Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Sean Scannell F Grimsby Town b.1990

That was from the Frev-ning Standard right? Ya he came across well in that. Nice down to earth fella, that would obviously be his Irish influence.

It also had this black boxer(with blue eyes)who is in Rhiannas new video with the surname O'Shaugnassey.

Read in the Sunday World that Trap was at Selhurst Park yesterday to watch him. I've been critical of this (lack of) aspect of Trap's reign so fair play to him.
    Last edited by Jaysus; 30/10/2011 at 6:54 PM.

3,286 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jaysus View Post
    Read in the Sunday World that Trap was at Selhurst Park yesterday to watch him. I've been critical of this (lack of) aspect of Trap's reign so fair play to him.
    He was there to run the rule over Alex Pearce as well

Scored a 90th minute winner over Barnsley today to keep Palace within 6 points of the playoffs. Would be a huge achievement if they could make it that far.

162 Posts

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Nice for him to pin a team on the up.

2,681 Posts
    I was just posting yesterday in of of the "aftermath" threads that we need a big season from Scannell to prevent him from being becoming an unfulfilled talent. Disappointing that a much vaunted product of the CP academy is on the move to anyone outside the PL.

3,286 Posts
    Mate of mine is a Palace fan, said Scannell has been poor for a while now. When he first broke through, he was linked with Man City and Villa, now it's Huddersfield. No offence to the terriers, but it's some drop in terms of competitiveness

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Huddersfield were a big club in before the war.
    They are on the up, maybe the glory days are coming back?
    Last edited by tricky_colour; 23/06/2012 at 5:01 PM.

206 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tricky_colour View Post
    Huddersfield were a big club in before the war.
    They are on the up, maybe the glory days are coming back?
    We'd be happy with consolidation in the Championship right now! We do have a superb chairman though, and we're the epitome of a sleeping giant. In the 20s we were possibly the best in England and Herbert Chapman was manager.
    From reading the forums it seems that Palace fans are gutted to see Sean go, that he's a really really nice lad, but also that he needs to leave Palace to fulfill his potential. A case of needing to get out of London or something. A personal thing it seems. He'll be a huge asset to Town and is a serious bargain at 400k. They say he started last season well up front but was shunted out to the wing, where although he's fast, he doesn't possess the footballing brain to really play there. I suspect we might use him in a front three with Rhodes in the middle or as Rhodes' partner up front as Rhodes is not the quickest. Interesting season ahead for Scannell anyway and let's hope he does well, he's only 21 or so remember.

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    847 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Yard of Pace View Post
    Palace fans are gutted to see Sean go, that he's a really really nice lad, but also that he needs to leave Palace to fulfill his potential. A case of needing to get out of London or something. A personal thing it seems.
    Lifestyle choices? Or do we not know.

206 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CraftyToePoke View Post
    Lifestyle choices? Or do we not know.
    Not entirely sure, but some personal thing. He seems a stand-up guy so I don't care to delve any deeper.

A bit surprised that Scannell has essentially taken a step down.

504 Posts
    Palace have been crap for ages thou, sometimes you need a fresh start, and well, if hes being played out of position at Palace, why not take the chance to be the main man somewhere else and show what he can do.

Well he won't be the main man because Rhodes is, so it's likely he will still be playing wide, just in a more fluid formation you'd think.

504 Posts
    Well Rhodes isn't proven at that level at all, so its tough to know how he will adapt, there going to rely on the pair of them a lot thou ofc.

They're also after Ross McCormack, though there is apparently Premier League clubs interested in him.

206 Posts
    Town played Barcelona B last night. Scannell has been good, by all accounts, in pre-season so far. Very good in fact. Some reaction on DATM forum:
    [SIZE=2]Early doors I know, but this guy had me off my seat applauding more times than I can remember.

Pace, Power, Skill, Flair, Desire.

Good work!

Welcome to HTAFC!!! [/SIZE]
    L[SIZE=2]ooked like a world beater, so glad we've signed him, and playing him in more of an attacking winger role rather that striker looks pure quality[/SIZE]
    [SIZE=2]

Scannelldo!

I bet Barca will be keeping an eye on him!

Took the weewee out of thier lads on a number of occasions.

Looks very good. [/SIZE]

[SIZE=2]Watching him last night i thought "this lad can run defences ragged this seson" great signing. [/SIZE]

19. Thanks From:

Won a pen for Huddersfield today.

Just put Huddersfield 2-1 up at the doc's Leicester in the FA Cup. And what a goal by the sounds of it...

Shades of Ricky Villa as Huddersfield lead! A Leicester corner is cleared toSean Scannell who picks it up on the halfway line and sets off down the left. He manages to wriggle in between Paul Konchesky and Matt James before dinking the ball in. Wigan, get yourselves ready for a trip to Huddersfield...

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast