Thread: FAI Cup third round

FAI Cup third round

Any of the non-league teams value here? Bluebell away to Bray maybe? 15-2 at the moment.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    http://www.oddschecker.com/football/...reland/fai-cup

Might back Crumlin if Shels put out a weakened team. 10/1 is too high but whether or not they win is an entirely different matter.

We have a tiny squad, I'm pretty certain it will be full strength.
    Who Cares?!

115 Posts
    Any of the non-league teams value here? Bluebell away to Bray maybe? 15-2 at the moment.
    Most of the non-league teams are out of season so I'd be surprised if any of them win.

As for the Crumlin game don't forget it's been switched to Tolka Park.
    I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"

I might have a dabble on Mon U, they have a poor record in the cup v non league sides but they have being doing well in recent weeks. Hopefully the price goes up a bit though. 8/11 is ok with PP but I'd like bigger to really get involved.
    Who Cares?!

Think I'll have a go at Half-Time/Full-Time Shelbourne / Shelbourne @ 4/5 with powers tonight at Tolka. We were drawn away but this is a home game for us. I'm 100% certain we'll have a strong side out. We played Waterford off the park on Friday in what was our best performance to date. If we play like that again we will see off this junior side. I'm not going in too heavy on this as we have been slow starters so far this season and we still have to reach 3rd gear. Crumlin United are coming off the end of a long and successful season, we're hoping they have one eye on their holiers. Also, a couple of their lads got called up to the Irish Amateur side so maybe these will want to go easy as to avoid injury. Strangley this price with the same firm was 8/15 yesterday.

Backing Shels hf/ht @ 4/5 - (Powers) 1.5 pts.
    Who Cares?!

Mon U were knocked out at this stage by Skerries Town a few years ago, it could happen again. Cherry Orch ended the season well, winning a cup and getting a few lads back from injury. If this is played down at The Lawns it will be another advantage.

Quote Originally Posted by Raheny Red View Post
    Think I'll have a go at Half-Time/Full-Time Shelbourne / Shelbourne @ 4/5 with powers tonight at Tolka. We were drawn away but this is a home game for us. I'm 100% certain we'll have a strong side out. We played Waterford off the park on Friday in what was our best performance to date. If we play like that again we will see off this junior side. I'm not going in too heavy on this as we have been slow starters so far this season and we still have to reach 3rd gear. Crumlin United are coming off the end of a long and successful season, we're hoping they have one eye on their holiers. Also, a couple of their lads got called up to the Irish Amateur side so maybe these will want to go easy as to avoid injury. Strangley this price with the same firm was 8/15 yesterday.

Backing Shels hf/ht @ 4/5 - (Powers) 1.5 pts.
    Last night was the worst performance I've seen from a Shels side in a long, long time. Never a chance of getting that bet up. Their keeper was wasting time from the first minute but that's to be expected. Thankfully it was only a small bet, though it was tempting to go all in @ 4/5. For the replay Shels shouldn't be shorter than 2/5 - Crumlin are a decent outfit..
    Who Cares?!

Anyone know if Ballymun are decent? Derry -2 goals is 6/5 with Paddy, and I'm thinking about it.

Quote Originally Posted by brianw82 View Post
    Anyone know if Ballymun are decent? Derry -2 goals is 6/5 with Paddy, and I'm thinking about it.
    Me too, Ballymun are a good junior side but they have played a serious amount of games. They've easily played 50+ games. Over the past 6-8 weeks they have suffered a back log of fixtures resulting in them playing 2-3 games a week. Derry proved last season that they can be ruthless, defeating Both Kildare and Wexford 6-0.
    Who Cares?!

Me too, Ballymun are a good junior side but they have played a serious amount of games. They've easily played 50+ games. Over the past 6-8 weeks they have suffered a back log of fixtures resulting in them playing 2-3 games a week. Derry proved last season that they can be ruthless, defeating Both Kildare and Wexford 6-0.
    From where are you getting that info? I can't find anything like that online. Also, is their season not over at this stage?

Derry are in a bit of form, alright.

Quote Originally Posted by brianw82 View Post
    From where are you getting that info? I can't find anything like that online. Also, is their season not over at this stage?

Derry are in a bit of form, alright.
    Off the top of my head, sorry have nothing online . I'll try find a definite figure. They have played a load of games due to their great cup runs. They got to at least 2 cup finals afaik. 50+ games may be a bit ott on my part so don't put down your hard earned just yet. You're better off asking in the junior football forum to find out how many games they've played exactly.
    Who Cares?!

3,488 Posts
    Arklow are missing their keeper through suspension, and they weren't great at the back when they beat our LSL side. Tempted (despite never betting on us ever again) by UCD -2 at 7/5, or maybe even by over 3.5 goals at 13/8.

Kildare are missing all their recent signings, so 8/13 for Athlone to win looks overpriced, even if they have lost yer man Emeka.

65 Posts
    Its being played at Bluebells ground afaik, across the road from the red cow hotel.
    "I'm just a chilled out entertainer"

Blog

Limerick -V- St Pats

Whatever I say about Irish football betting these days you've got to take it with a pinch of salt . Got a text, according to him "there are going to be five lads starting tomorrow night who wouldn't get near the first team. Captain out, playmaker out, striker out.....he says they've no chance". 4/5 with boyles - that's not going to last imo judging by the order firm's prices. Oh and don't shoot the messenger

Backing St. Pats @ 4/5 (Boyles) - 5pts.
    Last edited by Raheny Red; 11/06/2009 at 9:36 PM.
    Who Cares?!

Limerick -V- St Pats

Whatever I say about Irish football betting these days you've got to take it with a pinch of salt . St. Pats 4/5 with boyles - that's not going to last imo judging by the order firm's prices. Oh and don't shoot the messenger

Backing St. Pats @ 4/5 (Boyles) - 5pts.
    Good enough for me. Going for the same bet, 5pts. Still at 4/5 with Boyle for the moment, will probably drop down to 1/2 at least tomorrow.
    Last edited by brianw82; 11/06/2009 at 9:55 PM.

Yeah its true we are short proably 5 of out top 7 players, Pats at 4/5 is a very decent bet but just to caution a few of ye, the pitch is very bobbly and cetainly wont suit a premier team that just want to keep the ball on the ground. Scully is also very defence minded and will play 4-5-1 but all in all with the injury situation Pats has to be the bet

BoyleSports are the best for the FAI cup prices, the yhave dundalk chalked up at 8/13, they are much shorter elsewhere and go 1/3 Fingal wheres they are 2/9 and 1/5 elsewhere

Fingal -1 is 9/10 on Bet365, as a matter of interest. Quite daycent!

Quote Originally Posted by lucanhoop87 View Post
    how could they play on the lawn? its just a park, it has no proper pitch at all, i'm pretty sure its only the orchards schoolboy teams that play there
    Quote Originally Posted by centre mid View Post
    Its being played at Bluebells ground afaik, across the road from the red cow hotel.
    That's where we played Cherry Orchard a few years ago so it sounds right.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Shams at 8/13

Jesus Athlone at 8/13...............surely

and Cherry orchard at 10/3 looks very very tempting

(pp)