Page 6 of 29 FirstFirst ... 4567816 ... LastLast

Thread: Who will win the 1st division

Quote Originally Posted by blue til i die View Post
    Yeah, it really is getting annoying now!

I still think that even if someone loses next week in tolka, there's still plenty of time left to recover from it. Should be a good game though, can't wait. We still need to beat Wexford tommorrow first to stay move 3 points clear, but it is gona be a tricky game.
    Wexford are a team that will have an influence on who will go up and who wont

The game next week against Waterford is a bit meaningless. It's too early in the season. We were atrocious last night. Monaghan were robbed to be honest.

Quote Originally Posted by LeixlipRed View Post
    The game next week against Waterford is a bit meaningless. It's too early in the season. We were atrocious last night. Monaghan were robbed to be honest.
    We were crap too, but Monaghan were not robbed, bar a good 15 minute spell in the 2nd half, they didn't deserve the game any more than we did. I maintain that they're a poor outfit, and that Wexford and Limerick are the teams that we should be really worrying about taking points from the top 4.
    Lets redefine what it means to heal

291 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by LeixlipRed View Post
    Monaghan were robbed to be honest.
    Monaghan deserved a point maximum. Shels were the better team overall.

Monaghan attacked when you'd expect them to do so- one down midway through the first half. The fact that those attacks looked dangerous had more to do with Shelbourne's panicked defending than Monaghan's attacking brilliance.
    Last edited by thischarmingman; 30/05/2009 at 3:32 PM.

How much things can change in 2 weeks

Bloody awful Blues performance tonight. Fair play to Wexford, deserved their victory.

Next weeks game just got a little more important!!
    I’m not pedantic...I’m merely overly concerned with minute details.

24 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Lamper.sffc View Post
    Wexford are a team that will have an influence on who will go up and who wont
    after tonight's result I would say you could be right.

Waterford did not play as well as I have seen them play. Wexford played well enough though deserved the win the goal that Waterford scored was nothing short of sloppy from Wexford view point. Obviously very happy with the win looking forward to next Friday already
    And Miles To Go Before We Sleep

115 Posts
    I don't know if it was physical or mental fatigue or what, but we looked well off the boil compared to recent games.
    Youths were first to most things, and looked like they had a better idea of what to do when they got there.
    The second Wexford goal was very poor from our defence's point of view too - caught on their heels when the long ball came in, and then badly caught for pace.
    No quibbles though, best team won on the night.
    more bass

Now all wexford have to do is beat Fingal next week

Advantage Shels at the moment I'd say for definite. UCD and Waterford beginning to show the signs of cracking that people figured they might, while the Fingal lads seem happy just to collect a nice weekly paycheque and free apartment to live in. We're playing absolutely muck, but keep winning, so it looks bright, as we'll have to start playing well at some point, we certainly have the players to do so.

Quote Originally Posted by CSFShels View Post
    Advantage Shels at the moment I'd say for definite. UCD and Waterford beginning to show the signs of cracking that people figured they might, while the Fingal lads seem happy just to collect a nice weekly paycheque and free apartment to live in. We're playing absolutely muck, but keep winning, so it looks bright, as we'll have to start playing well at some point, we certainly have the players to do so.
    Is there really much of an advantage to anyone at this point?
    With just 2 points between the top 4, its as close as was expected. I know ye have a game in hand, but lose next week and its all changed again.

As i've already stated, i'd be pretty happy to take one of the play-off places and i still expect the likes of Wexford and Limerick to have a big say in who goes up.

Quote Originally Posted by Youths4Ever View Post
    after tonight's result I would say you could be right.

Waterford did not play as well as I have seen them play. Wexford played well enough though deserved the win the goal that Waterford scored was nothing short of sloppy from Wexford view point. Obviously very happy with the win looking forward to next Friday already
    yeah, Wallace pointed out last week that we're the only team outside the top 4 to beat a top 4 team, ie UCD, and now WD. Were looking very strong at the moment but unfortunately i dont think it'll be enough for a play off place. Those three losses at the start oft the season and the terrible display v Limerick are proving costly.
    A man can have no greater love than give 90 minutes to his friends

Quote Originally Posted by Splurge View Post
    yeah, Wallace pointed out last week that we're the only team outside the top 4 to beat a top 4 team, ie UCD, and now WD. Were looking very strong at the moment but unfortunately i dont think it'll be enough for a play off place. Those three losses at the start oft the season and the terrible display v Limerick are proving costly.
    20 games to go. The top 4 sides will take points off each other. Need to improve our home form and be more clinical in terms of finishing. 25/1 to win the division.
    YNWA LFC
    Forza Youths!

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by 5ForKeeps View Post
    25/1 to win the division.
    80/1 with Boyles.

Quote Originally Posted by CSFShels View Post

Cant say that after one round of games. It could all change again next week.

UCD are showing a minor wobble at best thats all and waterford losing one game doesnt mean they are cracking.

You could also look at the shels scenario and say that the fact yous are playing muck will eventually catch up with yous and a lot of those wins could turn into draws and loses. You could say that but who knows. But saying advantage shels is a little premature dont you think.

3,491 Posts
    I think Wexford could come into the hunt, to be honest. Caught the second half against Waterford, and they reminded me of us at times; very organised, playing on the counter, working very well for each other. Mightn't have the guile to keep beating the other mid-table teams, but they'll take more points off the top four anyways.

Shels and Fingal just don't seem good enough to go up; someone said that Shels will go up as they're still grinding results while UCD and Waterford are starting to slip; you could easily argue that Shels' slip is yet to come.

I disgaree that we're dependent on one player (Ronan Finn, I assume) too. Andy Boyle and Evan McMillan are starting to gel at centre half (the goal against Fingal ended a run of five straight clean sheets in a game we were rarely threatened in), for example. We conceded silly goals at the start of the season, but if we can keep racking up clean sheets now, that'd negate Killer's drop off in form to an extent. We've just had three tough games; we've not three games against bottom half sides before hosting Shels. I still think we're not good enough to go up, but let's see where we stand after the next four games.

Advantage us if there were two games in the season left. There isn't.

3,491 Posts
    Yep, good summary. "Advantage" is a worthless concept after 13 games.

I don't expect us to break into the top four this season but I'll be very happy if we finish best of the rest.

As for the winner, it's too close and much too early to call it yet, but it'll be another exciting finish and I think we could have a say in it.

Wexford will definitely have a big say. They've already shown they're more than capable of giving any of the top 4 a scare.
    I'm just happy we only have to play them once more and got maximum points off them so far (albeit being quite lucky in doing so)

Page 6 of 29 FirstFirst ... 4567816 ... LastLast