Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: UCD

decent result.Who was on form?did the injuries look serious?

Have to agree there, my son my crying wen everyone was running towards the fight. Twas a bit scary. But lets concetrate on the game, what a performance, the lads were brilliant and credit where credit is due they did everything but score. I felt last night that we clicked as a side and had a purpose and if only Scully played two up front, Cummins was very lively when introduced and it begs the question why he and Tierney don't start. Then again i wouldn't have changed a thing from last night looking at how well we played, we just lack a finisher. Anyway fair play to UCD for coming to try and win the game, was a great open game to watch. Special mention to Calla, wondered why he played cross channel but was different gravy last night, he was outstanding

ummh interestingwhat are the chances of Limerick signing a centre forward in the summer window,might take a trip down to the next game and run the rule on proceedings,its been a while
    good result last night

Could not believe what i witnessed last night off the field,how are we to attract new fans,when that mob are allowed to roam free?I think its obvious to everyone,that we have no future as a club in our present tenancy agreement.Questions need to be answered at monday nights presentation,regarding how near/far we are from securing an agreement to play at the markets field.In the meantime,can we not have that security company(who is mentioned as a club sponser)back at the next home game.

Unlucky not to win

Watching the trouble from the track side it was unbelievabe that the 2 guards stood there watching the match as it all kicked off. As I was leaving one of the scum was "going to stab" whoever boxed him....who would bring their kid to see this

Little *****s

i said it awhile back that Limerick are going nowhere down in that hovel,i know i come on here at times slagging things off but its mostly in jest,i'd love to see Limerick back in the top flight of the LOI,but i don't think the club will attract fans down in that place,and as regards those scumbags i'd blame the stewards,if they're not going to do anything why are they there in the first place

are the stewards payed?

From what i gather,the stewards are not,or never have, been paid.What is apparent though,is the obvious lack of training,etc.But,who,in there right mind would put up with that local rabble last night on a voluntry basis,fair play to the stewards that do volunteer.Probably be harder to get more after last nights debacle

disgraceful and brillant in even measure sums up last night.
    On the football side it was by far Limerick's best performance of the season.good flowing football and were unlucky not to win.
    as for those knackers! they certainly ruined a lot of peoples night and scared off a few families,i saw one man leave with his son after the bottle incident.I think those kids got in with free tickets.if thats the kind of person were attracting with that promotion i think its time to stop as we'll lose more fans than attract.
    Well done to Leo and the stewards as its not an easy job with that many knackers spoiling for trouble and shame on the gardai for not helping out.
    "We've had a lot of good times, but you don't know how good they are until you have the bad ones" Tony Adams

Quote Originally Posted by Pious37 View Post
    A fence, shrapnel or somet to deter them.
    Not our ground so feck all we can do to it other than paying money we dont have to a security company on match nights. Agree with all the comments about going nowhere as a club staying in Jackman park, but its been said a million times before.

Im sure if there was an option of just walking into the Markets field and dressing rooms, floodlights and a developed pitch magically appearing we'd take it but things dont happen like that in the real world.

Quote Originally Posted by LK37oldskool View Post
    I think those kids got in with free tickets.if thats the kind of person were attracting with that promotion i think its time to stop as we'll lose more fans than attract.
    Totally agree. Why cant they give free tickets to upstanding members of the community (my god i sound like a politician) like giving free tickets to working people in factories like vistakon or maybe to people working in shops in town cos attracting scum from secondary schools in scaring new fans off and ****ing off existing fans who just want to watch a game of footie and have a laugh. Think last night proved how beneficial it would be to move back to the markets field.

On a personal note, my favourite moment of the night (bar our excellent performance of course) was when Leo dragged one the scuts out. Brilliant!! pity he couldnt get the other twenty!
    Limerick Till I Die - I know I am, Im Sure I am......
    Keep the Red Flag Flying high!
    Keep the Blue Flag Flying high!

Why cant they give free tickets to upstanding members of the community
    Cause the club kinda needs people to pay at the gate for revenue.
    Free tickets are given to schools to promote the club and as far as i could see its the people jumping the wall who need to be stopped.

Quote Originally Posted by Monkfish View Post
    Cause the club kinda needs people to pay at the gate for revenue.
    Free tickets are given to schools to promote the club and as far as i could see its the people jumping the wall who need to be stopped.
    What i mean is give them a once off free ticket. Get a few in and at least 50% will enjoy the occasion and want more. That will make them come back but this time paying! a better way of increasing revenue than attracting scuts who want to cause trouble!

Totally agree. Why cant they give free tickets to upstanding members of the community (my god i sound like a politician) like giving free tickets to working people in factories like vistakon or maybe to people working in shops in town cos attracting scum from secondary schools in scaring new fans off and ****ing off existing fans who just want to watch a game of footie and have a laugh. Think last night proved how beneficial it would be to move back to the markets field.

On a personal note, my favourite moment of the night (bar our excellent performance of course) was when Leo dragged one the scuts out. Brilliant!! pity he couldnt get the other twenty!
    Movin back to the Markets Field wont solve last nights problem if they keep givin out free tickets to w****rs.
    "We've had a lot of good times, but you don't know how good they are until you have the bad ones" Tony Adams

Quote Originally Posted by LK37oldskool View Post
    Movin back to the Markets Field wont solve last nights problem if they keep givin out free tickets to w****rs.
    Harder to climb over a wall however at Markets Field and the markets field, if Limerick move there, would be limericks and not the LDMC so Limerick would care alot more of who gets in!

Just in case your not aware but Limerick would only be a tenant there also,it will be owned by the city council.Many other sports will use the ground although Limerick will be the main tenant. Your right about it been harder to get in though and certainly more pride in the whole facility would be taken by all.

Gassing is what those scumbags need to be fair, for the record your man that chased after one of them did so cause they threw the metal pole part of an umbrella at his girlfriend and hit her. Stewards are volunteers so it's hard to criticise but we need to have 3-4 of them standing down by that wall where these knackers are jumping in if the LDMC won't but up some barbed wire or something. Easy for me to say that cause I sure as Christ wouldn't do the job but something needs to be done. The club should contact the LDMC committee about it and also point out that know little *****s like that know there are seats in the stand that there is nothing to stop them from jumping in on random nights when the ground isn't being used, having a few cans in there and possibly tearing the seats up. It's in the interests of both LFC and the LDMC to secure that part of the ground.

As for the game I thought we played well and I don't think UCD could have had any complaints if Walshe's lob at the end had gone in. As it is I still think we are short about 3 players, namely the likes ex-Limerick players like Conor Molan, Kevin Waters and Gary Sheehan. Promising to hear that Pat has been done quite a lot to take a look around the Junior scene though to try and find some players and I also like that he is looking to keep the squad's personal Limerick based and not bring in a load of mercenaries from Dublin

33 Posts
    The second half was very interesting. UCD kept pushing forward and Limerick got in behind us a few times. The concensus after the game was that UCD should have scored but it couls have been alot worse aswell.

First Scully - Russell match as first team managers. There'll be plenty more.

Don't be too hard on the stewards, its a tough job. It was first time I seen UCD at Jackman Park, I had seen 20 mins of a Fairview - Pike match about 15 years ago before leaving for a game at Rathbane. It's neat and clean, it's what people expect a ground should be. Picnics on the grass. I am sure the Markets Field have far more to offer but.
    " I'll go right up to here,
    it can't possibly hurt.
    All they will find is my
    beer and my shirt."

Great match - was very impressed with how we played and put pressure on UCD: especially in the first half when we hit the post. Fair play to the singing section too - made some noise and got the atmosphere going.

I was sitting on my own about 6 rows from the front, in the same section of seats as the lads with the drum - and saw the coke bottle being thrown down at a family. Shocking behaviour, but that group weren't the ones who jumped the wall were they? I'm 99% sure they came in on tickets. If that coke bottle had hit a young one in the head, they would have been knocked out without a doubt.

I'm all for giving youngsters free tickets in, but the people on the turnstiles should surely be enforcing a rule on compulsory adult supervision. Might not have as many little ****s running around the place like last night...they have no interest in watching football - they just use the place to socialise and cause trouble. We have a few weeks until the next home match, so hopefully some plan of action can be put in place to prevent a reoccurrence.

P.S - "Does your teacher know you're here?" - Great song
    Last edited by Castletroy_Blue; 23/05/2009 at 4:34 PM.

that was about the sixth or seventh game I've made this season, and I have to say it was the best performance, particularly in the first half, and towards the end of the second half. It's a pity we weren't a little bit more clinical. Tierney was a huge loss - the more I see of him, the more I'm impressed with his work-rate, ability to hold onto the ball, and he is tougher than he looks. Cummins doesn't have much physicality, but is very good with ball at feet.

Regards the crowd issue, it was very frustrating. I think I was about a row back from OldSkool and sitting beside a supporter who was there with his young son and daughter. Capri Sun packs, coke bottles and everything else was thrown in our direction. I actually think something was lobbed into my hair at one stage during the first half, but I thought wiser than to turn back and deal with it - God only knows who the big brothers of these little w**kers are. It was a pity because there was kids around the place who were there for the football which is great to see. I'm all for the club giving out free tickets and getting kids into following the team, but these little runts up the back had absolutely no interest in the game. I know some ofthem might have come in over the wall, but I'm sure I saw some of them come through the stiles.

Perhaps there should be a rule whereby every 2/3 kids entering the ground must be accompanied by an adult?

Anyway, with regards the football, I thought it was very encouraging, and a pity we didn't nick the 3 points in the end.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast