Thread: Almeida gone

Almeida gone

Just heard the Almeida has left the club. looks like the recent speculation/rumours were true so!!

If this is true then its a pity . A quality player last season, but this season we dont even know if hes struggling with injury or not. He was one of our highest earners sitting out of matches alot, so I suppose that atleast eases us our wage bill a bit, but just makes our situation with substitutes worse. I hope cookie has a plan to turn this situation around, and quick!.
    Coleman for Ireland

21 Posts
    I hope they didnt have to pay him off because he was faking injury and refusing to play.

Quote Originally Posted by sligofan4ever View Post
    so I suppose that atleast eases us our wage bill a bit
    Depends if he walked out it means his contract will be void but if we agreed with him to let him go free might mean we pay some compensation which wouldn't obviously free up the wage bill.

It was so obvious it was coming. I watched him for about five minuted straight during one of our matches and the expression on his face including his work ethic just told its own story.

Ah ffs. This is terrible. What's going on at the club these days? Any chance of an official statement from somebody in the know?

Jeez, what a waste of money his wages for this season were

thats awful news if true. the lad has played us as mugs. the club is owned by the community but again we are told nothing. i feel a fool for all the money i have donated because obviously the club feel we the fans are meaningless as we never get told anything. as for almeida i have lost all respect for him if he is gone. but i fear he will not be the only player going i have a funny feeling boco could leave too

On one hand Almeida might be gone, and on the other we got the sitiuation of Paul McTiernan who we haven't seen in ages, anyone know what the situation with him is ?
    Coleman for Ireland

Lads, I just rang the club to see could they confirm this. Paul Cook answered the phone and introduced himself. I asked him was the rumour true. He said it is. He's an absolute gent. He explained that they had got the best medical opinions on Almeida and that the ankle problem wasn't improving. He said that if he knew that it would take another two months to fix him up he would have kept him on,even on his high wages, but they couldn't promise that it would improve. He said that he's a top player and that if there was any way to keep him and get him fit they would have. He also said that thay were down to a threadbare squad now, which he had warned of at the start of the season but that he could guarantee the lads wouldn't be found lacking for effort tonight. I wished hime the best of luck. He sounded fairly downbeat but prepared to press on.
    He's gone up a lot in my estimation after that call.
    These accusations of faking are well out of order. I had my doubts, but I'll take Cook on his word now and let it lie. Huge loss to the team though.

Almedia was a good player for sure but if he was fecking the club around the money can be better spent on a player who WANTS to play for Sligo Rovers ...McTiernan situation is more straight foward..dont think he is good enough to play at this level...Cookie would have picked him otherwise..couldnt get a game when Parkhouse had his injury at the start of the season and Fenney got picked ahead of him up front once or twice..Dark days again for the club..will we even have a bench 2nite??

Quote Originally Posted by CarrickFan View Post
    Almedia was a good player for sure but if he was fecking the club around the money can be better spent on a player who WANTS to play for Sligo Rovers ...McTiernan situation is more straight foward..dont think he is good enough to play at this level...Cookie would have picked him otherwise..couldnt get a game when Parkhouse had his injury at the start of the season and Fenney got picked ahead of him up front once or twice..Dark days again for the club..will we even have a bench 2nite??
    Sorry mate,did you read my post? The lad WAS injured. Had nothig to do with him wanting to play. He couldn't play.

Sorry Dong hadnt seen ur post when i started my post so i didnt know..i had said IF he was because i didnt know anything other then what was speculated on this site...like you i would take Cookies word on the subject..shame to hear he is a little downbeat but i can only imagine its a tough job!...all the more reason to really get behind the lads 2nite.

Quote Originally Posted by dong2008 View Post
    Paul Cook answered the phone and introduced himself.
    I can't believe the manager of a professional football cub would answer the phone. Another amazing attribute of Paul Cook.
    I'm a 23yr old right-handed heterosexual who drinks milk and likes democracy. - dcfcsteve knows me well

151 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Umberside View Post
    I can't believe the manager of a professional football cub would answer the phone. Another amazing attribute of Paul Cook.
    Seanie Connor did it for a full season at Birmingham City

Lads, the club have issued the following Press Release which will be up on our site this evening.

"The Club wish to announce that Mauro Almeida has departed the club today by mutual consent.
    Unfortunately Mauro has an injury that is likely to keep him sidelined for at least another 2/3 months. It was felt best that he returned to his own country to continue rehab there.
    The club wish to acknowledge the contribution made by Mauro to our exploits last season. It is very disappointing that Mauro has only been able to start 2 games this season.
    Hopefully in the upcoming transfer window, the club will be able to draft in a suitable replacement."

What a loss, i was looking forward to seeing him play this season.

Good decision by the club though, there was no promises that the injury would get better, had to get out of the contract.

How's Chris Butler getting on?, anyone know?

Quote Originally Posted by avvenalaf View Post
    Seanie Connor did it for a full season at Birmingham City
    I knew it would be said once i read Umberside's post.

Quote Originally Posted by sligofan4ever View Post
    and on the other we got the sitiuation of Paul McTiernan who we haven't seen in ages, anyone know what the situation with him is ?
    He's gone weeks.

i bet almeida signs for another club within the 2 -3 months expected out with injury. i for one will be sad to see him go as himself and peers were a formidable partnership. we def need a new centre back as dont see ventre as up to the job. i can see another fund raiser on the horizon lads for new plaers. fair play to cookie for his honesty, if his players were as honest on the park we wouldnt lose again. a sad departure for the club but im still not convinced mauros heart was in the club. remember its only tue cookie said he was fit but didnt want to chance him on the firm ground in bray. 3 days later he is apparently out for 3 months. cookie prob got fed up of his sh1t. a ggod player lost but not much changes as he didnt do anything all season anyways

Quote Originally Posted by rovers100% View Post
    i bet almeida signs for another club within the 2 -3 months expected out with injury. i for one will be sad to see him go as himself and peers were a formidable partnership. we def need a new centre back as dont see ventre as up to the job. i can see another fund raiser on the horizon lads for new plaers. fair play to cookie for his honesty, if his players were as honest on the park we wouldnt lose again. a sad departure for the club but im still not convinced mauros heart was in the club. remember its only tue cookie said he was fit but didnt want to chance him on the firm ground in bray. 3 days later he is apparently out for 3 months. cookie prob got fed up of his sh1t. a ggod player lost but not much changes as he didnt do anything all season anyways
    Mystic Meg, and a mindreader as well. I'm impressed.
    Can you not take the man's word for it? Cook had nothing but good things to say about Mauro when I spoke to him.
    You commend him for his honesty in one sentence, then hint at lies being told about Tuesday in the next.

In fairness if there was any background to the story Cook wouldn't tell a randommer who rang up the club. You could have been a journo or anythng and Cook has to stick to the story.

Quote Originally Posted by Boo_Boy View Post
    How's Chris Butler getting on?, anyone know?
    I was told by someone its not good news. Don't shoot the messenger.