Quote Originally Posted by HulaHoop View Post
    A nice excuse for Dundalk to get a wage off the bill
    Thought the same thing myself.

427 Posts
    [quote=Dalymountrower;1167124]John 83 states
    "Perhaps you meant to say that an employee's right to have his say on an incident before being sacked is sacrosanct. I'd not argue it, beyond to say that I think it's a technicality here for which he'll get minor redress in court." ]

As someone who works in the Labour Law area I can assure all that the employee's right to defence is not sacrosanct (cases involving violence, serious misconduct etc can and do result in instant dismissal). It is however considered best practice to allow the employee a chance to defend his/her actions. Where the right to defence is bypassed the onus would be on the employer to prove why it was deemed necessary to do so. There is plenty of case law from the EAT and/or Labour Court to back up this analysis.

Were he to take a case under Contract Law (ie breach of contract by Dundalk) the club would, again, have to justify the decision to unilaterally terminate the contract.either way it seems to me that Dundalk will have a case to prove.

Oh so its ok for kids to see all the scumbag dundalk fans causing hassel after the matches home and away,lets be honest he showed a bit of his jocks end of ,its a money saving job by dundalk

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by disabledrog View Post
    Oh so its ok for kids to see all the scumbag dundalk fans causing hassel after the matches home and away,lets be honest he showed a bit of his jocks end of ,its a money saving job by dundalk
    Maybe I have missed some posts here - I was not aware that anyone had advocated that a hooligan element (be they from Drogheda, Dundalk or anywhere else) were "ok"!

Quote Originally Posted by Black and White View Post
    No Anto Flood was sacked by us 2 years ago for serious breach of contract and couldnt join shels til the window reopened, he did however trin with them for over a month so!
    What did he do?

663 Posts

Motivation behinf Dave Rogers' sacking?

Quote Originally Posted by Réiteoir View Post
    Disgraceful if true.

Rico abslutely spot on tonight on MNS about this - seems to be a wholly cynical attempt to try to lessen the wage bill
    Quote Originally Posted by Rafa B View Post
    Thought the same thing myself.
    Quote Originally Posted by disabledrog View Post
    .....its a money saving job by dundalk
    I find it funny (in a quirky sense) and ironic, that this line continues to be peddled (and maybe even believed by some).

While I think it improbable that there is any validity in this theory (see earlier post below, which has remained conspicously unchallenged), it is ironic that many supportors of clubs that urgently need to reduce their wage bills sieze on this as an evil.

Of course it would be wrong if this was a motivation in this case - but all the evidence points in a different direction

Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post
    It is entirely predictable that many non-Dundalk fans on foot.ie would chose to see to see the actions of the Dundalk board in this way.

I suggest that it might be relevant to reflect on how those most affected, (aside from Dave Rogers himself) view it. Like any opinion forum Oriel Web refects various views, but those suggesting that the sacking was motivated by a wage bill cull are in a small minority.

While facts are not necessarily well received by those who enjoy conspiracy theories and negative slants, lets have a quick review:

1) Dundalk are not in any financial crises. The specifics have already been well documented here and elsewhere already.

2) If the club need to reduce wage costs that opportunity is naturally arising as 3 players are out of contract in June.

3) It is almost certain that the club will sign additional players in July.

4) Dave Rogers is actually one of the few who have performed well for the club this season. Dundalk are woefully short of defenders.

5) There is a sweeping assumption here that Dave Rogers will not have the balance of his contract paid up. This is a strong possibility, either as a result of negotiation or legal action. It is not plausible that a board with strong business experience, would not have considered this possibility in reaching its decision.

For what it is worth, I think that the sacking is harsh and an extreme reaction to the unacceptable levels of indiscipline that have been tolerated up to now. In that sense Dave Rogers is unfortunate, but is the author of his own misfortune.

The board have shown remarkable moral courage in their decision (whether you agree or disagree with it), and jibes about the moral character of players and other jibes are trite and miss the point.

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    Hang on Dodge - are you claiming that players pulling moonies is a common occurence in senior league worlwide.......?

If only Drogheda had had the sense to do the same about 5yrs ago when one of their players took a **** on the edge of the Brandywell pitch iwhilst warming up.......
    check page 45 of the sun newspaper today robbie blake of burnley mooning to fans after winning promotion to preimership wonder will burnley now sack him

" football is a simple game "

Quote Originally Posted by old git View Post
    check page 45 of the sun newspaper today robbie blake of burnley mooning to fans after winning promotion to preimership wonder will burnley now sack him
    Did he whip his slogan-emblazoned sporty y-fronts down to reveal the crack of his arse? Was he flashing said arsehole at opposition fans? Was he sent off for doing so (was he even booked)? Have Burnley had four sendings off in their last four games? Were Burnley promoted to the League of Ireland? If the answer is yes to any of the above, I can see how your post is relative to Dave Rogers' sacking.

Quote Originally Posted by old git View Post
    With all the premiership money they'll now get, I don't think they are in the position of needing to trim the wage bill, so they probably won't sack him.
    Hunky Dorys Park - could be worse, we could be going to Old Trafford every other week

663 Posts

Robbie Blake / Burnley (& ex Waterford)

Quote Originally Posted by Celdrog View Post
    With all the premiership money they'll now get, I don't think they are in the position of needing to trim the wage bill, so they probably won't sack him.
    If Dave Rogers had been celebrating post match after clinching the title (or Europa League qualification) then I doubt if there would have been a major problem either.

He wasn't, and there is!
    Last edited by Ezeikial; 26/05/2009 at 8:27 PM. Reason: deleted offense reference to Drogs and wage bills

If Dave Rogers had been celebrating post match after clinching the title (or Europa League qualification) then I doubt if there would have been a major problem either.

He wasn't, and there is!
    So it wasn't the mooning that was the problem then but the fact that he got himself stupidly sent off?

Does that mean every player who gets himself stupidly sent off will now be sacked?

Also I doubt getting stupidly sent off is a legal sacking offense.

You can't have it both ways, you either sacked him because mooning is completely unacceptable(whenever it is) or you didnt.

663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    So it wasn't the mooning that was the problem then but the fact that he got himself stupidly sent off?

Does that mean every player who gets himself stupidly sent off will now be sacked?

Also I doubt getting stupidly sent off is a legal sacking offense.

You can't have it both ways, you either sacked him because mooning is completely unacceptable(whenever it is) or you didnt.
    I want to break this to you gently...........I didn't sack him

No, your club did, and you've bee defending that decision.

I can hardly ask you board, given they didnt even speak to the person involved, let alone anyone else.

p.s. Im aware that in dublin and surrounding areas it may be confusing but 'you' is actually also a plural......

1,552 Posts
    Ooooh.. the first crack in the Dundalk propaganda machine!

Incidentally.. I still think they were justified due to the outrageous stupidity and unprofessionalism of the act.

812 Posts
    p.s. Im aware that in dublin and surrounding areas it may be confusing but 'you' is actually also a plural......
    There once was a thread on the UCD forum where various of us used the plurals youse, ye, yez and y'all (having noticed a pattern, I was taking the ****) in consecutive posts. Poor Schumi was less than pleased.

Your previous post asks people here to defend Dundalk's theoretically inconsistent behaviour in a theoretical situation. I find this mildly ridiculous.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

Quote Originally Posted by John83 View Post

Your previous post asks people here to defend Dundalk's theoretically inconsistent behaviour in a theoretical situation. I find this mildly ridiculous.
    No. It challenges a claim made by a Dundalk fan that things would have been different had it been a different game, which makes his other claims about Dundalk being in the right completely seem contradictory.

663 Posts
    No, your club did, and you've bee defending that decision.

I can hardly ask you board, given they didnt even speak to the person involved, let alone anyone else.

I know there is a lot going on for you/ye/yous at the moment, and will try to ignore your patronising tone.

You appear to have confused me with another poster when you say that I've been "defending" the clubs decision -

For what it is worth, I think that the sacking is harsh and an extreme reaction to the unacceptable levels of indiscipline that have been tolerated up to now. In that sense Dave Rogers is unfortunate, but is the author of his own misfortune.

You appear to have confused me with another poster when you say that I've been "defending" the clubs decision -
    Apologies, I did have you confused with another poster about defending him

However the original point still stands. Did the club sack him for the mooning(gross misconduct) or for getting sent of in an important game?

The distinction will probably be important in court, especially if the club holds the same attitude that he wouldn't have been sacked had it been another time.

I don't think Dundalk have much chance in this one.

663 Posts
    No. It challenges a claim made by a Dundalk fan that things would have been different had it been a different game, which makes his other claims about Dundalk being in the right completely seem contradictory.
    I don't want to get into semantics with you, but what I suggested was that there was quite a different context in Robbie Blake situation versus Dave Rogers.

One, a post-match celebration in the euphoric aftermath of clinching promotion. The other, a gesture towards visiting supportors in the middle of a crucial match, which put his team down to 10 men.

Perhaps you can't grasp the fundamental difference in context, and how the first may only offend good taste or the prudish, while the other resonates with supporters in an entirely different way

663 Posts
    Apologies, I did have you confused with another poster about defending him

However the original point still stands. Did the club sack him for the mooning(gross misconduct) or for getting sent of in an important game?

The distinction will probably be important in court, especially if the club holds the same attitude that he wouldn't have been sacked had it been another time.

I don't think Dundalk have much chance in this one.
    Gross Misconduct

Following an emergency meeting of the Dundalk FC Board of Management the club have issued the following statement:

Following an incident during the Dundalk v St Patrick's Athletic match in Oriel Park on Friday night, Dave Rogers has been dismissed, with immediate effect, due to gross misconduct. The club will not tolerate this type of behaviour from any member of our squad.

The club will not be making any further comment on this issue at this time

http://dundalkfc.com/news/090523_statement.asp

This is the only public statement to date. I doubt very much if the clubs position will be that it would have acted differently if it were "another time" Do you?????

But like I already said I do not think that consequences would have been the same if, like Robbie Blake.....(opps we've already been there)

Page 8 of 17 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast