I heard that Cookie did not want to risk Mauro Almeida on the ground in Bray, as it was too hard from all the good weather. I think cookie knows he needs good to soft going or softer to be seen at his best, will jump a hurdle some day. Maybe a a rain dance should be held 30 minutes before kick off in Mooneys on Friday night?
Last edited by Rovers Maniac; 03/06/2009 at 10:17 PM.
I was awfully disappointed with that show the other night for many different reasons. But tbh it really didn't shock me.
When you think there were over 100 of us fans at the game, probably @70ish travelled from sligo and Cookie has the cheek to bring 13 players along with him??? Its screams of amateurism & plain auld not giving a rats @rse. If things are really that bad, i ask why not register some of those die hard fans who i see on the terraces at every game (the fit enough ones) and stick them on the bloody bench? At least they would give it 200% to get the chance to play for their beloved club. At least you might see some bloody heart instead of a fat muppet like Morrison strolling around waiting to pick up his pay check on thursday evening.
I think all of us who bothered to travel to the game are entitled to answers seeing as Cookie wasn't bothered ringing up 3/4 more lads to get them to travel. I'm very annoyed he had the cheek to do that.
Pitch was perfect. Best I've seen in the league this year. We could take a leaf out of Bray's book on that.
We could take a leaf out of Bray's book on a couple of other things as well.
Ever notice, when Rovers win a game, the corresponding thread barely makes it to 2 pages, yet when we get beaten there's alot more pages...
Just a thought..
Mauro's injury is still taking a hell of alot longer to heal than it should.
Last edited by Rovers1; 04/06/2009 at 12:44 PM.
woops yeah, missed the Pats and Dundalk threads.
its life, bad news is far more discussable than good news. look at the 6 o clock news a lot of good stuff happens every day in ireland but bad newsis far more debatable. As for mauro injury and bringing 1 sub surely we the supporters are entitled to an answer the club is owned by the community after all and its us who keep it going. the club is quick enough to come to us when fund raising is needed and we gladly contribute. would a simple explanation be too much. no one here is criticising cookie and we are all in agree he is one fo the most talented managers to grace the showgrounds and it saddens me we cant give him the budget he so sadly needs because he could easily turn us int a title challenging squad. if i won the euro millions i would give him an open checkbook !!!
They really were glory days. Was like a real football ground back then. I don't know how many used to pack in there but it felt like thousands!!
The atmosphere was electric compared to these days I don't care what anyone says. I think the novelty when the floodlights came in added to the buzz.
Happy times. Fair play to the Forza boys for all their good work these days. The shogies would be a dull place now without them.
Id be very careful about giving cook a big budget, He re-signed an injured
Mauro at the pre season, Butler, Morrisson and Parkhouse. Also take into account Cash and Doherty. We have some bunch of hard workers there ,if that is the type of players he wants at this club we have some future. Between all of these players we have not got one decent gamefrom them.
Butler was already signed for this season before he had the car crash, he wasn't "re-signed at the pre-season". Parkhouse and Mauro* have been more or less injured for most of this season, hardly Cook's fault. As for Morrison, yes he took a risk there and it doesn't seem to have paid off yet but on the other hand, if Morrisson turns good people will be singing Cook's praises.
*Assuming he is injured but that's another matter.
Parkhouse played very well V Pats and did his job v Fingal. Fair enough they're not Derry or Bohs, but he got injured at the worst possible time, for himself and the club.
Jesus christ, was he supposed to look into the future and know those players would get injured? Yes, he has signed some average players, but in this league, especially with a tight budget, that is inevitable. As Sligoman said, butler and almeida and parkhouse have had a tough time with injuries. Butler and almeida were top notch last season, and parkhouse seemed to be coming into a bit of form recently. Morrison no doubt has the ability, but I agree just has to work a bit harder. He has shown glimpses of brilliance. Let's hope he can up his game. Then look at other players cooke has brought in like boco and Keane. He certainly hasn't signed any manson/choice/julian type players.
We do have a good squad. Unfortunately we have been unlucky with injuries. I suppose we can't complain as we were very lucky in that regard last season. I think our biggest problem is we lack urgency at times. Also when we go behind the heads seem to drop. Pats has been the only league game this season where we have gone behind but came back to salvage something.
I don't feel we should bring in more than 1 new player. I'm sure things must be tight financially as it is. I think we have enough to avoid the drop with the squad we have at the moment. If we bring in new players, we're still unlikely to break into the top4 (unless bohs/cork or someone else go tits up).