Page 15 of 17 FirstFirst ... 51314151617 LastLast

Thread: Bulgaria V Republic of Ireland - Friday, 6th June 2009 - World Cup 2010 Q

603 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Manc Irish Wolf View Post
    Great result and encouraging performance yesterday. Shows the benefit of Old Trap having the players at his disposal for a week as the players seemed well drilled from the start. Ended up watching it in O'Sheas here in The Republic of Mancunia and had to doubletake when I walked up to the bar next to Darron Gibson - Reckons he staying at United and spends a bit too much time texting during the match - but seemed like a nice lad and did give a massive cry of delight at the goal (dare say I would if it increased my chances of playing in a World Cup too).
    Did you ask if he was transfer listed?

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post

What did you make of the chance he had from the knockdown in the first half?

I think there are games where Robbie would have buried it.
    I've not seen it again so could be way off the mark here but was it a bit similar to Rooneys goal earlier in the day? Rooneys technique was superb to re-adjust his feet and return the high ball back in to the net with his right boot, back to goal.
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

2,796 Posts
    Rooney's technique was superb alright but the ball wasn't running away from him as it was for Robbie. Robbie reacted a fraction late I think and failed to connect, that's all.

My dad said there was a load of casuals there who went to the game to stare and shout at the Irish.He said none of em saw much of the game.

Quote Originally Posted by irishultra View Post
    Actually just thinking about our right back situation, a rejuvinated Carr, Stephen Kelly, Kevin Foley and Steve Finnan(don't know if he'll stay with espanyol, they were relegated right? He will probably move to the English League) so that is 4 right backs playing in a top tier European league. Pretty good

Whelan, Fahey, Andrews(? i reckon he'll be sold) Carsley, Gibson, McCann all playing in the Premier League as well.
    Espanyol weren't relegated. They went on an amazing run in the last few weeks and actually finished in the top half. Finnan didn't play in any of the games though

130 Posts
    Good news for the Cyprus game, Konstantinou (we all remember him, scored twice in the away game last time) and Makrides both got booked on sat and are out of our game!!!

3,501 Posts
    good news indeed!
    Milanov is suspended for Bulgaria's trip to Italy as well after being booked in saturday's game

Quote Originally Posted by corkboy360 View Post
    My dad said there was a load of casuals there who went to the game to stare and shout at the Irish.He said none of em saw much of the game.
    there was a real scumbag element to their fans. i was told more than once to "f**k off" before the game - once at 11:00am.

only a few of the locals were up for any banter, most i think are used to football fans being hooligans so didn't want to engage.

to comment on a point raised earlier in the thread, Steven Reid is definitely coming back to the Ireland squad.

1,928 Posts
    good news indeed!
    Milanov is suspended for Bulgaria's trip to Italy as well after being booked in saturday's game
    That weakens Bulgaria.
    Bulgaria grabbing a point in Italy would be a godsend - if they did, it doesn't change anything for us except to leave an interesting tie in Croke Park.

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    If we win next 3 games we'll win group I reckon.

I'd love it for obvious reasons but also to promote football back above egg chasing as the sport of the moment! How on earth can Free State Cheethas vs a Lions non-test XV with some Irish in it even come close to Bulgaria vs Ireland as a sporting conversation piece this weekend?

Brilliant point about the Lions and all that

Quote Originally Posted by donalmcdonagh View Post
    All in all we must be happy, I agree with the majority of the postings so far.
    Great result last night, performance was excellant for one third of the game, for the rest is was dogged.

Our problem is defence, if you think back, 4 of the goals we have conceded have been defensive errors (Kelly V Georgia, McShane V Italy, Kilbane V Bulgaria & Kilbane V Bulgaria) and maybe these have contributed to us going into our shell a bit. So basically we still need to finalise our defensive make, having said that we have defended excellently at time.

And this brings me to the point about Whelan and Andrews, if we take these out we will be much more open to being played through. AT the moment we are so hard to play through, I dont think anybody has played through us to score yet??? I am not the biggest fan of the CM style of play (negative & defensive) but it is very effective. Maybe they will progress over time.
    I said before that this team is building and I still believe that, we do not have a settled team , many positions are up for grabs and to be in second place in our group whilst building our a team is a great achievment for Trap, the staff and the team. I think the only way is up for us, we are learning.

Word on the Robbie Keane critics...he is the groups top scorer!!!

I agree with all who said the ref was excellent last night, really impressed and happy to see sane refs still exist.

Roll on september with a fully fit, on form squad (fat chance); and team as follows for Cyprus
    Given
    Finnan Dunne O Shea Kilbane
    McGeady S Reid Whelan Duff
    Doyle Keane
    Squad: Keily, Kelly, St Ledger, Foley, S Hunt, Folan, Gibson, Andrews, Long

No, Kilbane has to go. I like no player more than him, but he has had a terrible campaign.

Quote Originally Posted by magnumpi View Post
    there was a real scumbag element to their fans. i was told more than once to "f**k off" before the game - once at 11:00am.

only a few of the locals were up for any banter, most i think are used to football fans being hooligans so didn't want to engage.

to comment on a point raised earlier in the thread, Steven Reid is definitely coming back to the Ireland squad.

Did the boo our national anthem?

Makes me laugh, that despite the alleged intimidation from the home fans, next time the play here they'll be treated with open arms,same thing should happen them. Rem Turkey a number of years ago.?...and no bloody repercussions for them

3,501 Posts
    RTE's post match web analysis here: http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/...pextra_av.html

85 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    I think he chose the wrong side last night - if he'd gone across the keeper I think there was more goal to hit. It looked to me like the keeper had it covered anyway.

Similarly he made the wrong decision in Montenegro.

I think his effort in Dublin lacked conviction.

I think his shooting is what makes him still a way to go before he can even be thought of as Joe Cole like player. That's one area where Joe Cole really upped his game.

Coaching.. I remember reading an interview with Duff and how he felt when Dean Saunders came in a Blackburn he worked specifically with him on shooting and improved big time (Though Mourinho scared it out of him again when he went to Chelsea)
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

85 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Junior View Post
    I agree with most of the ratings posted, so wont duplicate.

Folan - Is really really impressing me. What has he got about 4 caps? He always makes an nuisance of himself and with no little amount of skill and control and use of a footballing brain. Dont get me wrong he's no Sheringham but I really like what im seeing (Great burst of pace as well in the last few minutes just over ran it in the box - not bad after the shift he had put in)- its a pity Robbie was so quiet tonight, I thought he had something to work with here.
    I'd rather the whole package of Doyle than what Folan offers. Doyle ticks more boxes than Folan,,, For me anyway.
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dr_peepee View Post
    I'd rather the whole package of Doyle than what Folan offers. Doyle ticks more boxes than Folan,,, For me anyway.
    Yep Im a fan of Doyle too, his progress over the last 10 appearances or so has been great, an important player no doubt. Folan has yet to prove he can hit the back of the net, which Doyle certainly has - So yes, Doyle for me too at this stage.

Its great though that we now also have Folan who has produced (IMO) on his few outings. Id be quite happy to throw him on now from the bench and know it could be a good substituion. In the past we have had Elliott, Murphy, Quinn and the likes, who I was never really convinced about as backup (although in all honesty I hadnt seen that much of them play).
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

2,796 Posts
    Doyle & Folan could be an option, with Robbie playing deeper like he did in Bari.

52 Posts

Irish Cannavaro

Just back from Sofia!

The lads did the job, defended well, just needed more belief when they have the ball.

Early days yet, But the Saint/Dunne partnership looks very promising.

I have a feeling that Trapps "Irish Cannavaro" could be playing in Italy before too long!

Thank god Preston made the play offs or he may not have got the chance to show what he can do.

49 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by elroy View Post
    Good news for the Cyprus game, Konstantinou (we all remember him, scored twice in the away game last time) and Makrides both got booked on sat and are out of our game!!!
    really ? that bloody great news....have to win that game.

Quote Originally Posted by magnumpi View Post

Quote Originally Posted by Den Perry View Post
    Did the boo our national anthem?

Makes me laugh, that despite the alleged intimidation from the home fans, next time the play here they'll be treated with open arms,same thing should happen them. Rem Turkey a number of years ago.?...and no bloody repercussions for them
    Some of the Bulgarian fans were ok and we had a bit of craic in one of the Levski Sofia bars on the way to the stadium singing songs back and forth but they were a nasty bunch generally, lots of throat slitting motions and abuse in the stadium rather than banter and they did boo our national anthem which is disgraceful. What do you expect when they have to segregate their own fans though I suppose?

Regardless, I don't think that should affect how they're treated next time they're over here though, no point descending to their level and best possible response would be to qualify for Africa at their expense.

Page 15 of 17 FirstFirst ... 51314151617 LastLast