Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: UCD

All valid posts lads and sorry if leo grabbing that kid offended anyone, ill have a word in his little ears. didnt see much of the game but im told we played well. So we all have a view on jackman let the FAI know on Monday night (might hasten the move to the MF) or else Buckley park could be an option
    Last edited by gael353; 24/05/2009 at 9:42 AM.

I thought it was definately our best performance of the season. And it was also very entertaining. Big shout out to the lads.

As far as the young scobes go I suggest some waterboarding or some nipple torture in a dungeon in Cyprus. Beat them like a red headed step son!

Last Friday's trouble was a disgrace and really marred an otherwise fine performance on the pitch.

Please place some stewards near the cars for the next home game and stop these S***bags from entering the ground. Why should ordinary people pay when these scum come in for free and then wreak havoc in the ground. We will have lost a lot of families over the incidents last friday. Why do we shoot ourselves in the foot continuously when it comes to promoting the club?

Lot's of people volunteer at the ground but if you do and are a steward, well then you must be prepared to work and not ignore any trouble. If not Don't volunteer.

Why not offer the Stewarding to some of our unwaged supporters who could do with a few extra bob at the end of the week? Our crowds are down this year, mostly due to the current economic climate so it would give some deserving supporters a chance to be at their team's match on a friday night for free in return for some work for 2.5hrs. Instead we promote the club to teenagers with no interest who end up swapping tickets with others anyway.

As for the the 2 Cops ,well it just illustrates further the state this city is in when you have Police officers as proactive as those 2 muppets. No wonder we are screwd.

I fear the worst for the Shelbourne game because at the moment our stewarding is disfunctional.

Also Please stop giving out free tickets to Teenagers who have no interest in watching the game and instead give them away, maybe, in Local Radio, Newspaper competitions etc. where people who actually care about watching a match would enter. It's getting like a Teenage Disco in here on a Friday night.

That said. Fair Play to Pat and the Lads for the great on pitch performance on Friday. Pity I can't say the same for off pitch (for the 2nd time this season) similarly.

Yours
    JohnD
    "How Can you lie there and think of England when you don't even know who's in the team"-- B.Bragg

Quote Originally Posted by JohnD View Post
    I fear the worst for the Shelbourne game because at the moment our stewarding is disfunctional.
    Il echo this sentiment. Against Shels last year they brought a big support of whom ran onto the pitch when they scored and extra Guards had to be called. If they think two stewards will be able to handle this come June 22nd then it really will be a free for all. Imagine if that crowd of twenty from last Friday night came upon the Shels fans, it'd be like something out of Football Factory!
    Limerick Till I Die - I know I am, Im Sure I am......
    Keep the Red Flag Flying high!
    Keep the Blue Flag Flying high!

Is it true that if you ask the Gardai for extra men that they want you to pay them?

Heard this on Friday night, that they'll send up two but if you want more you have to hand over money. Disgrace if that is the case

Quote Originally Posted by Pious37 View Post
    Il echo this sentiment. Against Shels last year they brought a big support of whom ran onto the pitch when they scored and extra Guards had to be called. If they think two stewards will be able to handle this come June 22nd then it really will be a free for all. Imagine if that crowd of twenty from last Friday night came upon the Shels fans, it'd be like something out of Football Factory!
    Could attract the kind of people who arrived to Hogan park a few years ago when Shamrock Rovers played in the first divsion. Only down for a fight. I think more Gards specifically there for crowd control is what will be needed for this match. Better safe than sorry. Just to clarify its not the genuine fans from either club i mean than gards would be for but the clowns that have no interest in the game but are just there for trouble.

3,491 Posts
    Was there no ambulance at the game, by the way?

812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Is it true that if you ask the Gardai for extra men that they want you to pay them?

Heard this on Friday night, that they'll send up two but if you want more you have to hand over money. Disgrace if that is the case
    Why? The taxpayer shouldn't have to subsidise crowd control at a commercial event.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

That's the way it is in England too. Thousands of pounds are handed over, even for teams down the Football League, to police for football matches.

Not sure how much the Gardai would be looking for, but surely it is a necessity for the next few homes games to have a greater police presence at Jackman.

Quote Originally Posted by John83 View Post
    Why? The taxpayer shouldn't have to subsidise crowd control at a commercial event.
    Would have assumed that our guardians of the peace would think it in the public's interest to send a few to gatherings of this kind? Especially considering that they are decent pay and pension to serve the public I would have thought it nonsense that they ask for donations or whatever they call it

Probably too busy sitting in their cars in Mungret waiting for one speeding car to pass per three hours though

812 Posts
    Would have assumed that our guardians of the peace would think it in the public's interest to send a few to gatherings of this kind? Especially considering that they are decent pay and pension to serve the public I would have thought it nonsense that they ask for donations or whatever they call it

Probably too busy sitting in their cars in Mungret waiting for one speeding car to pass per three hours though
    I don't want to start an argument over it, but Limerick are arranging the event for profit. I think it's reasonable that they pay for the necessary security.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

I don't want to start an argument over it, but Limerick are arranging the event for profit. I think it's reasonable that they pay for the necessary security.
    From a security firm yes, from public servants no

Its true at all sporting events though..If you want an extra garda presence you have to pay for it....

Mods, please move this post to the appropriate thread :
    http://foot.ie/forums/showthread.php?t=1816
    LTID

Quote Originally Posted by gaidin View Post
    Its true at all sporting events though..If you want an extra garda presence you have to pay for it....
    I realise that. It's the practice I'm criticising, not that Limerick FC have to pay.

If there's a gathering of citizens on this island, especially at an event where there's a higher chance for public disorder then surely the Gardai should have a visable presence, isn't that what they get paid for? To maintain public peace?

I realise that. It's the practice I'm criticising, not that Limerick FC have to pay.

If there's a gathering of citizens on this island, especially at an event where there's a higher chance for public disorder then surely the Gardai should have a visable presence, isn't that what they get paid for? To maintain public peace?
    Oh ya, I agree with what your saying. The gardai should have a presence. But to them its all about resources, budget, etc, etc.

Its same all over europe (for football games anyway) as far as I know...

1,025 Posts
    I'd go along with John83 and say that when a private company has chosen to organise a public gathering (especially when they are charging admission to this event) they should be responsible for maintaining public order.

By your argument above, wouldn't the police need to be stationed (for example) inside loads of bars and nightclubs where there are hundreds of drunk people and some chance of public disorder?

while not disagreeing with you there always seems to be extra gardai outside the ground at the end of games,as there does at the end of the night when clubs and bars close.Maybe its to do with public areas like the main roads ect,as opposed to inside private land (clubs,bars,sports grounds) which might be outside their remit.
    "We've had a lot of good times, but you don't know how good they are until you have the bad ones" Tony Adams

Decent game at last. Some of the games at Jackman this season have been awful.
    Why did they seat the terrace though and are they going to continue to enforce no standing there now ?

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    I'd go along with John83 and say that when a private company has chosen to organise a public gathering (especially when they are charging admission to this event) they should be responsible for maintaining public order.

By your argument above, wouldn't the police need to be stationed (for example) inside loads of bars and nightclubs where there are hundreds of drunk people and some chance of public disorder?
    They have paid security inside so its not needed, but I do think there should be more Gardai in and around the nightclub areas alright, ditto big pubs

It is their job to protect the peace and serve this island's citizens no? If there is a chance that some of this island's citizens will break that peace (i.e. the Pats and especially the Shels games) then surely it is their job to be at said event to do their job? Am I the only one that thinks this? I actually wouldn't mind them saying that they don't have the resources, but I think it's appalling that they ask for a fee to do a job they are already being paid to do.

Quote Originally Posted by LK37oldskool View Post
    while not disagreeing with you there always seems to be extra gardai outside the ground at the end of games,as there does at the end of the night when clubs and bars close.Maybe its to do with public areas like the main roads ect,as opposed to inside private land (clubs,bars,sports grounds) which might be outside their remit.
    It's not outside their remit if they are allowed into the ground/pub/whatever by it's owners with the specific instructions of keeping the peace. If they have the resources to do this if they get that extra payment then they have the resources to do it, full stop and should do so if asked
    Last edited by jebus; 26/05/2009 at 10:52 PM.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast