Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Showgrounds capacity set at 2,700 For Europe

Showgrounds capacity set at 2,700 For Europe

Very small only the two stands being used, no seating behind the goals at the railway end. Basically less people than what was the Bray game at the end of last season which was to get into Europe.

Edit: From the Champion
    Last edited by Rovers Maniac; 20/05/2009 at 10:30 AM.

That's okay. I'll be glad if we fill it.
    Again, well done to all who devoted their time to making the necessary improvements to the ground.

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rovers Maniac View Post
    Very small only the two stands being used, no seating behind the goals at the railway end. Basically less people than what was the Bray game at the end of last season which was to get into Europe.

Edit: From the Champion
    Just over 1800 main stand plus 886 in Jinks Avenue side. Probably not worth their while installing temporary seats. Dont think they should up ticket prices for this, maybe 20 euro at the most.

Stupid really.
    Sligo should put in temporary seats behind the goals and milk this it is not every year you get into europe.

Quote Originally Posted by corkboy360 View Post
    Stupid really.
    Sligo should put in temporary seats behind the goals and milk this it is not every year you get into europe.
    I agree, but maybe the club just can't afford it, they're not cheap those Tesco stands.

I doubt could make much money out of the temporary stands.

What round do ye start in & what is the likely opposition? 2,700 probbaly enough for small european sides?

Stupid really.
    It would cost us 12k to put in either 3 or 400 seats so that would mean that you would lose money by putting in the extra seats as you would could not charge 30 or 40 euro a seat. So it is probably the correct decision as you would just be reducing your overall profit from the game, which would be stupid.

Stupid really.
    It would be stupid if it was in a city the size of Cork and we could guarantee that they would be filled but they most likely wouldn't be.
    Can you imagine the ridicule if they were put in and then left empty for the game?

Quote Originally Posted by dong2008 View Post
    It would be stupid if it was in a city the size of Cork and we could guarantee that they would be filled but they most likely wouldn't be.
    Can you imagine the ridicule if they were put in and then left empty for the game?
    Ya true.
    What attendance do ye average at a league game?

about 1,6/700 Depends who were playing i suppose.

I'd guess 1,000 - 1,200 on average but I'll let somebody else take this one! Not sure if there's ever an official attendance taken.

Okay 2,700 should be okay so.
    I thought ye had better attendances.

Quote Originally Posted by dong2008 View Post
    I'd guess 1,000 - 1,200 on average but I'll let somebody else take this one! Not sure if there's ever an official attendance taken.
    Good bit higher than that Dong jeez don't you take your eyes of the players legs during the game !

ah come on lads of course we will sell it out sure we would have had more at the Bray game last season and that was just to qualify for Europe. Some of that will have to go to away fans 5 or 10% i would imagine then, you will have a number of ticket going to sponsors, officials,special guests, dignitries etc meaning that 2,200 or 2,300 could just be on sale to fans. There will be a lot of interest in the match as we have not played in Europe proper Since 94 really as the Intertoto thing was not a great competition to be fair. Have a bit of confidence in yourselfs.

if the main stand holds 1,800 i would think the average gate is a lot more than 1,000/1,200...Main stand is usually fairly full plus a couple of hundred in the Jinks especially if its Shams,Bohs,Derry etc plus a few like myself behind the Goals...2,700 will be more than enough for a Europa league qualifier i'd say...i wish it wasnt!!

I'd be very surprised if the Showgrounds sold out for this, 2,700 is grand. Doubt there will be many away fans unless we get a Northern or Welsh team.

105 Posts
    As long as they loyal supporters who go to all the normal games get priority I couldn't give a fcuk about the event junkies not getting a ticket. Its not as if we have 2700 at our league games

Quote Originally Posted by Sean South View Post
    As long as they loyal supporters who go to all the normal games get priority I couldn't give a fcuk about the event junkies not getting a ticket. Its not as if we have 2700 at our league games
    Agree with that. In fact, a good idea imo would be that tickets(or even a voucher saying you bought one until the date of home leg decided) go on sale soon, before the draw is made even, and that they're sold at the home league games. That way the genuine Rovers fans will have got theirs before any sunshiners hop on the bandwagon.

As I said previously, I don't think there'll be a problem getting tickets but just in case.

I think this game will be sold out. There'll be an awful lot of people going who wouldnt normally. It would be pretty bad if it wasnt sold out given european games in the Showgrounds dont come around too often. Should def be a preference for season-ticket holders and regular goes.
    "Excuses are the nails used to build a house of failure"

No no but would people not think this is much bigger than a league game? Not an average game at all so i don't think any point looking at averages crowds sure we must have had close to 2,2 or 2,3 at the the Bohs game?
    When we played Floriana in 94 we would hae had that crowd. Its not like the people of the north west get to watch live European football every season and i would have thought this would have caught the imagination of the general public esp the coverage it has received in the local press and on here. I am not saying we would have got 5k at any game but i would have thought 2,700 is a little on the small size. I think there will be at least 2,700 at the game, but i could not tell you if it sells out though . No way if we draw Linfield that we won't have that number at the game imo.

Maybe i am reading it wrong

i agree with the Maniac, i think the Euro game will sell out, there are a hell of a lot of event junkies about the north-west. Plus all the 'how did the Rovers do?' people will be out too.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast