Page 7 of 12 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast

Thread: Bulgaria V Ireland (Pre Match Thread)

49 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Which station?

The impression I got from the papers is that none of the injuries was a serious concern. This'd be bad alright.

Dunne seems to be leading a rallying call for this game.
    heard on today fm that dunne was the worse of the lot. but every day we hear something different on these injuries. believe nothing till we see the team sheet.

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Which station?

The impression I got from the papers is that none of the injuries was a serious concern. This'd be bad alright.

Dunne seems to be leading a rallying call for this game.
    Paul Collins on Today FM said Dunne was the biggest worry of the 4 on those few bullitens where he bothered with the football, it was only the 'Irish and Britsh Lions' (to quote him!) and the GAA on the rest of them!

49 Posts
    that collins would wreck your head with his stupid put on culchie accent he does.

59 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jicked View Post
    That's is absolutely ludicrous. Yeah, of course experience has no part to play in a crunch, away international fixtures.

No manager in their right mind would forget about Miller's experience playing and training with some of the best players in the world, playing in international and Champions League games and having years of playing Premier League and Championship football behind him.
    But sure, throw John Joe O'Toole in there because he played well for the U-21s about six months ago and I'm sure he's learnt a lot under Kevin Blackwell (I noticed O'Toole wasn't even in the squad for the play off semi or final, was he injured?) You have to love armchair managers.
    Maybe he should bring back Ronnie Whelan or give Liam Brady a game, both have a wealth of experience. Although like Miller they are clubless and haven't played in a while, but it is an away international so experience is paramount.

The experience card is moot when you consider one of Irelands most experienced deep lying midfielders, who is still playing consistently for a big club, who have been promoted to the Prem, has not even been called up to a training squad under Trap. He might be 86 by the time the WC rolls around, but just because you play in a couple of qualifiers doesn't mean you have to travel in the squad for the WC, but Trap is too old, and/or stubborn to recall Carsley when he would do a job in the centre in a game like Saturdays.

And Irishfan_86 brought up Chris McCann, i was just rebutting his arguement.

Quote Originally Posted by hunt4the View Post
    complete and utter rubbish, how many years did we watch him embarrass himself in the green jersey, o'shea isnt fit to lace duffs boots imo
    Yeah Thierry Henry really rang rings around him the European Cup Final , Oh Wait no he didn't

Whatever about his failings in the past , he's been one of the best players under Trap which is all that matters

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by weldoninhio View Post
    Maybe he should bring back Ronnie Whelan or give Liam Brady a game, both have a wealth of experience. Although like Miller they are clubless and haven't played in a while, but it is an away international so experience is paramount.

The experience card is moot when you consider one of Irelands most experienced deep lying midfielders, who is still playing consistently for a big club, who have been promoted to the Prem, has not even been called up to a training squad under Trap. He might be 86 by the time the WC rolls around, but just because you play in a couple of qualifiers doesn't mean you have to travel in the squad for the WC, but Trap is too old, and/or stubborn to recall Carsley when he would do a job in the centre in a game like Saturdays.

And Irishfan_86 brought up Chris McCann, i was just rebutting his arguement.
    Maybe, just maybe, Trap has looked at Carsley and what he offers and decided he isn't the right option. I'd agree with him. It's nothing to do with his age, or perceived stubborness, Trap has shown himself to be quite flexible thus far and has been willing to bring through numerous new players. Just because he doesn't bring in one 34 year old suddenly he's stubborn?

And way to miss the point completely with your Whelan/Brady comments. Bizarrely I think you actually believe there'd be no harm in chucking out the XI players you've most recently heard on teletext or English club forums, regardless of their age, experience, knowledge of the Irish tactics style and formation or their actual footballing talents. Stan the Man went down the route of "that last result was sh**, sure wikipedia says that Jonathan Douglas/Anto Stokes/Wayne Henderson are getting their game, they must be way better than the muck we had out there..."

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/0604/ireland1.html

anyone wanting St. Ledger to start should be happy. this can only be good news if our other backs are fit.

59 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jicked View Post
    Maybe, just maybe, Trap has looked at Carsley and what he offers and decided he isn't the right option. I'd agree with him. It's nothing to do with his age, or perceived stubborness, Trap has shown himself to be quite flexible thus far and has been willing to bring through numerous new players. Just because he doesn't bring in one 34 year old suddenly he's stubborn?

And way to miss the point completely with your Whelan/Brady comments. Bizarrely I think you actually believe there'd be no harm in chucking out the XI players you've most recently heard on teletext or English club forums, regardless of their age, experience, knowledge of the Irish tactics style and formation or their actual footballing talents. Stan the Man went down the route of "that last result was sh**, sure wikipedia says that Jonathan Douglas/Anto Stokes/Wayne Henderson are getting their game, they must be way better than the muck we had out there..."
    So Trap knows something about Miller that the whole of the rest of the footballing world doesn't??

Maybe, just maybe, Trap has looked at Carsley and what he offers and decided he isn't the right option.

A few DVDs?? He has never been in a Trappaponi squad.

89 Posts
    Trap knew something the rest of the footballing world didn't about Whelan apparently. Caleb Folan was chucked on at a time most of us wouldn't have considered him a great option and did well against Italy. Just because Miller has not had his contract renewed at QPR doesn't mean he's on a footballing scrapheap, unwanted by any football club. The fact QPR is a completely bat**** crazy club and probably plan to replace him with a multi million pound premier league signing doesn't merit consideration?

As for Trap only seeing him on DVDs, how do you know Trap hasn't seen him live? Besides, you're basing your opinion on Carsley, John Joe O'Toole and numerous other second rate players on DVDs/TV aswell! Though I'd imagine Trapattoni is a better judge of what he's looking for when watching those same live games as you.

1,928 Posts
    I wonder are our training sessions getting more competitive or is it the pitch?
    Saipan wasn't this bad

2,796 Posts
    "The Hull full-back"

Shows you how up to speed the football editorial staff are at RTE

Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    I wonder are our training sessions getting more competitive or is it the pitch?
    Saipan wasn't this bad

You're right there geysir.......at least under Mick the lads were allowed to play in boots!
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

1,928 Posts
    Looks like some blood on McShane's shirt, I wonder to whom does is belong?

Can't imagine Jack having one of those carts on standby during a training session,
    never mind a chauffeur.

3,501 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Looks like some blood on McShane's shirt, I wonder to whom does is belong?
    You sure that's not just the eircom logo?

A close friend of one of the Ireland players on a Celtic forum says St Ledger is definitely starting. The only real doubt atm is McShane but injury not supposed to be as bad as is being reported.

2,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    A close friend of one of the Ireland players on a Celtic forum says St Ledger is definitely starting. The only real doubt atm is McShane but injury not supposed to be as bad as is being reported.
    I'd be inclinded to take his word for it after last time. It makes sense anyway (not like last time!!)

Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra 69er View Post
    Paul Collins on Today FM said Dunne was the biggest worry of the 4 on those few bullitens where he bothered with the football, it was only the 'Irish and Britsh Lions' (to quote him!) and the GAA on the rest of them!
    Paul Collins is a moron

Quote Originally Posted by DeLorean View Post
    I'd be inclinded to take his word for it after last time. It makes sense anyway (not like last time!!)
    Yeh I know the player he's pals with and he's been spot on with everything tbh. Pity it's nothing more than confirming what we all guessed anyway, that St Ledger will start. I think the probable team from a couple of days ago looks to be the one.

386 Posts
    Yeah it looks like St Ledger will start against Bulgaria. The tactical switch in Italy and starting with Foley against Nigeria suggests that Trap has lost confidence in McShane.

Quote Originally Posted by Scram View Post
    Message from Da: Get of d'internet and back to your fcek!n books or you won't be watching the game at all!

Page 7 of 12 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast