Page 7 of 10 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast

Thread: Weekend updates

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers fan View Post
    Call me crazy, but I think it's a bit harsh that people are calling for Connor to be sacked. Ok, he is an arrogant muppet but look at the facts. Dundlk are a newly promoted side. People's expectations were too high for Dundalk this year. Just because he brought a few big names like turner and georgie does not mean they have a massive budget. There was pressure on connor before tonight's game, despite the fact that they were level on points with us going into tonight's game. Personally, I would have expected us to finish ahead of dundalk in the league, and I'm not calling for Paul Cook to be sacked.

Added to that, Connor has put together an almost completely new team, surely he should given time (at least half a season) to get them to where he wants them to be.

I think Connor did a good job with us. people harp on about a big budget in the 1st divison, but we still won it, that's all that matters. The other bull that people spin is that he fecked up our youth system. What bloody youth system? Name 3 players that came from in the 5 years before connor took over. I can't name one. He didn't do a bad job at bohs either imo.

If I was a dundalk fan at the start of the season, I would have jumped at a 5th or 6th place finish, and that is still attainable for them.

I suppose the fact that he is such a <insert abuse here> really has gotten in his way. Don't get me wrong, I'll be delighted if he does get the sack, I just don't think it will have been necessarily the right decision. Will be very hard to see him get another job in the premier division if he does get sacked.

Oh and as for the rovers fans who said we had warned dundalk fans and they wouldn't listen - what could they do? Obviously they had to back him, there would have been no point in saying "yeah yis are right".

I await the slating I'm gonna get over this post
    I can see your point RF, but tbh it is clear that he does have a huge budget, when see players like O'Brien, O'Callaghan, Rogers, Singh, Mansaram, Turner, Burns all signing. They will all command high wages regardless of how good or bad we think they are.

However you're right in saying the Dundalk fans expectations were way too high. Even if you look at the four ex-Rovers lads signed, with the exception of Burns, all of them came mid-table with both Bohs and ourselves. THey don't turn into title-challengers over night, and there's a reason they were playing in teams that achieved mid-table.

The youth system though, in 2005 we got to a FAI youth cup final I believe and where are the players now? I mean you would think the odds were at least one would have surely got through to PL football here, but no. And I would safely say it's because Connor did fairly feck up our Youth system....

Sligo Rovers: Terry O’Malley, Emlyn Mulligan (John Gordon 54), Simon Kelly, Sean Kelly, Colin Gaule, Brian McMorrow, Mikey Creane, Gary Curran, John Maughan, John Bellew, John Scanlon

A few of them are actually back with our A Team now...

But I think you're right in saying that Connors main problem is his arrogance. He's got to stop talking himself up and really just get on with the job...

Quote Originally Posted by Red&White Rover View Post
    I can see your point RF, but tbh it is clear that he does have a huge budget, when see players like O'Brien, O'Callaghan, Rogers, Singh, Mansaram, Turner, Burns all signing. They will all command high wages regardless of how good or bad we think they are.
    What in your opinion is a huge budget?

FORMERLY: City till I Die Aaron's Avatar
    74 Posts
    Lets be honest here, Dundalk have just come back into the PD after years in the wilderness. They have a totally new squad of players. It dosnt matter what size their budget is, that squad will take time to gel together.

To call for a managers head at this stage is ludicrous. Its fair to say injuries havnt exacly helped Dundalk, plus the fact that Michael Collins was denied registration. Give him time and he will turn them around, he done it with Sligo and i'm sure he can do it with Dundalk

Thumbs down

Quote Originally Posted by Umberside View Post
    Dave Mulcahy was involved as well, not his first time losing the plot.
    To my knowledge, that's the first red card of his LOI career, which spans almost a decade now, a very fair player.

Count yourselves lucky he allowed his contract with City to be terminated, and didn't go looking for money. Every penny counts.
    Keep it real

Looks like Tallaght Stadium isn't sold out tonight, and tickets are on sale from 5.30.

Can anyone tell me if it's likely to sell out before the game starts? Should I be ok to get a ticket at the ground?

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by brianw82 View Post
    Looks like Tallaght Stadium isn't sold out tonight, and tickets are on sale from 5.30.

Can anyone tell me if it's likely to sell out before the game starts? Should I be ok to get a ticket at the ground?
    I think the last time they were on sale on the day they sold out before kick off. Hard to know today, I'd imagine a lot of people have headed for the beach don't know if many will want to leave their sun traps to watch the football.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

57 Posts
    On our game we were poor. Bohs deserved their win and fairplay to their fans who travelled in big numbers. From my view in the shed they were treated poorly by the police/stewards. There seemed to be more of them then bohs fans at the time. Maybe it wasn't that bad though.
    Apparently now you can get roughly manhandled and ejected from Turners Cross for accidentally getting a tiny little bit of water from a bottle bought in the shop inside the ground on a steward - done whilst celebrating a Bohs goal by jumping up and down with said bottle in hand...
    Kom Igen, FCK...

Quote Originally Posted by passinginterest View Post
    I think the last time they were on sale on the day they sold out before kick off. Hard to know today, I'd imagine a lot of people have headed for the beach don't know if many will want to leave their sun traps to watch the football.
    You're probably right, I'd say. Those damned housewives are ruining football.

I'll take a chance on it.

291 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by passinginterest View Post
    Hard to know today, I'd imagine a lot of people have headed for the beach.
    There's no game on at Terryland tonight surely?

Quote Originally Posted by thischarmingman View Post
    Mervue United.
    Last edited by Umberside; 30/05/2009 at 4:38 PM.
    I'm a 23yr old right-handed heterosexual who drinks milk and likes democracy. - dcfcsteve knows me well

433 Posts
    Sat, May 30, 2009
    19:00
    Mervue United Vs Limerick FC
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

Quote Originally Posted by thischarmingman View Post
    Mervue United.
    Quote Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
    Sat, May 30, 2009
    19:00
    Mervue United Vs Limerick FC
    And thischarmingman's comment goes flying over both yer heads.

Official Attendance at Turners Cross is 5,388.
    when was the last turners x had a crowd like this??

115 Posts
    Waterford: Devine; A Carey, Browne, Murray, Woodgate; McCarthy, Kearney, Fitzgerald, Waters; Cummins, Kiely - subs: Burns, Dunphy, Mulcahy, P Carey, Grincell
    Wexford: Holden, Russell, White, Breen, O'Loughlin, P Rossiter, C Sinnott, Malone, Vickers, Sheahan, Doyle - subs: Dempsey, Kehoe, S Sinnott, Fitzgerald, G McCurtin
    Last edited by stann; 30/05/2009 at 6:09 PM.
    more bass

115 Posts
    Youths 1 up
    Gavin Doyle free kick 27 mins
    more bass

220 Posts
    Is there any websites where I can keep an eye on the games tonight. extratime seems to have shut down for the night!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Town Legend View Post
    Is there any websites where I can keep an eye on the games tonight. extratime seems to have shut down for the night!!!
    http://futbol24.com/f24_livenow/Live...38&submit.y=13

http://www.ustream.tv/channel/SRFCTV
    Who Cares?!

115 Posts
    Blues 0-1 Yutes half-time
    more bass