Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Thread: Vocal supporters needed

Just got off the phone with another interested in this but who's not in the south for the game and also got an email.Said that they'd be very interested in getting involved for future games and but it's just that we needed these friendlies to get some kind of establishment and if all went well possibly a ticket allocation.
    Going straight into the qualifiers hardly stands much chance because everyone would be seated away from another.

There's does seem to be a market,for want of a better word,for such a this South Terrace Vocal Irish but just the timing seemed to be slightly off.If the games were not bought as a triple header I'd say we could have got it going for the second game.Anyway on the positive I have numbers of lads interested in singing and if the opportunity comes up to try the South Terrace thing again I can get them together.

That's it though for the while.Over and Out.
    <insert witty remark>

How're yiz lads!

Great idea I must say, I hope to get down there early tonight, but I'm a bit ****ed off to hear you say that you get looked at ike you've got two heads when getting vocal on the South Terrace. I've been going there regularly for years to every game I can get tickets for (mostly friendlies since the corporates get so many for the competitive games). By the way you lads have been going on you'ld swear you were the only ones making noise at all, which isn't true or fair to everyone else who makes an effort. I think the atmosphere has been getting back to somthing like it's best, particularly at the Australia game, I thought it was great and lots of people around where we were joined in regularly with songs and chants, many of them starting themselves (who knows, maybe I was standing beside you guys!)

Originally posted by FinnanFC

I'm a bit ****ed off to hear you say that you get looked at ike you've got two heads when getting vocal on the South Terrace. I've been going there regularly for years to every game I can get tickets for (mostly friendlies since the corporates get so many for the competitive games).
    Exactly!Friendly days can be decent enough but the competitive games are dire down there.
    The plan in the long run was to sort out the South Terrace for competitive games,by getting an allocation of tickets for the WC campaign.
    <insert witty remark>

I know this is late in the day but there are tickets here, and most at face value.

We all know that trying to get a name for our selves at the current friendies is going to be difficult as its impossible to get tickets. So I have an alternative solution.

We can get tickets to home matches for the womens senior matches, mens u21 and u19 matches. If we are to show ourselves as true irish fans then we should go to these matches and make some noise at them. The FAI will notice us at them and we get practice at being organised. We won't be able to go to them all, most likely only those held in the evening.

Is anyone interested in this idea as a possible way forward?

cracking idea ProfFrink, with the advantage of getting to watch more football. win-win if you ask me, adn a great way to convince the FAI to get behind the idea of a vocal south terrace.

386 Posts
    yeah i would, eh except the womens football, i think you are pushing it there abit

I'm up for that.
    Although I go to underage matches now and then and there's rarely anyone singing.We might seem a bit out of place but what matter.
    <insert witty remark>

Exclamation ......................................

That sound good .... It is actually what happens in Italy ... Cup games are a bif thing but fans with stbbs from those games get priority for other games

3,500 Posts
    Yeah, I'd be up for that, been to a few underage games since I moved up to Dublin, been like a funeral sometimes

Originally posted by tetsujin1979
    Yeah, I'd be up for that, been to a few underage games since I moved up to Dublin, been like a funeral sometimes
    Rep of Ireland under 19's play Slovenia this evening 23 Feb at Richmond Park, Inchicore kicking off at 7:30pm

If we are going to go to this tonight then where should we meet up before what pub ie in town or in inichcore?

They're playing on Wendesday in Dalymount aswell,should we go with that instead,more time to plan.
    <insert witty remark>

I agree Beavis, today was a bit too short notice. Wednesday's game is on at 11.00am unfortunatly i'm in work then so I wouldn't be able to make that.

Here are some of the up coming fixtures from the FAI website, i'm sure they will add more as time goes by.

International Fixture List

Republic of Ireland Teams' Fixtures and Tournaments for 2004/05

For Ticket information click here

FEBRUARY 2004

18th February
    Ireland Seniors v Brazil
    Friendly
    Lansdowne Road
    Kick-off: 7.30pm

23rd February
    Ireland Under-19 v Slovenia
    Friendly
    Home

24th February
    Ireland Under-21 v Portugal
    Tournament
    Madeira
    Kick-off: 11:00am

25th February
    Ireland Under-21 v Italy
    Tournament
    Madeira
    Kick-off 4:00pm

25th February
    Ireland Under-19 v Slovenia
    Friendly
    Dalymount Park
    Kick-off: 11.00am

27th February
    Ireland Under-21 v Madeira
    Tournament
    Madeira
    Kick-off 10:00 am

27th February
    FAIS v Scotland
    Friendly
    Home

MARCH 2004

10th March
    Ireland Women's Seniors v Holland
    Friendly
    Holland

12th March
    Austria v FAIS
    Friendly
    Away

15th March
    Ireland Women's Under-19 v England
    Friendly
    Away

26th March
    England v FAIS
    Friendly
    Away

31st March
    Ireland Seniors v Czech Republic
    Friendly
    Lansdowne Road

APRIL 2004

2nd April
    FAIS v Northern Ireland
    Friendly
    Home

6th April
    Ireland Juniors v Netherlands
    Friendly
    Holland

6th April - 11th April
    Ireland Under 19 v Portugal/Norway/Ukraine
    Tournament
    Portugal

6th April - 11th April
    Ireland Under 16 v Portugal/Russia/Turkey
    Tournament
    Portugal

10th April
    Ireland Women's Seniors v Croatia
    European Qualifier
    Venue: tbc

12th April
    FAIS v New Zealand
    Friendly
    Home

19th-25th April
    Ireland Women's Under-19 v Denmark/Spain/Slovakia
    European Qualifiers
    Spain

22nd April
    Turkey v Ireland Under 17
    Friendly
    Turkey

24th April
    Turkey v Ireland Under 17
    Friendly
    Turkey

27th April
    Ireland Under-16 v Holland
    Friendly
    Dublin

29th April
    Ireland Under-16 v Holland
    Friendly
    Dublin

MAY 2004

1st May
    Romania v Ireland Women's Seniors
    European Qualifier
    Romania

7th May
    Ireland Under-15 v Northern Ireland
    Friendly
    Dublin

7th May
    Ireland Under-15 v Northern Ireland
    Friendly
    Dublin

9th May
    Bosnia-Herzegovina v Ireland Women's Seniors
    European Qualifier
    Bosnia-Herzegovina

19th May
    Belgium v Ireland Under 19
    European Qualifier
    Belgium

21st May
    Serbia and Montenegro v Ireland Under 19
    European Qualifier
    Belgium

23rd May
    Norway v Ireland Under 19
    European Qualifier
    Belgium

27th May
    Ireland Seniors v Romania
    Friendly
    Lansdowne Road

JUNE 2004

25th June
    Ireland Women's Seniors v Malta
    European Qualifier
    Venue: tbc

3,500 Posts
    Ditto, wednesday's game is out of the question for me due to work

The way things are in here right now I doubt I'll be able to make tonight's game either (

I didn't know it was on at 11.00 sorry lads.There doesn't seem to be an underage match until well after the senior Czech game.
    I think if yous try we'll be able to get tickets for the Czech game.Already the Buy and Sell has them going at face value as the glamour game punters want out.
    <insert witty remark>

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234