Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Florida

It most definitely is NOT a ****hole, and while I enjoyed Chicago, its nothing on New York
    Its impressive ill give you that. But in terms of going out and friendliness and everything else it is nothing on a host of other cities( assuming you aren't just there on holiday )

London for example is a great place for a weekend, but its a crap city to live i.e. by my definition a good city is somewhere you can spend more than a week - or so - in as a tourist ( live really ) and still love it.

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Its impressive ill give you that. But in terms of going out and friendliness and everything else it is nothing on a host of other cities( assuming you aren't just there on holiday )

London for example is a great place for a weekend, but its a crap city to live i.e. by my definition a good city is somewhere you can spend more than a week - or so - in as a tourist ( live really ) and still love it.
    You've got to be joking. In terms of going out it has everything. Bars legally open til 4am and longer if you know where to go. Thousands of restaurants, hundreds of theatres and cinemas, chelsea piers etc etc. List is endless.

One of the most open friendly cities anywhere. If you want unfriendly locals go live in oz. Have friends living in London say its a cracking spot.

Maybe Paul has an attitude problem??!

As I summed it up before to many US nationals, who agreed. Bump into someone in NY and you get attitude, bump into someone in chicago and you get "I'm sorry".

Your friends must be right then, London is a great spot. Ill ask any of those who have lived in a few other cities, and you wont get that same response. My mates are all the same, came here for one simple reason, better work prospects and money, that really is the only main advantage. Fair enough you have shows etc etc, but you cant afford to be going to them every single night etc. There are plenty of things to do, if you have the money a la being a tourist. London is a very hard place to come on your own - I came here on my own, people go home after work have their own lives, unless you are in a group that came over from Ireland it is difficult. I was lucky I got in with some plastics and then more friends came over, but I know lads who have been here 6 months and have been out only 2 or 3 times, until they get to know me of course and I bring them under my wing
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 10/10/2007 at 11:27 AM.

As I summed it up before to many US nationals, who agreed. Bump into someone in NY and you get attitude, bump into someone in chicago and you get "I'm sorry".
    I didn't find this to be true on several visits to NY. Never anything less than courteous.

And if you haven't the money to be going out, what difference doe sit make where you are?

not going out dodge, but i meant shows etc, that is what everyone talks about, the west end etc, or eating out or whatever. I mean going out having a few drinks with friends, that can be done on a relatively small budget, the aforementioned sorta stuff cant be and it is what tourists generally do as they aren't thinking so much about money etc. This then gives away the idea that every single Londoner does this every weekend and what living in london is like, this is not the case. I remember mates coming over on a sunday night, we struggled to find a good spot, i have been out to 3 or 4 different spots in boston and chicago - I haven't found one in NY, but that may well be because I didnt know where I was going - for example that are buzzing on a sunday, that is not the case in London ( London is not a 24/7 happening place though they try to make out so, even in Dublin you can go out to 2 or 3 places that are buzzin on a sunday night!).That is why Americans love London, cos they come over and think thats what its all about, when realistically its not, oh ya that and watching Match Point
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 10/10/2007 at 11:46 AM.

The big diference between Disney and other parks is that Disney spend a fortune on graphics etc when you are in the Q. Everywhere else you just get bored before you get to the front. Of all the parks i would rate them (1) MGM Studios. It has something for everyone esp Twilight Zone Tower of Teror and Aerosmith Rock and roller coaster. Hitchcock set is also really good. You will need to spend 2 days there as some of the sets / tours take 45 mins besides waiting in line. (2) Universale Islands of Adventure. The start of the Hulk rollercoaster is brillent and the spiderman ride is cool. (3) Busch Gardens. The Kumba was my favourite until the last time I went (think its called Cobra). After you get on they take the floor away! so your are left danling in your seat. Get on the front row on the far right.
    Anyone been to Porta Ventura in Salou? This is a brillent theme park that is under rated. You can stay in the hotel on site full board for about 600 euro for a family for 5 days, flights can be picked up from about 60 euro each if your lucky.
    Also went to Legoland in Windsor a few weeks ago, 4 year old loved it. Both are much better value than the fortunes ive spent in Disney over the years.

not going out dodge, but i meant shows etc, that is what everyone talks about, the west end etc, or eating out or whatever. I mean going out having a few drinks with friends, that can be done on a relatively small budget, the aforementioned sorta stuff cant be and it is what tourists generally do as they aren't thinking so much about money etc. This then gives away the idea that every single Londoner does this every weekend and what living in london is like, this is not the case. I remember mates coming over on a sunday night, we struggled to find a good spot, i have been out to 3 or 4 different spots in boston and chicago - I haven't found one in NY, but that may well be because I didnt know where I was going - for example that are buzzing on a sunday, that is not the case in London ( London is not a 24/7 happening place though they try to make out so, even in Dublin you can go out to 2 or 3 places that are buzzin on a sunday night!).That is why Americans love London, cos they come over and think thats what its all about, when realistically its not, oh ya that and watching Match Point
    You're right you didnt know where to go! But in fairness there is a lot of choice. If you bothered to look around or ask locals you'd find out pretty soon. NYC citizens have never been anything but courteous. More so than here for sure.

You can sum up to most americans all you want. Fact is a lot of them would not have visited NY and would have heard the myth of everyone being unfriendly.

Quote Originally Posted by Unreal Madrid View Post
    Anyone been to Porta Ventura in Salou? This is a brillent theme park that is under rated. You can stay in the hotel on site full board for about 600 euro for a family for 5 days, flights can be picked up from about 60 euro each if your lucky.
    Was there about 2 weeks ago. Ryanair flights were €110 and apartment in Salou cost €280 between two of us. Would endorse your recommendations re; PortaVentura. Had a fabulous time there. For those who've been in previous years (as I had), there's a new rollercoaster this year. Its called Furios and is europe's fastest reaching speeds of 135km/h. It loops out over the lake (and there's no floor on it...)

You can sum up to most americans all you want. Fact is a lot of them would not have visited NY and would have heard the myth of everyone being unfriendly.
    Should have qualified with those comparing both cities, neither from either city, who had lived there or visited there ( both cities that is )

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Was there about 2 weeks ago. Ryanair flights were €110 and apartment in Salou cost €280 between two of us. Would endorse your recommendations re; PortaVentura. Had a fabulous time there. For those who've been in previous years (as I had), there's a new rollercoaster this year. Its called Furios and is europe's fastest reaching speeds of 135km/h. It loops out over the lake (and there's no floor on it...)
    It was nearly ready in April when I was there. Just have to go again

Its called Furios and is europe's fastest reaching speeds of 135km/h.
    I always find these things funny

its a sh1tehole once you been there once, chicago is a way better city, even boston too probably.
    Seriously.......

Ny Hoop summed it up nicely-it has endless streams of activities,tourist spots,big brand shops/resteraunts etc.

Locals are dead sound to......everything is "Sir,thank You,Please,Have a good Day".
    Not like some of the galoots that work over here.I remember my Uncle(from Boston) telling me how his wife's friend walked into Supervalu in Eyre Square to buy a bag of crisps.She couldn't get over the discourteous nature of the girl at the checkout so she left the water there,told her she was the rudest person she ever met and walked out.

It might seem melodramatic but they're incredibly polite people the Americans,and New Yorkers in general.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Locals are dead sound to......everything is "Sir,thank You,Please,Have a good Day".
    do you honestly think they mean it. Go into any shop and reply with i will have a good day and you too, they wont reply, cos its robotic, along with the "how are you today, sir?!" try it next time yer over, you will get 3 out of 10 replies if lucky

Polite, yes? Serious? No, Artificial, Yes!

Who cares if they mean it?

Manners are manners.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Furious sounds a bit like Duelling Dragons in Universal, Orlando. You have to take your shoes off or there likely to clober someone if they fall off. Upside down inside out total corkscrew effect and shoot by the other coaster. I'd a sore chest for two days after it from the harness beating of me. To this day I'm convinced it wasn't on right.

Had a great time in Portaventura myself a few years ago. Some great shows and rides.
    "Look at them. They're all out of step except my son Johnny"
    Mrs. Delaney

230 Posts
    Sorry POS, but I have to defend the New Yorkers. All that garbage about New Yorkers being rude is a myth. Loud maybe, but not rude. And the common courtesy that's extended to customers, whether it is in a bar, restaurant or supermarket is standard practice throughout the US. Even my friends and family notice it when they visit. Like someone mentioned above, the one's who think that northerners are rude are probably people who have never visited that part of the country.

Go into any shop and reply with i will have a good day and you too, they wont reply, cos its robotic, along with the "how are you today, sir?!" try it next time yer over, you will get 3 out of 10 replies if lucky
    I'll bet 10 out of 10 will reply.

If you want rude, just visit a shop at home and wait 'till the wan behind the counter or checkout finishes yapping to her friend and then decides 'Oh, I didn't see you standing there' FOR THE LAST HALF HOUR! That annoys the **** out of me to no end.
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

I actually agree that Americans are extremely polite. They will always try to help if asked a question. We think they're stupid when they come over here and appear stupid by asking a lot of questions. It's the way they are. I can only say that I've always received a polite reply when looking for help in the US. Th e customer is king.
    "Look at them. They're all out of step except my son Johnny"
    Mrs. Delaney

Well, Fair enough, maybe its horses for courses, but I have experienced this no end when out with mates, so whatt I start to do is crack up a conversation or try, and stuff. I did it in an outlet store a couple of weeks ago ( as an example ), when going from shop to shop I said to the lads, right lets have a bit of craic and see what ones respond. SO when I entered they were like "how are you, sir", I was like oh im great and you and so on and so forth, you would sometimes get a reply then for 3 in 10 we got a second sentence and that was that. When I lived there I found the exact same, when I was bored I used to make a point of trying it and it was always the same. I dont beleive in saying something unless you mean it, and the americans dont mean it. Its the exact same with servers, first few sentences are all robotic what they say to everyone, try responding and saying something they aren't expecting and you still get the same response i.e. nothing. I will say though that nearly all of those who would chat back were women!!! Only female and all that....

The best one is "have a nice day", next time someone says that to ye, responsd in a louder tone than they do and say "NO, you have a nice day!".

230 Posts

The best one is "have a nice day", next time someone says that to ye, responsd in a louder tone than they do and say "NO, you have a nice day!".
    Jaysus, you're easily amused. You need to get out more.
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

Orlando, Florida

Going to Orlando early January doing the usual over there DisneyWorld, Universal etc.. and was wondering if anyone here has been before and if they have any useful tips on getting around (how easy it is), the best things to do, things that just can't be missed etc...

Cheers

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast