Page 19 of 264 FirstFirst ... 917181920212969119 ... LastLast

Thread: Potentially eligible players thread

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CraftyToePoke View Post
    Was thinking the same earlier, I think he might be. Cant see why not unless there is an age cap on switching, he is 31 I think. It all died down after they capped him, naturally enough, but he only played friendlies, and we know what that can mean, eh, James McCarthy ?
    Yeah, he must be. There's no age-cap on switching any longer and only senior competitive games tie a player under the current rules. The age-cap used to be 21 but FIFA lifted it two years ago. When Knight was capped by England in 2005, he would have been in his mid-20s and FIFA had yet to scrap the age-cap, so he would only have become eligible for us again in 2009.

229 Posts
    What this does tell us is.....if Zat Knight can get a cap for England then surely O'Hara can! Capello call him up asap.
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

would never want knight near the aviva stadium or green jersey

Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    Out of interest, is Zat Knight still eligible to play for us? He was capped twice by England but both times were friendlies.
    Would set a dangerous precedent if we kept the door open for this geezer.

He made his choice and that should be the end of it.
    Quoting years at random since 1975

121 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Scooby Doo View Post
    Ok, fair enough point, but do you really think that if Capello came calling for their friendly game in August that O'Hara would feel the need to 'consider it' or 'talk it over with his family'? Of course not. He is without question keeping his options open with Ireland. Fine, he's entitled to dual identity and maybe he feels he has a better shot at playing at a EC/WC with England, which is fair enough. However, if after the September games we are in a good position to qualify and he suddenly decides he wants to declare, then he should be told where to go.

Also, not digging at you, CraftyTP, but I really don't get this notion that O'Hara deserves some sort of credit for the 'diplomacy' not bluntly stating that England is by far is first choice. The difference between O'Hara and lads like Pennant and Zat Knight is that they are clearly both just tactless morons.
    I don't really see that happening, Trap isn't someone who likes to introduce people out of nowhere in the middle of a campaign. I believe Cox only got his callup because other choices didn't show. If he had his way I think he'd have liked to have had Walters, Folan, Best and Stokes there and not a newcomer Cox. If O'Hara were to make himself available right now I don't think he'd be considered unless others had injury problems or Gibson-itus.

161 Posts
    I thought O'Hara's form dipped late in the season for Wolves. He played well for 4 or 5 games when he first signed and then his passing particulary started to suffer. Not sure he is any better than what he have at the moment so don't see him getting a call up now.

2,746 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Murfinator View Post
    I believe Cox only got his callup because other choices didn't show.
    I thought Cox was in the original squad. He probably only played because others didn't turn up.

87 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Murfinator View Post
    I don't really see that happening, Trap isn't someone who likes to introduce people out of nowhere in the middle of a campaign. I believe Cox only got his callup because other choices didn't show. If he had his way I think he'd have liked to have had Walters, Folan, Best and Stokes there and not a newcomer Cox. If O'Hara were to make himself available right now I don't think he'd be considered unless others had injury problems or Gibson-itus.
    LOL - Whats the cure for that?
    The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist thinks it will change; the realist adjusts the sails.

162 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Deckydee View Post
    LOL - Whats the cure for that?
    Shots.

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Wolfie View Post
    Would set a dangerous precedent if we kept the door open for this geezer.

He made his choice and that should be the end of it.
    God no; certainly wasn't advocating anything of the sort, ha. Whatever happened to chaps like Hogan Ephraim and Kyle Naughton, mind? What other names were being thrown around?

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    918 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    God no; certainly wasn't advocating anything of the sort, ha. Whatever happened to chaps like Hogan Ephraim and Kyle Naughton, mind? What other names were being thrown around?

I wouldnt advocate the return of Zat Knight either, just to clear that up ! I was very relieved when England token capped him and I think he is a fine example of guys alluded to in the St Ledger thread who are not as good as SSL but carving out a living as Prem players.

Adam Hamill was one, Luke Chambers another and Richard Stearman was also mentioned. Jonjo Shelvy was also approached I think. Connolly at OPR, McGugan at Forest was also mentioned.

There will be a few more as well Id imagine as the trawl continues.

285 Posts
    Aside from the above - Jermaine Pennant, Anton Ferdinand, Darren Ambrose, Marc Tierney, Gary O'Neil, Alex Pearce, Andy Lonergan......
    Last edited by TrapAPony; 29/06/2011 at 6:06 PM.
    "We lost because we didn't win"- Ronaldo

380 Posts
    ..... Sunderland's new signing Connor Wickham.

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ifk101 View Post
    ..... Sunderland's new signing Connor Wickham.
    where did you hear that ifk101?

its all over the news!

130 Posts
    hadn't heard, whats the craic has he switched?

all google can come up with is that worthington was trying to get him in 2010.

his da is from NI
    Last edited by the bear; 29/06/2011 at 9:52 PM.

918 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by the bear View Post
    hadn't heard, whats the craic has he switched?

all google can come up with is that worthington was trying to get him in 2010.

his da is from NI
    I think Roy Keane spoke of it while at Ipswich, but said also it was unlikely.

Edit : Its in the text of this piece : http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...o-2159088.html
    Last edited by CraftyToePoke; 30/06/2011 at 12:51 AM.

19. Thanks From:

130 Posts
    i presume paul oshea ment that him signing with sundrland was all over the news then, can't see this fella declaring for us

114 Posts
    This is one of those threads where you just know there will be no material developments relating to the title - whatever the additional number of posts/pages.

..... yet I still click to see the latest!!

918 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paddy Garcia View Post
    yet I still click to see the latest!!
    Here it is, Paddy Garcia, the latest, and also a pretty pointless product of my bout of insomnia!

GK: Alex McCarthy

RB : Naughton
    CB : Chambers
    CB : Ferdinand
    LB : Stearman

RM : Pennant
    LM : Hammil
    CM : O'Hara
    CM: Noble

CF: Wickham
    CF : Shelvey

Bench
    Lonergan (GK)
    Connolly (CB/RB)
    Ephiram (LM)
    Ambrose (CM)
    McGugan (CM)

Some tenuous positional placements, but a semi decent eleven and bench, lined up in comparison against our own actual Irishmen, not really worth bending over backward for either though.

24. Thanks From: