Thread: Alan Gough Resigns

Alan Gough Resigns

just heard there that he resigned last night

where do we go from here lads? bring back vinny?

http://www.ltfc.ie/news/article/?id=...d-23e4108f4c9b
    Last edited by RockofGibraltar; 24/05/2009 at 12:50 PM.
    we are going up

Hopefully a couple of the players who arent interested follow don't have to name them they know who they are, its desperate times its hard to know where to go from here. Kildare will be confident of catching us and unless we can turn things around they heve every right to think that

Another victim of the Mons curse.

What was the Longford supporters' view on Gough? Was always going to be a difficult job to take on
    4th official"Dermot, relax with the swearing" .Keely"Ah its grand, he's me son"

137 Posts
    Damnit!

Actually now that I think of it, any word on Coffey going, or might he become caretaker manager!?
    Last edited by atfconline; 24/05/2009 at 5:48 PM.
    Celebrating 130 Years of Athlone Town Football Club - Pride of the Midlands Since 1887

38 Posts
    was always going to be a difficult job,especially without the full backing of the board...

1,104 Posts
    It's hard to know where to go from here. Gough wasn't getting the best out of the players obviously and our disciplinary record is appalling which is always a bad sign of the spirit in the team. He apparently wasn't always there for training etc either which didn't help relations with the committee. The budget is low but it wasn't impossible to find decent players on it. Athlone's is lower for starters as is Mervue's, Wexford's etc. We'll see who comes in but they need to get the players together and all pulling their weight.

112 Posts
    What are we going to do about a keeper as well? Do we have back-up?
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

205 Posts
    its arse the whole thing.
    Sporting F*ck All!

Quote Originally Posted by atfconline View Post
    Damnit!

Actually now that I think of it, any word on Coffey going, or might he become caretaker manager!?

What I heard about Coffey is that he didnt resign with gough.. whether the committee want him around is another thing. I heard this at one today in the shopping centre. I am so relieved he has departed. Spirit was at its lowest.The discipline has being shocking to say the least. What I said on this forum a few weeks ago has being vindicated. I had a feeling friday night that something was going to happen. I even said it to Magicme friday night after the match.

Two interesting and not so interesting names have thrown their hats into the ring. Mickey O'Connor who has touted himself for the harps job and Roddy Collins. I wont disclose my source but he is a prominent poster on this forum..

81 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Pauro 76 View Post
    What are we going to do about a keeper as well? Do we have back-up?
    We already have a goalkeeper in. Fennelly. I take it ya still thaught Gough was in goal?

And ta think I thaught he was going to be the new Stephen Kenny
    Last edited by Keen2win; 24/05/2009 at 8:41 PM.

Two interesting and not so interesting names have thrown their hats into the ring. Mickey O'Connor who has touted himself for the harps job and Roddy Collins. I wont disclose my source but he is a prominent poster on this forum..
    Anyone who doesnt have a job at the moment is gonna get a mention so I wouldn't read anything into this.

Things are bad enough up there without appointing Roddy Collins!!!!!!!!!!!

112 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Keen2win View Post
    We already have a goalkeeper in. Fennelly. I take it ya still thaught Gough was in goal?

And ta think I thaught he was going to be the new Stephen Kenny
    I knew Fennelley had joined us, but wondered if Fennelley had back up?
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

47 Posts
    Had a feeling this might happen.
    Roddy Collins, the biggest <insert as appropiate> in Irish Football.

I got a text Sunday morning regarding this & the only way I can sum it up is,

When I got a text stating Matthews had left I was bitterly disapointed & it went on & on in my head for ages afterwards.
    When I got a text that Gough had left I turned over & went back to sleep & slept soundly. I may as well have drank a glass of warm milk.

Alan Matthews is not a glass of warm milk,
    Alan Gough = Lukewarm dairy produce.
    I just sit down at the typewriter & start hittin the keys, just hittin the keys. Getting them in the right order though thats the trick, thats the trick.

Garth Merenghi

47 Posts
    It is going to be another long season no matter who gets the job. Kildare will be improving as the season goes on and they get some more players in.
    Roddy Collins, the biggest <insert as appropiate> in Irish Football.

Quote Originally Posted by Salmon Coloured View Post
    I got a text Sunday morning regarding this & the only way I can sum it up is,

When I got a text stating Matthews had left I was bitterly disapointed & it went on & on in my head for ages afterwards.
    When I got a text that Gough had left I turned over & went back to sleep & slept soundly. I may as well have drank a glass of warm milk.

Alan Matthews is not a glass of warm milk,
    Alan Gough = Lukewarm dairy produce.
    great comparison there salmon coloured. I texted a lot of people but there wasnt as many people that texted back compared to two years ago when matthews quit..

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    It's hard to know where to go from here. Gough wasn't getting the best out of the players obviously and our disciplinary record is appalling which is always a bad sign of the spirit in the team. He apparently wasn't always there for training etc either which didn't help relations with the committee. The budget is low but it wasn't impossible to find decent players on it. Athlone's is lower for starters as is Mervue's, Wexford's etc. We'll see who comes in but they need to get the players together and all pulling their weight.
    see that gough had his whinge at the club in the sun today. he should look at brendan place at the job he has done at athlone with a much lesser budget. I m afraid that he was pampered for too long and didnt really spend that much time in the first division as a player except when he was player at galway utd a few yrs ago. heard from a reliable source that coffey will be caretaker manager

The real thing to worry about is that I hear from people in the game I have been talking to that Kildare will have a little bit of money to spend in the summer and some ok players to sign where as Longford Town have NO money and NO players WANT to play for them anymore !!!! So it realy looks like Kildare will have their tails up and will push on, can LTFC do likewise and battle to the end or get left behind ????
    De groot nummer 10