Page 41 of 257 FirstFirst ... 3139404142435191141 ... LastLast

Thread: Potentially eligible players thread

517 Posts
    He could just as easily have been there watching Shane Long and Joey O'Brien....

The last thing we want at a time like this is a f***ing sideshow over a mediocre footballer who is using playing for Ireland as a threat to Roy Hodgson and England.

I can't believe this drama over such an average player.

If it was Lee Cattermole or Matty Fryatt it would be the same thing.

1,094 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    Sounds like Nazis aryan stuff - blood percentages were used to calculate whether someone was Jewish.
    Did you really just see my 'fag-packet mathematics' and raise me 'interesting Nazi history'?

Quote Originally Posted by Olé Olé View Post
    Did you really just see my 'fag-packet mathematics' and raise me 'interesting Nazi history'?
    He certainly did, Heinrich.

85 Posts
    I would laugh if he was playing in this match: http://www.independent.ie/sport/irel...-30166333.html
    The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist thinks it will change; the realist adjusts the sails.

2,690 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    If that's Noble's attitude then the fck off should be directed to our management team, who (if it transpires) would be 99% responsible for his presence in the squad.
    O'Neill cowers in front of the threat posed by Geysir's caustic internet analysis

http://www.thescore.ie/martin-oneill...48655-Sep2014/

I'm hoping that puts it all to bed now. They've had a few days to gauge social media. Only some old bloke who follows Sheff Wednesday was unconcerned by Noble's attitude
    Last edited by Stuttgart88; 01/09/2014 at 12:51 PM.

2,690 Posts
    “But at some stage or another, if you’re indecisive about something, I’m not so sure that augurs brilliantly for stuff" says Martin O'Neill indecisively.

85 Posts
    The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist thinks it will change; the realist adjusts the sails.

85 Posts

285 Posts
    Some advice for Noble from Sam Allardyce.

"Play. Go play international football. He's clearly not going to get an opportunity here so if he gets the opportunity through parentage to play for Ireland he should go – international football is fantastic."

http://www.kumb.com/story.php?id=127775
    Last edited by TrapAPony; 03/09/2014 at 8:41 AM.
    "We lost because we didn't win"- Ronaldo

Lost in Giovanni Trappatoni's Tactics Board
    132 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TrapAPony View Post
    Fair play to Sam Allardyce. Some good advice for Noble.

"Play. Go play international football. He's clearly not going to get an opportunity here so if he gets the opportunity through parentage to play for Ireland he should go – international football is fantastic."

Somebody should tell Sam while playing INTL football is fantastic......its even better playing for a country that you actually and only want to play for
    My Country is My Club.

Republic of Ireland Forever

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Um_ZvP2cUdo

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    I have mixed feelings on this, clearly England is his first choice, but he is 50/50 on nationality isn't he?
    I think in that situation he is entitled to have a preference but he is also entitled to a second choice
    if he can't get his first choice.

I think perhaps one of the reasons he may not have got an England call up is he is not considered English enough perhaps?

HoweverI am very uneasy over his commitment, could he every play for Ireland V England? Could you trust him?

I have never really had much interest in this thread until now, could not see much point in wasting time on
    something that may never happen.

Anyhow as he has not even declared for Ireland I don't think there is much point even thinking about it,
    will cross that bridge if and when it arrives.

Interestingly I saw this article when reading one of the linked posted here:-

http://www.irishpost.co.uk/sport/pau...ng-new-ireland

Paul Scholes: ‘England are in danger of becoming the new Ireland’
    (cheeky git!! We're not *that* bad!!! )

PAUL Scholes reckons England – like the Republic of Ireland – are in danger of failing to qualify for major tournaments in the future.
    After failing to make it passed the group stage of this year’s World Cup the Manchester United legend believes that a tough task lies ahead for England.
    “From what I’ve seen at this World Cup, we’ll be lucky to qualify. I fear England are going the way of the Republic of Ireland, Wales and Scotland,” Scholes wrote in his Paddy Power blog.
    He added that an import-saturated Premier League is detrimental to the development of young English players.

Perhaps also interesting to read this, it's kind of relevant
    http://www.irishpost.co.uk/sport/pau...ng-new-ireland
    His (Paul Scholes) former captain Roy Keane was another player to miss that final at the Nou Camp. Hailing a player that he and his team-mates "looked up to", Scholes wished the Cork man well in his new job as Ireland assistant manager and also revealed his own Irish heritage.

"I hope they do well. My grandparents were from Ireland and I like to look at the results and it's a country you hope to do well."

That's one player the Granny Rule missed unfortunately!

So let's say England had overlooked Paul Scholes, how would you feel like him declaring for Ireland?

Somewhat more positively I expect?

446 Posts
    We are 'that bad', as even that lot are still 'better'. Though the gap seems to be narrowing, much more of an issue as soccer is their national team sport...
    And common knowledge re. Scholes, no reservations about his ability, would have worked well with a Corkonian or two, just his employer!

285 Posts
    Scholes also mentioned Scotland and Wales. I do not see the problem with what he said tbh. We haven't done much internationally in years.
    Last edited by TrapAPony; 03/09/2014 at 8:14 AM.
    "We lost because we didn't win"- Ronaldo

82 Posts
    Alardyce is talking out of his a***!! .. All this public posturing from Noble is nothing more than a shot across the bow of Hodgson. "PLAY ME OR I'M OFF".... Now if someone at West Ham done the same to Alardyce I'm sure his response would be different to what he spouted above.... I don't want Noble near the Irish jersey. If only because he hadn't got the respect to be more subtle in his goings on!

19. Thanks From:

357 Posts
    Noble has not covered himself in glory this week and conspiracy theories are certainly merited by his comments. While reflecting on this, it brought back memories of another player who copped a bit of flak when he first displayed a similar attitude, but came to be accepted by most as a committed Irish international. Granted there is a major age difference, but possibly the old saying might also apply to Noble as in ' actions speak louder than words'.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2001/...046-morrisonc/

2,690 Posts
    Clinton had personalitee

"Thursday, 14 Jun 2007"

i got really confused reading that artcile. Why would it have been updated, i assume because it had been filed on the new website and no content management etl done on these files automatically.

Clinton at least went over of his own accord to smooth things over with McCarthy. Noble seems to be acting the maggot. He should be selected for a 32 man squad and then not selected for the final squad when he makes his decision. Let him cop on before picking him, if that decision is made that he will play for us.

132 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tricky_colour View Post

So let's say England had overlooked Paul Scholes, how would you feel like him declaring for Ireland?

Somewhat more positively I expect?
    If Paul Scholes spoke of declaring for Ireland the way Noble did on Goals on Sunday ...I would tell him to f**K off

Christ ....if it was messi .....id tell him to f**k off too

Whatever about a country not been your place of birth .....but to use that country on a football show in order to potentially gain your chances of getting a call up to another country like what noble did at the weekend ......is a disgrace....no matter what the quality of player!!!
    My Country is My Club.

132 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TrapAPony View Post
    Some advice for Noble from Sam Allardyce.

If only big Sam was positive towards kevin kilbane when kev told him he wanted to play for Ireland......hypocrisy of him!!

http://www.thescore.ie/kevin-kilbane...47307-Oct2013/

"One particularly significant story during his early playing days with Preston begins with a team meeting being called by then youth team manager and boyhood idol of Kilbane’s Sam Allardyce. Big Sam reveals that one of his players has been called up to England’s U18s squad and, as Kilbane looks around the room attempting to guess which of his team-mates has been picked, it is announced that he is in fact the “lucky one”.
    Kilbane describes feeling his heart sink. Unable to disappoint his manager, he eventually plucks up the courage to pay a visit to his office the next day to explain that his wish is to represent Ireland. Furious at hearing the news, Allardyce tells the teenager to “f*** off” before ordering him to leave."
    My Country is My Club.

25. Thanks From:

517 Posts
    Sounds like an apocryphal story to me. I cannot imagine Killa ever getting near an England squad of any description. Did he address it in his book?