Thread: Alan Kelly Snr RIP

52 Posts

Alan Kelly Snr RIP

Sad news, Alan Kelly Snr has died, God bless, a true Irish and Preston legend.

http://www.lep.co.uk/news/PNE-legend...ies.5287617.jp

http://www.lep.co.uk/pnenews/Tribute...PNE.5287753.jp
    Last edited by the doc; 20/05/2009 at 5:15 PM. Reason: text

2,796 Posts
    Legend indeed. RIP.

130 Posts
    Wasn't planning on coming online tonight till I heard that news on the radio, glad to see someone had started a thread.

Legend is a term bandied about too easy in a lot of cases but not in this one. A true legend, a gentleman to boot who also provided us with another generation of men proud to wear the green despite being born abroad.

He'll be sadly missed. R.I.P.

Started his career at Bray Wanderers. Certainly among the all time greats of Irish football.

Go ndeanaidh Dia Trocaire ar a amam dhilis
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

3,500 Posts
    RIP, thoughts and prayers with his family

192 Posts
    Statistically he was also our best ever manager (with a 100% success rate). One friendly game in charge versus Switzerland between the Giles and Hand regimes.

Right up there with Shay and Packie as our best goalkeeper. May he rest in peace.
    Last edited by EastTerracer; 21/05/2009 at 12:43 AM.
    "There's man all over for you, blaming on his boots the fault of his feet" - Samuel Beckett, Waiting for Godot

Only saw him play for Ireland a couple of times, but from all accounts a true gentleman and a great player.

Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam dílis
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

1,928 Posts
    Very sad to hear he died (young enough) in those circumstances.
    The legend tag is no overstatement and a great character to boot.
    I have some distant memories of seeing him play in goals for Ireland, he was a supremely elegant and skillful goalkeeper.

RIP.

sorry not really the thread but:

"He is the Republic of Ireland's most capped goalkeeper after Paddy Bonner, winning 47 caps for his country. "

What?!

1,928 Posts
    He was first choice for about 12 years and probably played in almost every game in those years.
    Afair, he had a shoulder injury throughout much of his career not just at the end when it was banjaxed.

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    RIP.

sorry not really the thread but:

"He is the Republic of Ireland's most capped goalkeeper after Paddy Bonner, winning 47 caps for his country. "

What?!
    That's obviously taken from an old biography. That statement ceased to be correct when Shay Given got his 47th and 48th caps in 2003 in the away double header against Georgia and Albania.
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

89 Posts
    Very sad news, a true Irish legend. I wouldn't put Packie Bonner in the same league as Shay or Alan Kelly, great penalty save aside. RIP

130 Posts
    Very disappointed to see only a paragraph in the Indo about this today, sincerley hope there'll be a proper obituary over the next day or so.

Given his stature in the game (how many Irish players have stands named after them in the UK) it's the least he deserves.

Compare that to to coverage given to Jack Kyles sad death a few weeks back and it speaks volumes about the media's alleigences.

630 Posts
    Thanks for your services to Irish football

and condolences to family and friends.

RIP Alan Kelly.

RIP
    Alan Kelly

170 Posts
    Sad news. I remember him as a player, good keeper.

D9-69er: Jimmy McIlroy at Burnley is the only other I can think of.

2,796 Posts
    Sad timing too, with PNE's biggest game in years around the corner. I expect a huge ovation at both Wembley & the Cottage.

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Sad timing too, with PNE's biggest game in years around the corner. I expect a huge ovation at both Wembley & the Cottage.
    Preston got beaten in the semi, it's Burnley v Sheffield United in the final mate.

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    ...And maybe I'm getting my wires crossed here, but Preston play at Deepdale...the Cottage is Craven Cottage(Fulham) ye?

2,796 Posts
    Yes, Ireland plays Nigeria at Craven Cottage on Friday 29th May.