Results 5,261 to 5,280 of 5486

Thread: Potentially eligible players thread

282 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Olé Olé View Post
    I dunno.

I would imagine Brendan Rodgers would have influence [on Francis Turley] and that probably doesn't help.

On top of that, he's played in the 19s Euros for NI. He's probably well settled there.
    Turley has just been called up by the IFA for an U-19 mini-tournament later this week also involving Norway (hosts) and Sweden.

I don't think the vast, vast majority these lads are keen to switch at all and few have, if you think about how many lads from Nationalist backgrounds or areas are in the NI squads.
    Yep - squad details:

3,498 Posts
    Noticed Aran Fitzpatrick came on for Carlisle against Nottingham Forest's U21s earlier.
    According to transfermarkt, his nationality is Irish
    Only his second appearance for Carlisle, he made his debut in April against Wycombe
    https://www.carlisleunited.co.uk/new...o-be-coming-on

626 Posts
    Really need to sound out Louie Barry - fourth goal in five games this season in the EFL Trophy tonight against Accrington Stanley: https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/l...3ymet#Line-ups

215 Posts
    Thomas Hill named in Liverpool's Champions League Squad. Represented us but more recently turned out for Wales U21s. His development has been hampered by injuries but appears to be impressing Slot in PL2 this season.

662 Posts
    I think it’s as much, he’s overage and they had 2 spaces free. So might as well register him

3,488 Posts
    Jack Porter became Arsenal's youngest ever player to start a game last night - turned 16 in July. Plays in nets; takes the record of Cesc Fabregas.

An English underage international, but his father is from Dublin, so eligible for us too.

65 Posts
    Fair play to him. Starting in goals at 16 is incredible

630 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Buckett View Post
    Fair play to him. Starting in goals at 16 is incredible
    Can't even drink Porter in a pub legally !

1,159 Posts
    Absolute mess of an article by Rowan in the Times today.

He must be on his jollies because he had a piece a few weeks back visiting Ipswich. He held onto some quotes and cobbled together an article for today it seems on the Irish players at the club. Szmodics, O'Shea, Ogbene, Taylor..

However, he also put in references to Delap being eligible. Right in saying he's not now for 3 years?

Worst thing about the piece was that there's a theme of question he kept putting to Kieran McKenna about him signing Irish players, the Irish players playing Gaelic football (Ogbene and O'Shea) and getting Irish qualified players to claim for us. McKenna shut it all down. Says he signed Szmodics because he was top scorer in the Championship. Says he has never spoken to O'Shea or Ogbene about Gaelic (a sport at which he excelled himself) and said he wouldn't be talking to Delap about his international allegiances.

Pretty cringe stuff from start to finish.

626 Posts

He must be on his jollies because he had a piece a few weeks back visiting Ipswich. He held onto some quotes and cobbled together an article for today it seems on the Irish players at the club. Szmodics, O'Shea, Ogbene, Taylor..

However, he also put in references to Delap being eligible. Right in saying he's not now for 3 years?

Worst thing about the piece was that there's a theme of question he kept putting to Kieran McKenna about him signing Irish players, the Irish players playing Gaelic football (Ogbene and O'Shea) and getting Irish qualified players to claim for us. McKenna shut it all down. Says he signed Szmodics because he was top scorer in the Championship. Says he has never spoken to O'Shea or Ogbene about Gaelic (a sport at which he excelled himself) and said he wouldn't be talking to Delap about his international allegiances.

Pretty cringe stuff from start to finish.
    Yeah, think I read that any appearance in this Autumn's U21 qualifiers would tie him to England for three years, and he came on as a second-half sub against Northern Ireland. And if the rule is three years after his last U21 cap, I think it's safe to assume that the clock won't start until after the Finals next year, taking us to 2028... so he'll be ready to lead us to glory in the 2030 World Cup! (Assuming he never gets or accepts an England senior call-up for some reason)

282 Posts

I'd be pretty certain that 100% of KMcK's attention is focused on Ipswich Tn and nothing else, meaning such considerations as Rowan was pursuing are/were irrelevant.

Beyond that, insofar as he may be concerned about international recognition etc, there is no evidence either way that he is more (or less) interested in ROI than he is in NI.

662 Posts
    Saw there's a lad Patrick Cushnan playing for FC Basel's u19s. A left back who is Irish (also with spanish citizenship). He's a 2007 kid, so he'd be an u18 this year. Played 29 games for their u17s last season - might have been someone we should have looked at for our u17 squad last year...

1,075 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by samhaydenjr View Post
    Yeah, think I read that any appearance in this Autumn's U21 qualifiers would tie him to England for three years, and he came on as a second-half sub against Northern Ireland. And if the rule is three years after his last U21 cap, I think it's safe to assume that the clock won't start until after the Finals next year, taking us to 2028... so he'll be ready to lead us to glory in the 2030 World Cup! (Assuming he never gets or accepts an England senior call-up for some reason)
    I don't know where this thing about an under 21 cap tying someone for three years has come from in the last couple of months. I've seen it referenced by a few twitter pages and even one of two sites that border on journalism websites (e.g. balls.ie). But as far as I understand it it's complete nonsense. The three years thing only relates to competitive senior caps before a players 21st birthday, it's has nothing to do with under 21 caps.

The current official position on Delap is that, having taken a competitive under 21 cap for England after his 21st birthday, he's now ineligible for Ireland under FIFA rules, unless he held Irish citizenship before his first competitive English underage cap (at Under 17 or whatever). However, this position has been challenged by a couple of other players in similar situations and there have been CAS rulings to allow them to switch. So it is highly likely that Delap would be allowed to also if it was pushed. And there are now stories going around that FIFA are going to tweak the eligibility rules again because of the CAS rulings.

But anyway the three year thing is nonsense in terms of Delap - if you see any twitter page or website reference it just take it that they haven't a clue what they're on about. But I don't see Delap ever playing for us anyway, England will throw him a senior cap soon and that will be that.

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    978 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EalingGreen View Post
    Yep, same lad:

"Francis Turley is a late withdrawal from Northern Ireland's UEFA U19 Championship squad .
    The Belfast native has stayed with his club after being included in Brendan Rodgers first team squad for the Hoops pre-season trip to America. It marks an incredible few days for the teenager after he made a goal scoring debut for Celtic coming off the bench to score in their friendly win over Queen's Park last week.
    Whilst NI U19 boss Gareth McAuley is disappointed to lose the services of the talented teen, he is delighted to see Turley get his opportunity to impress at club level. “It’s great for Fra to be part of the Celtic first team, however it’s disappointing for us as he was coming to the fore to be a key player for us," said McAuley.
    "But it’s all about the development of the players and we wish Fra all the best, and we’ll see him further down the line.”

https://www.belfastlive.co.uk/sport/...-late-29543349

Hardly the most difficult of choices for the lad.
    Not in either squad for you chaps, 21s or fully grown, but played underage for Celtic yesterday v Dortmund in the u19 UEFA league.

111 Posts
    I see we are embarrasing ourselves again over a player who will never play for us:

https://www.thesun.ie/sport/13942089...ic-of-ireland/

630 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Exgrad View Post
    I see we are embarrasing ourselves again over a player who will never play for us:

I don't think that Rory Delap ever got a fair crack of the whip when it came to playing for us ~ ~ Which might not be a big help in this either.

At this stage ~ There should be no chasing after players ~ ~ They either want to play for us or not ~ ~ Ok, no harm in saying the door is open, but I don't think there should be any chasing after players any more, because in can end up in a clown circus carry-on !

662 Posts
    have there been many other father/son combos to play for Ireland as full internationals? Only ones I can think of are the Alan Kellys

24. Thanks From:

630 Posts
    Con Martin and Mick Martin ~ Father and Son.

474 Posts

27. Thanks From:

626 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Eirambler View Post
    I don't know where this thing about an under 21 cap tying someone for three years has come from in the last couple of months. I've seen it referenced by a few twitter pages and even one of two sites that border on journalism websites (e.g. balls.ie). But as far as I understand it it's complete nonsense. The three years thing only relates to competitive senior caps before a players 21st birthday, it's has nothing to do with under 21 caps.

The current official position on Delap is that, having taken a competitive under 21 cap for England after his 21st birthday, he's now ineligible for Ireland under FIFA rules, unless he held Irish citizenship before his first competitive English underage cap (at Under 17 or whatever). However, this position has been challenged by a couple of other players in similar situations and there have been CAS rulings to allow them to switch. So it is highly likely that Delap would be allowed to also if it was pushed. And there are now stories going around that FIFA are going to tweak the eligibility rules again because of the CAS rulings.

But anyway the three year thing is nonsense in terms of Delap - if you see any twitter page or website reference it just take it that they haven't a clue what they're on about. But I don't see Delap ever playing for us anyway, England will throw him a senior cap soon and that will be that.
    Yeah, I saw it somewhere like that but after you said it I looked it up on the FIFA site and it's exactly as you say - the three-year rule is only for players who play up to three senior games, including competitive games, before turning 21. Searched today and found articles on three of those "border on journalism" sites you mentioned (brilliant description BTW) - extra.ie, balls.ie and sportsjoe.ie - all of them first said he closed the door by playing for England's U21s, then pivoted to mentioning a three-year cooling off period and referencing the "new rules" - two of them had links - one to the main FIFA page, and the other to a FIFA pdf about eligibility - neither link mentioned the possibility of switching after three years at all.

Quote Originally Posted by Exgrad View Post

Don't be so cynical - he will help England qualify for next summer's U21 Championships and will refuse to play in them on the off-chance that FIFA will change the rule as part of his cunning plan to string the FA along and then send them into the pits of depression when he lines out for us.

29. Thanks From: