Thread: News of our benefactor on eleven-a-side.com

News of our benefactor on eleven-a-side.com

Article from eleven-a-side.com

Benefactor offers to clear debts

After securing a promotion play-off slot on a shoestring budget and a paltry support base, Limerick FC are to look beyond the city limits in an effort to broaden their appeal for the forthcoming season - and they have been boosted by a single benefactor who wants to wipe the club’s debts ahead of the new season.

Commercial Manager, John Purcell, revealed to the Limerick Leader that a generous benefactor has offered to wipe the club’s financial slate clean in time for the start of the new season.

The club are committed to giving another shot at reviving the glory days of the sport in the Treaty City, with the outer city areas to be targeted for additional support.

"Down the years Limerick always commanded a big following from county areas. That tapered off in recent times but with a winning formula we are convinced that we can tap back it again," said a spokesman for the club.

Now the club’s big worry is that some of the bigger clubs will come calling for their more talented players such as Stephen O’Flynn, Colm Heffernan, Conor Molan and Stephen O’Mahony.

Three questions:

1. I thought the club had no debts - there was a huge deal made out of this when MO'S resigned - is that not the case?

2. Conor Molan? I'd hate to lose him but 'more talented players'? At least they didn't mention Paddy and Finny.

3. On a related issue, any news on Brendan Sweeney. Will he stay?
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

AFAIK we have no debts, just a serious lack of income. I became aware of this 'benefactor' some weeks ago, but just thought it was yet another load of b*****ks. I hope I am wrong, but I reckon it still is. The word spread among the players was that some person/company offered to pump €50k into the club. I was also told later by a reasonably accurate source that this money was entirely reliant upon the club playing out of the Markets Field or purchasing their own ground. So I hope I'm wrong, but it seems we're starting out on this campaign the same way as we did last year. Our previous manager left the club because he was told that there was untold thousands coming into the clubs coffers, and was told he could more than double his wage bill as a result. He didn't fall for the hype and walked. I don't want this turned into a big discussion about Noel O'Connor, I'm just using that as an instance of how rumour and lies can damage morale, cause people to up and leave, and leave us all in the dark. I just hope thats not how we're starting off this season.

I heard today that some guy called Walsh(?) that put money into Longford Town in the past is putting up 50 grand

yea its the flancare guy

but he only put 100.000 into longford for naming rights to their stadium cos he was opening a big road haulage center up there...which didnt happen...so theres a risk for longford that he may leave them alltogether. the 50,000 is in the bank.

Just wondering is that the end of our flancare deal if this rumour is true?

maybe

im only going on what a longford fan whos big in ur club told me alst week. he was worried bout it too.

Whatever his name is I'd like to give him a hug!

Originally posted by sadloserkid
    Whatever his name is I'd like to give him a hug!
    Jaysus, just wait til we get the money first before you frighten the living sh it out of him.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Das Right..I was watching BBC 2 on Sat night and am sure I saw SLK listed among the stars of the top 20 Sitcoms ever...I know it's an old one but yer man is the spitting image of him