Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Bray on Tuesday

question is can we keep him sligoman...... a few in england may come knocking. hopefully july we can bring in a few players to shake the lads up a bit. in fairness the starting 11 know they are almost guaranteed a game no matter how theey perform as squad is so small

Wink

Quote Originally Posted by Rory H View Post
    Love the way the Galway/Dundalk wins were just flukes now.

We're gona go out 1st round of Europe?? You don't even know who we're playing yet!

I agree, we're nowhere near as good as least year. We're in a battle, the bottom six is just that, we're well capable of finishing top of that group though.

One of the most disappointing things tonight for me was our support. 100 fans there tonight, 5 singing. You only hear the other 95 when we're losing, Have great respect for people going like, but it would just be nice if they got behind the team in a more vocal way.
    In fairness mate i woz 1 of the other 95 ther and i dont think ya can say you only hear them when we lose we were obviously just there supporting the team we love,i have nithing but respect for ye lads that sing and put on a great display but some of us who are there just go to encourage the team and i like to think if were not doing it vocally we are just doing it by been there and letting the lads know were behind them. I have been following rovers for nearly 25 years now and i remember when 100 was nearly all we would get in showgies never mind a midweek away trip and just because some of us who go dont get involved in singing is no way a need for criticising.
    With regards to the game i think we were unfortunate to concede when we did and if we had gotten to half time we would have had a good chance of going on to win the game although in fairness bray probably did deserve the win because we were so poor in 2nd half

Quote Originally Posted by rovers100% View Post
    question is can we keep him sligoman...... a few in england may come knocking. hopefully july we can bring in a few players to shake the lads up a bit. in fairness the starting 11 know they are almost guaranteed a game no matter how theey perform as squad is so small
    Question is how do we (a)attract decent players to a struggling club in the west of Ireland and (b)pay the transfer fee and wages for these players?
    I agree with you that is what we need to do and the squad has to be "shaken up" as you put it, but it's a tough task in reality.

Not good at all lastnight, but on the bright side as regards our league position at least Galway, Pat's and Dundalk all lost aswell!
    The fight is won or lost far away from witnesses - behind the lines, in the gym, and out there on the road, long before I dance under those lights.
    Muhammad Ali

Roy Keane is still a pri*k!

Gavin Peers is ridiculously under-rated. He wins every ball and is totally committed, unlike plenty others in the team.
    Don't think he is under-rated by any Rovers fans.

I have been [quote=1st time post;1171309]In fairness mate i woz 1 of the other 95 ther and i dont think ya can say you only hear them when we lose we were obviously just there supporting the team we love,i have nithing but respect for ye lads that sing and put on a great display but some of us who are there just go to encourage the team and i like to think if were not doing it vocally we are just doing it by been there and letting the lads know were behind them.

i also was one and some fans and is just not into singing, i dont think it makes us any less commited as fans as the forza lads. i work every 2nd weekend and for most of the start of the season the home games were on my weekend on. i had to pay colleagues a days wages to work the staurday for me which is 250 euro and then drive down to sligo and back up to dublin to work the sunday. it was costing me 300 euros to go to the first 5 or 6 home games. remember we are in a recession and i have no qualms about paying this to see the bot o red and im sure there are many more like me but it saddens me to see my commitment when some players are given a great chance to play football as a pro and is not willing to put in a simular effort.

Quote Originally Posted by dong2008 View Post
    Question is how do we (a)attract decent players to a struggling club in the west of Ireland and (b)pay the transfer fee and wages for these players?
    I agree with you that is what we need to do and the squad has to be "shaken up" as you put it, but it's a tough task in reality.
    It has been a good few years since we payed a transfer fee for any player moving to Rovers. Free Transfers and out of contract UK based players is the bread and butter of our squad.

[QUOTE=rovers100%;1171430]I have been
    Quote Originally Posted by 1st time post View Post
    In fairness mate i woz 1 of the other 95 ther and i dont think ya can say you only hear them when we lose we were obviously just there supporting the team we love,i have nithing but respect for ye lads that sing and put on a great display but some of us who are there just go to encourage the team and i like to think if were not doing it vocally we are just doing it by been there and letting the lads know were behind them.

i also was one and some fans and is just not into singing, i dont think it makes us any less commited as fans as the forza lads. i work every 2nd weekend and for most of the start of the season the home games were on my weekend on. i had to pay colleagues a days wages to work the staurday for me which is 250 euro and then drive down to sligo and back up to dublin to work the sunday. it was costing me 300 euros to go to the first 5 or 6 home games. remember we are in a recession and i have no qualms about paying this to see the bot o red and im sure there are many more like me but it saddens me to see my commitment when some players are given a great chance to play football as a pro and is not willing to put in a simular effort.

I agree Rovers100% and 1st time post, for those of us in our 30's plus our constant singing days are past us really.

When we were singing all the time at games, for me it was the Shed, were moshes, tickertape and surges to the old fence were a regular home match occurence there were plenty of older lads in their late twenties early 30's who didn't sing along with us, its just the way a supporting life goes and doesnt dissapate our support for the club one bit.

Indeed Eddie Annand used to climb up the fence regularly at the Shed end to celebrate with the Supporters when the fence surges happened.

Rory - What would you rather that just the five lads who sing go to the games and the other 95 stay at home rather than attend in their Rovers gear and shout encouragement ?

Good song from the Bray lads.............."we only sing when we are winning!!!"........

Not that i think Sligo were terrible last night, they played some nice stuff at times. But that is the worst Sligo preformance against Bray in some time.

Only to bring 2 subs was just shocking. Not only does it make Sligo look like a schoolboy club but it also makes the league look bad. There is not ba hope in hell that Sligo only had 13 fit and available players in the whole club. What is the point in having an A or U20s team if Cook is not willing to at least put them on the bench for match day experience?

O'Connor, Massey, Webster; Coughlan, Shields; Jake Kelly, all started for us last night and have worked their way up the ranks at our club. Mulroy and Kane were on the bench and have also worked their way through the ranks. Flood, Tresson and Knight are other injured who did not make the sqaud last night.

Does Cook really expect Sligo fans to believe that his entire combined U20s and A teams were unavailable last night ? I'd be fuming if Gormley ever put a team out with 2 subs on the bench.

surely we have some sligo/leitrim players who can make the step up. i would actually like to see the rovers playing select xi of sligo/leitrim maybe we could see is any young fella up to standard. also why have we an A team if they are not even up to the standard of warming the bench !!!

Quote Originally Posted by 1st time post View Post
    just because some of us who go dont get involved in singing is no way a need for criticising.
    I dont think he's criticising people who dont sing at games 1TP. It was a bit frustrating the 4 or 5 of us singing out of 100. I dont really understand people who just sit at games. Fair enough if you're a neutral, but there's nothing like getting behind your team vocally. I respect people who don't want to sing, but i've hear a few stupid reasons like 'I'd feel stupid, everyone would be looking at me'. We've been looking stupid for years now... join us, it's great And at the end of the say, chanting and singing at a game is only a bit of craic, and it definetly makes a difference to the team!

in fairness this threat not really about support. as far as our support goes we all know the forza do a wonderful job but the normal joe soaps who go along but dont sing make up 90% of home attendance so not fair to criticise them. this thread is about the shambles last nite of being beat 3-1 by an inferior team in bray(no disrespect but we are top four club now) and turning up with one outfield sub !!! this may open a can of worms and im sure somone will dissagree but this is the first time since king rat seanie connors took over that i feel as a team we are not progressing. we are stagnant or even going backwards a little. only my opinion but i feel it is a harsh truth from being at every league game bar first 2. now i must get ready for the onslaught of people telling me im mad and not a real supporter lol

Quote Originally Posted by BrayUnknowns View Post
    Not that i think Sligo were terrible last night, they played some nice stuff at times. But that is the worst Sligo preformance against Bray in some time.

Only to bring 2 subs was just shocking. Not only does it make Sligo look like a schoolboy club but it also makes the league look bad. There is not ba hope in hell that Sligo only had 13 fit and available players in the whole club. What is the point in having an A or U20s team if Cook is not willing to at least put them on the bench for match day experience?

O'Connor, Massey, Webster; Coughlan, Shields; Jake Kelly, all started for us last night and have worked their way up the ranks at our club. Mulroy and Kane were on the bench and have also worked their way through the ranks. Flood, Tresson and Knight are other injured who did not make the sqaud last night.

Does Cook really expect Sligo fans to believe that his entire combined U20s and A teams were unavailable last night ? I'd be fuming if Gormley ever put a team out with 2 subs on the bench.
    Well said. The more I think of it the more it doesn't make sense. I think the fans who were at the game and paid their hard earned money deserve to know why this happened.
    I think sometimes fans are a bit scared to question Cook after he spat the dummy out of the pram before the season started and they're afraid he'll bolt again. That's all good and well but we needed to make more changes than we did. Things were obviously not working, Feeney and Morrisson were about as useful as a chocolate teapot on a Summer's day and we had only one option on the bench???
    Hard to explain.

That really was depressing. Don't think we deserved anything from the game tbh. Bray were getting in behind our defense much too easily. Really, their first goal was the killer. You could visibly see the lads heads' drop when the equaliser went in. We just aren't showing enough fight (obviously players like peers, o'grady, raf etc are giving their all, but all 11 players should be goving 100% and that's simply not the case).

Quote Originally Posted by ARooney28 View Post

No talking at all on the pitch.
    I really couldn't believe, that at 2-1 down, there was nobody doing a bit of encouraging. I hardly heard one word from any player during the game. No urgency whatsoever.

I suppose we are missing a few players, and have a small squad as it is. Let's hope we can pick it up for derry. Often our good performances come after a stinker, hopefully that's the case on Friday.

Not really much Cook could do with the players he had. With Rommy and Parkhouse out, what else could he do? Feeney was'nt great but, Cook is hardly gonna play Feeney/Ryan/O' Grady on the left and put Morrison up front. Ya, Keohane was there but when experience (Feeney) is there, Paul was'nt going to start Danny.

does anyone know or will we be told where was noctor, mcloughlin, thorpey. why release mc tiernan ? even if he rarely turned up for training surely he can still be a squad member. many semi pro teams do this anyways. is our A team and u-20's that poor that they cant even make the bench ? if so is there any point continuing with the teams as they wasting more money the club has not got. why was curran released ? on how many occasions could we have used him this year. surely there are at least 1 or 2 sligo/leitrim players who could make the step up if only to warm the bench !!!

Bray

It was really hard to watch the game just slip away -one sub on the bench has to effect the players .What do they think when we can only have a single sub-never mind competition for places -it just sends the wrong message.
    Love the Rovers all you want - I still worry we are back to the bad old days just waiting for the crash.I do not doubt there are lads there who play their socks off but when confidence goes we will be in trouble.
    Reading the stuff about Europe from the Chairman -I hope I am wrong but I do not need see 2700 tickets being sold for a game against an unknown bunch fro Estonia.The mad fans like us will be there and some more but those are serious numbers to get in the gate.
    Last point to get of my chest-Cookie has done a great job -last year was top class to get what he did from the squad .But when he said he was going we should have respected it and moved on.Why? Because like it or not he is a professional anbdwhen the gping gets rough there is a read made excuse --funds low /start of season etc.Sorry if it seems unfair but it will always be in the background if we hit a crisis.

Going with a depleted bench requires an explaination from the Manager. I don't understand it, but without an explaination I will be drawing my conclusions, right or wrong.
    "Overwhelmed"

151 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by showgies View Post
    Going with a depleted bench requires an explaination from the Manager. I don't understand it, but without an explaination I will be drawing my conclusions, right or wrong.
    Your conclusions will be right, Showgies, and thank God the legend that is Sean Connor will be shortly out of work and able to come home and save us from extinction,

Smile

after reading all the above posts my heart has sank. i do agree that an explanation should be given regarding the bench. maybe there is a perfectly good one but to stop all the speculation i feel the supporters should be informed. i am also a bit concerned about the situation regarding mauro almedia. for the last two games we have being informed that a late fitness test was being carried out on him obviously when he did'nt appear on the team sheet he was unable to play. however we are not being told what exactly the problem is. my question is mauro training with the team or is he able to train at all and then on the eve before a match a late fitness test is carried out in the hope that he may start and last 90 mins. we all know how great a player he is and how invaluable he would be to the squod and god knows peersy needs help but i feel as supporters we are not being fully informed. for instance there is no mention of his progress in the champion , sligo post or weekender this week. is he ever going to play for rovers again. if he is carrying a serious injury at least wwe should be told. i pray to god that he makes it back and i am not doubting paul in any way but there needs to be better communication. the one comment paul cook always made about his team is that they will always give 120% and i have to say he has always carried out on his promise. from some of the above posts you would be left thinking that there has being a change in his mindset. i am trying at all times to view everything as an outsider (removing the emotion) we have a small but talented squod who give 120 percent. there have being a few mistakes made this season but now that our backs are to the wall over the next few weeks lets all (due to players either away or suspended) think positive and support the team 100% and if we could get a result in cork well what would that do for our season. before the last two games (both away) if we said we could get 3 points everybody would have being happy. and what did we get. we all know the answer. thats history now lets focus on the derry game (our backs are to the wall) and be positive

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast