Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

Thread: 4 Jackeens and a Racist

Originally posted by SÓCcfc
    As for the Republician Party. FF stands for the re-uniting of Ireland through the ballet box but no armalite in the other hand
    I note the , but I still think you should add "anymore" to the end of that....

Originally posted by dahamsta
    That doesn't prove either of those statements, and the suggestion that it does is frankly the response I'd expect from a Star reader.
    I hate to be petty but I read the Star. It's by far the best daily in Ireland and is the only National paper that consistently challenges the government, especially the excellent Terry McGeehan. And it's National League coverage is second to none.

Better than reading the Irish Times which is only concerned with liberal middle class issues like Carrickmines Castle or where to buy lemongrass in Ranelagh. And to be fair to the Star it hasn't ever been racist or xenophobic to my knowledge. As for the Evening Herald.....

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

521 Posts
    To be fair, I haven't read the Star in a few years, matter of fact I rarely read newspapers at all these days, except online. All I can say is that back when I did read a newspaper regularly, the Star was worse only to the Sun. Even the Sport was an improvement, what with the decent T&A an' all.

BTW, I'm not an IT reader, for the simple reason that they charge for their content online and don't consider it worth it. This is what I read, so if you want to pigeonhole me in revenge for my horrendous statement, at least pigeonhole me as a geek!

(Yes, the Guardian is there. But so is CNN! )

Last edited by dahamsta; 20/01/2004 at 6:53 PM.

Originally posted by dahamsta
    Even the Sport was an improvement, what with the decent T&A an' all.
    That's always been the Star's problem. How many times can you publish pictures of the same 3 Irish "super" models at the launch of a new soft drink/mobile phone/ice cream. It gets boring after a while.

But Conor its the Chicken and the Egg.

Why were they shaking all these peoples hands, why were they involved in talks etc.

Because of the very fact that, they along with others, had the said private armies and they drew up an agreement which was ment to have the armies disbanded by now.

Yea Mandela, was terrorist then gave it up and joined mainstrem, didnt keep his fingers in two pies.

Originally posted by Conor74
    I don't know for certain if the majority of people were subjected to British rule against their will. I mean, I thought that Home Rule, but very much remaining in the Commonwealth, was the popular choice before 1916, and that rebellion itself initially was extremely unpopular amongst the Irish. I stand open to correction though. I do accept that the actions of those in 1916 was much more romantic and heroic, the whole idea of blood sacrifice and all that, but I find it hard to accept that Padraig Pearse legacy can be very easily distinguished from, say, Bobby Sands 20 years ago.

I'm not sure about this whole 'private army' thing too. I know it's always wheeled out by the main parties when they want to do a hatchet job on Sinn Fein, to keep them in their place as some fringe party. But where was all this concern about 'private armies' when Gerry Adams was meeting with Major or Blair, or shaking hands with Bertie Ahern, or Dick Spring, or when the hand of time fell on certain peoples shoulders. They didn't seem too anxious to raise the matter than, it may have spoiled the photoshoots and the soundbites. Similarly, should we as a nation take a stand on principle against leaders like Nelson Mandela who got to power on the strength of private armies and terrorism? (Again, I am not conceding that SF have a 'private army'). I just think that if SF were good enough for years of negotiations, are good enough for their constituents, are good enough to hold positions of some importance in the Assembly and are a legitimate political party then we shouldn't place this artificial barrier in the way. Let's face it, if it, if all politicians were subject to extreme scrutiny for breaking the law, it wouldn't shock me if FF lost a few more faces...and we'd lose the only truly Socialist TD in Ireland...
    Wasn't Home Rule, a peaceful means to an end? After all the War of Independence effectively only brought us to the same stage. Also the Home Rulers did have the majority of seats, in the 26 counties at the very least. They were then over taken by the old Shinners, particularly in the "Put them in to get them out" campaigns...
    On law breakers, I think you're mixing the issues. This debate/ argument is about how SF are funded, not about law breaking TD's....

Back then the majority of the people in question were subject to British rule against their will. Today in Northern Ireland the majoirty of people are subject to British rule simply because it is their will. Of course that doesnt excuse what went on but in modern Ireland that is the reality.
    The majority of people in Ireland is what should matter, not the majority in a statelet invented to suit the powers that were.

As for the Sinn Féin argument, I wouldn't vote for them and i still don't know whether to trust them, but they're making the right noises and the others aren't. neither FF or FG have any right to criticise Sinn Féin as both had their own private armies. Oh yeah, and at least Sinn Féin realise the Civil War is over

Originally posted by Éanna
    The majority of people in Ireland is what should matter, not the majority in a statelet invented to suit the powers that were.

As for the Sinn Féin argument, I wouldn't vote for them and i still don't know whether to trust them, but they're making the right noises and the others aren't. neither FF or FG have any right to criticise Sinn Féin as both had their own private armies. Oh yeah, and at least Sinn Féin realise the Civil War is over
    That post is 80 years to late. Should? Yea perhaps thats the way it should be but its not that way.

Just another point Éanna has reminded our with his ramblings of the past, they shouldnt even be allowed call themselves Sinn Féin and claim to be the oldest political party in Ireland. Provisional Sinn Féin is what they are.

FF long realise the Civil War is over, sure the freestaters are gone now, almost

FG RIP

Its probably not coincidence that a PD demagogue should be shouting so loudly about another party at this time.
    His own gruppen is about to be subjected to a coup d'etat.

Parlon, the man who rampaged about the country looking for every type of state support and EU subsidy going and then suddenly realised that he was really a lifelong champion of the "free market" all along, has enrolled 800 other fellow slurry surfers in to the division. This is only slightly less than 50% of the entire membership of the scum, so he now effectively will control the vote at their next rally. He can get the voting rules changed to suit himself, so that he can choose to become either the Fuhrer or be the "kingmaker".

I look forward to the kapitan bleating long and loudly about that!...

That post is 80 years to late. Should? Yea perhaps thats the way it should be but its not that way.

Just another point Éanna has reminded our with his ramblings of the past, they shouldnt even be allowed call themselves Sinn Féin and claim to be the oldest political party in Ireland. Provisional Sinn Féin is what they are.

FF long realise the Civil War is over, sure the freestaters are gone now, almost

FG RIP
    Agree on the Provisional SF particularly as their founder supported the treaty!

On FG RIP, what a great day that will be for democracy when there is in effect no opposition government possible. Surely even you FF heads can't see it as a good thing if we're left with FF, Labour and a load of smaller parties/ independents??? Mind you, McDowell will just put his take over plan into action...

Originally posted by Macy
    Mind you, McDowell will just put his take over plan into action...
    As I already outlined, it looks like the kapitan is yesterdays man.
    I guess that whole climbing up lamp posts thing was a little too proletarian for your average nazi......

At the end of the day I hope Nwanko gets his work permit!!!!!

Originally posted by Eric
    At the end of the day I hope Nwanko gets his work permit!!!!!
    But does Peadar?

Originally posted by Macy
    Agree on the Provisional SF particularly as their founder supported the treaty!

On FG RIP, what a great day that will be for democracy when there is in effect no opposition government possible. Surely even you FF heads can't see it as a good thing if we're left with FF, Labour and a load of smaller parties/ independents??? Mind you, McDowell will just put his take over plan into action...
    I donno Macy is it good for democracy to have two parties that are so similiar from a policy point of view and if they merged tomorrow they could well rule for long long time. If PDs/Green/Lab were to cut up FG btween them it could make things more interesting.

Imagne a Collation of the Unwilling of PDs/Greens/Lab and a few Ind. like Jackie Healy Rae. Be worth it for commedy value alone.

I donno Macy is it good for democracy to have two parties that are so similiar from a policy point of view and if they merged tomorrow they could well rule for long long time. If PDs/Green/Lab were to cut up FG btween them it could make things more interesting.

Imagne a Collation of the Unwilling of PDs/Greens/Lab and a few Ind. like Jackie Healy Rae. Be worth it for commedy value alone.
    Well I would argue that FF are the party that fúcks everything up.... For the most part those in the cabinet are right wing, but then you've centerists(?) and a few that are on left... What holds them together? The need for power and the civil war....

I hope the Healy Rae family get fúcked out by the electorate - I cringe everytime he's on the tele/ radio, and the impression of the backward country he/they give off*....

*Cue Conor defend his fellow Kerryman, and his former FF buddy

I have no time for JHR as a politican. I have canvassed against him and we nearly caused an upset last time out.

But still, it's a funny county. Remember we elected a milllionaire 'socialist' for years...
    How can this be he had no money to buy shares?

But still, it's a funny county. Remember we elected a milllionaire 'socialist' for years...
    And ye replaced him with a gun runner who is a thug.
    AND, Ye also elected a tax dodger who is a liar
    I know which one I'd choose from that bunch....
    Last edited by patsh; 22/01/2004 at 10:29 AM.

Forgot the most objectionable bit about Spring of course.

Feckin' egg chaser
    That counts against anyone in my book, but it's still not as bad as
    a feckin' leg breaking, kneecapping thug.

I think its absolutely disgusting that a convicted gun runner gets chosen ahead of someone who tried to do his best to stop bloodshed and the loss of life......

No matter what about Spring, you can never say that supplying the means to kill, maim and injure people is on his CV.
    [SIZE=1](off the rugger field that is, )[/SIZE]

Well said. the only tangible difference between FF and FG IMO is what side their granddads were on 80 years ago. The sooner we havea real opposition in this country the better, as things stand none of them are worth a vote, Irish politics needs a breath of fresh air. And if FF did swallow up FG (lets face it, that a lot more likely than a 'merger') who'd notice- its not like anyone would miss enda kenny!

I know what you're thinking Eanna...Micheal Martin for Taoiseach...right? right?
    No, I was thinking Micheal and all the other wasters in Dáil Eireann for a firing squad to be honest. there's about 3 or 4 people in there who are possibly worth saving,the rest of them are feckless leeches

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast