Donegal lad, he was mixing with the supporters at the end of the game.
    lol a very strong Donegal accent alright

186 Posts
    Result is a good positive. An even better positive is that we came back twice in one game to earn the result.
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

Great result. Was disappointed i didn't travel down when i seen the result. I was certain we'd get mauled over. Sunshiner
    Should be a good match tuesday night. I'll defo travel up for it. I think we could take them.

Heard Peers' injury is bad, could he be out for Europe? That would be a massive loss.

Quote Originally Posted by Inside Man View Post
    Great result. Was disappointed i didn't travel down when i seen the result. I was certain we'd get mauled over. Sunshiner
    Should be a good match tuesday night. I'll defo travel up for it. I think we could take them.

Heard Peers' injury is bad, could he be out for Europe? That would be a massive loss.

One of the Cork players fell on top of Gavin.He was was finding it hard to breathe and the Cork doctor was on the pitch within seconds.Gavin wanted to play on but Paul Cook insisted that he would come of.When the doctor examined Gavin in the dressing room he suspected a badly bruised or fractured sternum(breast bone) and he was sent to hospital by ambulance.He was later released and told to rest up for the next few days and he will most likely play on Tuesday traveled.Shaun Holmes is a different story.His ankle was like a turnip he will be a serious doubt for Tuesday.
    Last edited by D Brannigan; 13/06/2009 at 8:11 PM.

Hope Peersy makes it for Tuesday , been absolutely sensational for us this season IMO.

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers fan View Post
    Nah there was more than 1200, the ground is big so it only seemed like it was empty. Still a poor home crowd though.

Great to bring them back to the showgies, but tis a pity we picked up two injuries in the process. The defending for the first goal was awful. Like in the 2nd half of the derry game we dominated possession but lacked the killer instinct, but raf was on hand! What a goal. Hopefully we can pack the showgies on tuesday and get a win.
    peers one from looking the video above got a bang to the head so he should be back hopefully

Gamble and Dennehy will be out for Cork in the replay.

Great to get a home game in before the Europa Cup kicks off (jeez that sounds good)
    match tickets (Europa) should sell well on Tuesday night
    Last edited by srfc1928; 14/06/2009 at 12:12 PM.

Gamble
    Why will Gamble be out?

Quote Originally Posted by Well Red View Post
    Do Cork really deserve a team with the the miserable crowd that turned up last night to see the only two premiership teams in Cup action.
    Cop on to yourself.

Ye've never gone through a patch with poor crowds no?

You watch a team with some of the best players in the country play absolute hoofball rubbish 4 weeks in a row and then see if you get more than 1800 against an average premier side.

I rarely miss a game home or away but its a chore to go to the cross these days, not something to look forward to. Imagine what a non-hardcore thinks of it.

We have a basic hard core of around 1200-1500 no matter how rubbish the football is, others will come and go. Thats football.

Friday was awful, its a talent to make a 4 goal game boring.

Ye played some nice stuff, defending was awful from both sides.

Wouldnt be surprised if it went to penalties tomorrow. Look forward to seeing your 'massive' crowd.

Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    Look forward to seeing your 'massive' crowd.
    Cork City has a population of 119,000, Sligo town 18,000. An attendance of 1800 for Cork is around 300 for Rovers. Proportionally we will have a massive crowd tomorrow night.

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Well Red View Post
    Do Cork really deserve a team with the the miserable crowd that turned up last night to see the only two premiership teams in Cup action.
    Yes we do.
    Don't forget there was another FAI Cup game in Cork last Friday night.

Why will Gamble be out?
    Wasn't he due to have that operation on his knee?
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

Quote Originally Posted by razor View Post
    Yes we do.
    Don't forget there was another FAI Cup game in Cork last Friday night.

Wasn't he due to have that operation on his knee?
    lol Blarney? How many were at that game?

Why will Gamble be out?
    According to your forum, he's injured.

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rovers Maniac View Post
    lol Blarney? How many were at that game?
    A couple of hundred, would certainly have made up the gate receipts ye didn't get.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

Quote Originally Posted by Knappagh Red View Post
    Cork City has a population of 119,000, Sligo town 18,000. An attendance of 1800 for Cork is around 300 for Rovers. Proportionally we will have a massive crowd tomorrow night.
    Really? Were coming down to proportionally now?

Grand. Proportionally Cobh had massive crowds last year. Didnt help much though.....

I hope ye have a huge crowd. Ye play some decent football. The more LOI fans the better.

But getting on the high horse asking if we 'deserve a team' is simply acting the clown.

186 Posts
    Really? Were coming down to proportionally now?

But getting on the high horse asking if we 'deserve a team' is simply acting the clown.
    Of course ye deserve a team - but the league dosent deserve a new cork team every 20 odd years.

Quote Originally Posted by redobit View Post
    Of course ye deserve a team
    Some of your fellow supporters werent sure
    - but the league dosent deserve a new cork team every 20 odd years.
    And City fans do?

We are the longest lasting Cork Club in the league and if we can do anything about it we'l continue to be.

Unfortunately though things arent always in our control.

186 Posts
    Some of your fellow supporters werent sure

And City fans do?

We are the longest lasting Cork Club in the league and if we can do anything about it we'l continue to be.

Unfortunately though things arent always in our control.
    And best of luck with it.

Tmoro nite I'd prefer to beat ye on the pitch rather than off it.

And best of luck with it.

Tmoro nite I'd prefer to beat ye on the pitch rather than off it.
    Thanks. Were here til then anyway

Page 4 of 9 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast