Results 3,901 to 3,920 of 5126

Thread: Potentially eligible players thread

55 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by seanfhear View Post
    Probably better for everyone if ya just go back to reading it ~ ~ Cheerio !
    You see Sean, thats not the answer from an irishman your anwer is very elitist. My country was built by some proud irishmen and irishwomen one of them my granny.

Of course i have the right. the human right to express my thoughts. I havent insulted nor offended anyone here, yet i have been insulted by fellow irish football fans called names and that this was made-up. Thats a shame, if someone wants to call me you can call me to Argentina now to check im a true fan from abroad, a professor and a journalist.
    <MOD EDIT> no personal information, even if it's your own
    Last edited by tetsujin1979; 23/08/2020 at 2:57 PM.

751 Posts
    Mark Sykes has asked not to be named in the NI squad this week because he wants to switch allegiance to the good guys.

23 years old so a Nations League cap would still tie him to the North under the new rules.

Looks like a slightly later developer, in fairness given his career trajectory until recently it would have been difficult for him to justify switching to us before now, however coming off a big season with Oxford and with his career on the up he has seemingly decided to go for it - fair play to him.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.bel...-38929902.html

455 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Eirambler View Post
    Mark Sykes has asked not to be named in the NI squad this week because he wants to switch allegiance to the good guys.

23 years old so a Nations League cap would still tie him to the North under the new rules.

Looks like a slightly later developer, in fairness given his career trajectory until recently it would have been difficult for him to justify switching to us before now, however coming off a big season with Oxford and with his career on the up he has seemingly decided to go for it - fair play to him.

Best of luck to him. Great to see the northern lads feeling comfortable enough to come on board. Really hope Kenny makes it explicit that he is proactive in helping northern players play for us.

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    857 Posts
    Fair play to him is right, backing himself.
    Bit more on it here - https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/53881533

1,096 Posts
    This is the first lad that has switched to us in a while. There definitely have been very few from Belfast of late. Were the Hale brothers the last to do so? Paul Smyth appeared to have been considering his options.

Y'know, it might be just a co-incidence but Michael not being there to talk someone like Sykes around could have had an impact.

55 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by elatedscum View Post
    I’m all for people saying whatever the **** they want on platforms like this. Saying that...

Surely the admins can see the IP addresses from which every post is made? In this instance, they might choose to verify Chelo’s claims that he’s posting from Argentina. Cause it’s just a pointless and constant back and forth. Chelo posts something outlandish or untrue, which leads people to call him a WIM and an idiot, to which he goes back to his story of being an innocent and passionate yet simple man from Argentina, veins coursing with irish blood. The whole thing is so obviously implausible, and his writing full of tells, someone calls him out as being from say, Templeogue (good shout). And it continues on and on and on, like some kinds of deeply unfunny and tiresome skit...
    im tired too. anyone can call me to. im telling the truth i talk about facts because people here call me an impostor a fake. I ve been following Ireland since Liam Brady for Inter when Maradona was at Napoles

<MOD EDIT> no personal information, even if it's your own
    Last edited by tetsujin1979; 23/08/2020 at 6:08 PM.

751 Posts
    I think there was definitely an O'Neill factor to it alright. Both in terms of NI's period of relative success on the field (actually qualifying for something) and the fact that having O'Neill at the centre of it all probably made playing for the team more palatable from a nationalist point of view if we're being honest.

Then again, I always think these things are a win for both sides, if he genuinely would rather play for us I'd imagine most NI fans would prefer if he didn't play for them anyway and it certainly doesn't seem like there's been any agent or media pressure on him to make the switch, so quite different to the Declan Rice situation.

1,096 Posts
    https://www.thesun.ie/sport/football/5816847/mark-sykes-declare-republic-ireland-northern-oxford-united/

The Sun reporting that Kenny made contact with Sykes.

I love the reporting on how the IFA are "irate" and that the lad "routinely" appeared for underage sides.
    Last edited by tetsujin1979; 23/08/2020 at 6:09 PM. Reason: Deactivated link

482 Posts
    Sorry to lower the tone but with a name like that is he the first person from the unionist community to swap sides? Who knows

1,096 Posts
    I did a bit of research. Looks as though he went to school at St. Mary's, a Christian Brothers' school in West Belfast.

482 Posts
    Rice crispy so

103 Posts
    The hypocritical meltdown here in the north is in full swing.

19. Thanks From:

751 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Diggs246 View Post
    Sorry to lower the tone but with a name like that is he the first person from the unionist community to swap sides? Who knows
    Names aren't everything in NI - a huge amount of crossover between the communities over the years. Players with names like Gibson, Wilson etc playing for us on one side, Healy and Lafferty on the other. I would be amazed if a NI player from a fully unionist background ever switched to us.

21. Thanks From:

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    857 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr_Parker View Post
    The hypocritical meltdown here in the north is in full swing.
    Is there Unionist outrage ? They love a bit of outrage.

23. Thanks From:

1,096 Posts
    Names aren't everything in NI - a huge amount of crossover between the communities over the years. Players with names like Gibson, Wilson etc playing for us on one side, Healy and Lafferty on the other. I would be amazed if a NI player from a fully unionist background ever switched to us.
    Not to mention James McClean.

25. Thanks From:

576 Posts
    Kernaghan was from Unionist background but couldn't be picked by the North because of their policy at the time. Not sure if he played underage with them or what their policy was anyway. Something stupid that hindered them anyway.
    He got dogs abuse in 1993 in Windsor Park
    Folding my way into the big money!!!

A bit of a Bulls-Eye for Kenny !

Another proud Mexican!

29. Thanks From:

Quote Originally Posted by liamoo11 View Post
    Best of luck to him. Great to see the northern lads feeling comfortable enough to come on board. Really hope Kenny makes it explicit that he is proactive in helping northern players play for us.
    I don't think that's Kenny's way. He'd be more along the Brian Kerr lines that he understands the political situation and any switch has to be led by the player themselves.

574 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CraftyToePoke View Post
    Is there Unionist outrage ? They love a bit of outrage.
    They're all supporting Cambridge in the boat race next year.

32. Thanks From: