Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Derry on Friday

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers1 View Post
    1-0 Derry

Yeah,but a decent performance, there was war in the 2nd half . Tought Noctor did well, sending off was right decision for him and Derrys player who got sent off, lucky we have Keane back next week or we mightened have even have subs next week!. Ventre and Peers were very good I think, Ventre defensively contributed more IMO, maybe we dont need a first choice replacement for Almeida after all, Ventre's a much improved player. What to say about the goal The referee gave it to quick, should've discussed it with the linesmen before coming to a decision. The second half was a way better performance for us, better passing and good going forward. Cash had a good game, just needs to pick out passes better while Raf played well as usual. Pity we had no Boco, would've had a better chance of scoring.
    And the our fans are better at penalties this time around, still lost with a Rovers keeper in goal though lol.
    Coleman for Ireland

Smile

god fighting performance. missed the goal as i was doing my usual service for the club. we were unlucky not to get a draw but really no one to score. feeney tries but has no pace and for a big fella cant get of the ground. thought peersy was immense and one pass out of defence in the 2nd half was sheer class playing the ball to the byline at pace for raf to run onto and we should have scored from that move. it will be very very tough in cork next week but we are capable even with the limited squod we have. as good and all a player is boco this club cannot afford his loss at a crucial stage of the season. as far as i can remember it was the same last year & we went out of the cup to shams (chris being sent off in the process). it would be great if we got them back here or pulled off a victory as it could change our season. was'nt overly impressed with morrison has loads of ability but keeps getting sucked into tight situations. i thought raf did very well and overall even though we lost the crowd were happy with the effort. the league is going to be avery tight battle as there were some surprising results again tonight. if we can bring in a few players (finance allowing) and get a lucky break (maybe in the cup) along the way we may survive.

Good performance imo, one of the best of the season. Pity we didn't get the equaliser.

As sf4e said, ventre has been very solid in recent games and cashie also had a good game tonight. The usuals raf and peers were top notch again. The lads (bar Morrison of course) gave 110% and that's all you can ask for. It was always gonna be tough missing as many players as we were.

I've no doubt that we would have gotten a result against Bray had we shown the same commitment. With keane and O'grady coming back, we will give cork a run for their money on friday.

very encouraging performance tonight..the effort and commitment was there for all to see..with so many players missing u have to be pleased despite defeat..Cash had his best game in some time and Raf was quality aswell...if u had Bocu,Conor and Keane out there 2nite who knows??...onwards to Cork next week..3rd game without a win for them 2nite and one goal in 3 so no reason we cant give them a game.......

Super effort in the second half and probably deserved a share of the spoils. Ventre, Peers, Raf and Brush (when called upon) were excellent. The goal did look over the line from where I was sitting, but if I were a linesman, I would have needed to be 100% sure before giving it.

I wasn't impressed with Derry at all, especially for a team in the top three. It's becoming an unpredictible league. Which I guess is a good thing.

Can we win in Cork...............????...................YES
    "Overwhelmed"

Great work effort there tonight. At last we played well! Just lacking goal-scoring chances unfortunately but we really did put in the effort and deserved something for that alone. Didn't see Noctor's tackle but he was poor the whole game, not near Premier Division standard, times are tight though so that's why he'll still feature throughout the season.

Really need to kick on from this and put in similar effort in Cork and hopefully this time we might get something.

I thought it must have been a gaol as none of the Rovers players appealed.

Quote Originally Posted by CarrickFan View Post
    very encouraging performance tonight..the effort and commitment was there for all to see..with so many players missing u have to be pleased despite defeat..Cash had his best game in some time and Raf was quality aswell...if u had Bocu,Conor and Keane out there 2nite who knows??...onwards to Cork next week..3rd game without a win for them 2nite and one goal in 3 so no reason we cant give them a game.......

Your as bad as the RTE commentators pronouncing his name there CarrickFan seriously though I have to agree, its an encouring performance despite such a limited squad, as you said Cash has had his best game in a while but his passing is little to be admired . Does anyone else think Feeney is simply too lazy ? like Parkhouse when he started out, he never uses his height as advantage, Feeney has now had a year and half to show what he can do but i'm not impressed tbh. But looking at our squad, we have to use what we have, especially after losing Alemida today. I didnt mention it in my first post, but I think Keohane did very well for his first home start, hope he keeps it up as he has the potential to be a very good winger and full-back.
    Coleman for Ireland

a great show of belief and commitment from the lads, we had 9 excellent players out there tonight (ye can decide what 2 players i have omitted) we may not have done enough to deseerve a win but a point was not beyond us in fairness. the only real downside is we never really looked like we could score. poor raf he is a one man show he really deserves more goals. he made 2 decent efforts outta nothing tonight. i agree ventre had a terrific game he also was great against dundalk but he is too prone to mistakes in rash challenges he puts in (peno against bray on tue an example) if he composed himself a bit more he has potential. he is winning me over though with recent performances. as for the goal i cant comment as cant be sure was it over the line but i have a funny feeling it was. the best thing young noctor done was get sent off it lifted the team and the crowd. he was having a decent game too. keoghane looked a bit out of his depth at times but this was understandable for a young lad but is showing potential. great to see 110% commitment after seeing that weakened display on tue. well done to the lads they battled hard and have encouraged us once again

Quote Originally Posted by sligofan4ever View Post
    Your as bad as the RTE commentators pronouncing his name there CarrickFan seriously though I have to agree, its an encouring performance despite such a limited squad, as you said Cash has had his best game in a while but his passing is little to be admired . Does anyone else think Feeney is simply too lazy ? like Parkhouse when he started out, he never uses his height as advantage, Feeney has now had a year and half to show what he can do but i'm not impressed tbh. But looking at our squad, we have to use what we have, especially after losing Alemida today. I didnt mention it in my first post, but I think Keohane did very well for his first home start, hope he keeps it up as he has the potential to be a very good winger and full-back.
    Oh the irony!

Don't think feeney is too lazy tbh, just doesn't have the pace.

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers fan View Post
    Oh the irony!

Don't think feeney is too lazy tbh, just doesn't have the pace.

I deserved that .

Understandable about his pace, a big lad like himself wouldn't be that fast, but for a tall player like himself, he should've been able to even challenge Clive Delaney for headers. I loved seeing Raf win a header against Delaney, a wee player like himself winning a header against someone as tall as him, just shows how commited he is!. I do however think he does put in the effort he tries his best, but unfortunatly its not good enough.
    Coleman for Ireland

wish xmas would come soon so i could write for a goal-scorer

105 Posts
    Any chance anyone in the main stand got a photo of our display before the game?

Do any of ye know why Torpey didnt play ? played well up in the Brandywell when he came.
    Coleman for Ireland

Do any of ye know why Torpey didnt play ?
    Yes, personal reasons.

i really hope the players took encouragement from tonights performance and realise with that even with us missing a sack load of players that with a bit of good auld honest commitment and hard work they can do well. fair enough no points outta today but they won over us the fans and we are as proud of that game tonight as we were after they beat derry in the brandywell. keep trying lads and the luck will come. bring on cork and we can show them the fai tie will be a tough one.

And the our fans are better at penalties this time around, still lost with a Rovers keeper in goal though lol.
    That Derry goal keeper was just too damn good

Very enjoyable game, got stuck into them the second half and it was an excellent performance the players gave in the circumstances and they can be very proud of it, not too many clubs could contend with having 9 out. I think our lads give everything they had to give, thought they all played well last night and could have got the draw.

Apologies Sligofan4ever i know its Boco!!!..it was long day!..and nice one Roversfan for pulling him up on Almeida!!!!
    feeling very confident about Cork despite the drive down!!...Conor and Keane back i take it?..whats the story with Doherty?..i spotted Butler after the Galway game and he seemed to me to be still limping,doesnt look good.

Quote Originally Posted by rovers100% View Post
    a great show of belief and commitment from the lads, we had 9 excellent players out there tonight (ye can decide what 2 players i have omitted) we may not have done enough to deseerve a win but a point was not beyond us in fairness. the only real downside is we never really looked like we could score. poor raf he is a one man show he really deserves more goals. he made 2 decent efforts outta nothing tonight. i agree ventre had a terrific game he also was great against dundalk but he is too prone to mistakes in rash challenges he puts in (peno against bray on tue an example) if he composed himself a bit more he has potential. he is winning me over though with recent performances. as for the goal i cant comment as cant be sure was it over the line but i have a funny feeling it was. the best thing young noctor done was get sent off it lifted the team and the crowd. he was having a decent game too. keoghane looked a bit out of his depth at times but this was understandable for a young lad but is showing potential. great to see 110% commitment after seeing that weakened display on tue. well done to the lads they battled hard and have encouraged us once again

Fail to see what was good about Nocter been sent off, I have been on before about stupid yellow cards never mind red that we continually pick up and we do not have a squad, we are lucky to have one or two playable reserves sendings off are a luxury we cannot afford.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast