Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Fingal on Monday

Great result, but it seems our 2nd half performance wasn't great, lets hope this gives them confidence for next Saturday as Galway will be low on it going out 2-0 to UCD. When will the draw for the semi finals be ?
    Coleman for Ireland

well then im tipping us. 7/5 it is . do a double with ucd to beat galway at 5/1 and us at 7/5. a tenner will see ya return 144 yo yo's
    hope ye followed my advice i just won 144 yo yos lol. great to see us win and in semi final hopefully we can go on to win. this should give the lads some much needed confidence

hope i wasn't the only "mad" enough to back us to be beat a 1st division team at 12/5. great to go through obviously but keeping a clean sheet is also a huge boost. 1st time we've kept a clean sheet and scored in a game this season
    "Even if the sun ceases to rise, Even if the sea ceases to flow, Even if the wind stops to blow, The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning, glinting star in the sky."

Formerly: wild rover
    bit of a strange game. we were lucky to go in ahead at the break, second half we were the better team but they still had plenty of chances.

Holmes was fantastic for a lot of the game, Parkhouse was magnificent second half, he is improving. Brush MOTM though.

Raf had to go off injured. The goal was a great pull back from Parkhouse, Raf took a knock when scoring and didnt come back out.

Smile

how big was the crowd at the game?

Formerly: wild rover
    378....bout 100 from sligo

Great result, we looked dodgy in the first half, created a few chances second half. Could have beaten them by 2 or 3, saying that though, Fingal could have done the same.

Smile

the club did'nt make any money on this game. i think the share is 60% home club and 40% away team less officials expenses. hopefully we will get a home draw in the semi's and a money spinner

Quote Originally Posted by red arrow View Post
    the club did'nt make any money on this game. i think the share is 60% home club and 40% away team less officials expenses. hopefully we will get a home draw in the semi's and a money spinner
    Yeah its a pity the game wasnt in the Showgrounds, even if only 1000 turned up it would of been worth a few quid to us. But the most important thing is we went through. if we can get a home draw and it is marketed right we could pull a large crowd, every bit of extra money we can get might help us bring in a player or two in July.

Good to get the win. Performance in the 1st half was poor, midfield was non-existant and Fingal could easily have lead at half time. Played better in the 2nd half even though they had a couple of good chances. Some good saves from Brush (even if the peno was struck very close to him).

Parkhouse has improved in the last couple of games. Holding the ball up better and looking fitter. Should have scored at least 1 tonight though.

When is the draw for the next round?

I thought we were worse in midfield in the second half when O'Grady came on. They threw everything at us and Brush saved our asses. We missed Cretaro as he had been doing well. Fair play to him, he keeps producing the goods.
    The linesman on our side was shocking. The ref was poor as well. He was very keen to dish out yellow cards to our team. Peers' card was very debatable, Parkhouse got one for nothing unless he said something. Fingal got away with a couple of dodgy ones. Wasn't a dirty game or anything.
    Parkhouse did well. Nice touches and good strength on the ball. If he keeps improving I'll just have to revise my opinion on him - again!
    Fickle doesn't even come close to describing it.

Congrats on the win lads. Felt it was an even enough game. Pity we where missing so many of our first team( 5 or 6 players). We have a fair few injuries at the mo. I would have liked to have seen how our first 11 would do against top flight opposition. Best of luck in the next round.

Even enough game, lucky to get through really. Brush made some great saves and Parkhouse has been improving lately, which is great to see. Hopefully he keeps it going.

Semi-Final

Best game from holmes and parky yet imo. Parkhouse is exactly what we needed. An alright rovers crowd. Fingal were all over towards us at the end and had 5 chances wiith Brush doing well. Rommy has been very good recently aswell. Not the best of performaces but we're into a semi so who cares!

Any idea when the semi Final draw is?..pressume shams and Bohs will join us and UCD...who would ye prefer?..a home draw would be great.

Great result last night and i thought we deserved it, should have killed off the game on about 4 occassions after we had taken the lead. The goal was a massive confidence boost and for a spell in the second half i thought we played some good stuff when we created 3 or 4 good chances. Cretaro was really brave for the goal and took a boot to the head and had to be taken off at the half with the injury he picked up.

Richi Ryan shaded my man of the match i thought he fought a lone battle at times in the middle and in the second half tracked back to deny a Fingal player what would have been a certain goal. Parkhouse and Peers were both excellent with Holmes playing well as well and Steve Feeney having a decent game at centre back. We opened them up at times which was good to see somethig we have not being doing to teams of late.

The only thing i seen that i did not like was Boco playing in the centre of midfield, he aint a centre of midfield player he is better deployed elsewhere imo. He is a quality footballer and beter playing him a position that suits. To be Fingal would not look out of place in the premier and played some good ball and up until we scored give us some real concerns.

Anyway roll on the semi final and the Galway we need to beat these in the Connacht derby this weekend, as i think there are signs that we may be starting to click

Edit: The penalty that was given against was very soft , linesman give it even though the ref had a perfect view of it and was right in front and closer than the linesman. The officials and i thought esp the lines the far side were the worst i have seen at a match in a while. The inesman the far (Ohe one lino give the pen) was the worst i have ever saw, they looked out of their depth.
    Last edited by Rovers Maniac; 19/05/2009 at 8:39 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by CarrickFan View Post
    Any idea when the semi Final draw is?..pressume shams and Bohs will join us and UCD...who would ye prefer?..a home draw would be great.
    Monday week i think but not certain, great to be in it

Quote Originally Posted by CarrickFan View Post
    A home tie against UCD would probably be the best draw for us but any one of them will be tough at this stage!
    The fight is won or lost far away from witnesses - behind the lines, in the gym, and out there on the road, long before I dance under those lights.
    Muhammad Ali

Roy Keane is still a pri*k!

Quote Originally Posted by Mayo Red View Post
    A home tie against UCD would probably be the best draw for us but any one of them will be tough at this stage!
    not with the run their on at the moment

Rovers played with strong wind in first half, wind seemed to die in second half but sheet rain most of the match. We were much better in the second half as we tended to overhit the ball with the wind in the first half. Thought Brush's penalty was very good as he needed a very strong arm to put the ball over, never a penalty, referee was in great position but only blew when the hopeless linesman went mad with his flag. I suppose we have to live with the officials that are been dished up, can you imagine the uproar there would be if we had four officials doing a Sligo v Shams match in the Showgrounds and them all from Sligo . We will always have this problem. Fair play the rovers for working hard right up to the end, Cretaro was taken off after the injury just on half time but seemed none the worst of it when he came into the stand.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast