Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: no student tickets again

Originally posted by liamon
    And when I was young, I worked for 25 hours a day down the coal mine, ate a handful of cold gravel, got beaten by my Dad and paid 12 shillings for the privelige of it.

Those were good days.

[SIZE=4]LUXURY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1[/SIZE]

Are you telling me the youth of today dont know how good they have it????

If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.

I've nothing against students and I was one myself though very briefly.There should be a student price and thats all there is too it.City are trying to scrap an extra few quid out ppl.

When I was 18 I used to ask for a schoolboy ticket and they'd always ask me what age I was and they'd say 18 and over is full price,when there was a sign in the cabin saying 14-18 year olds is 5 euro.When I pointed this sign out to them they'd say 'ok so we'll leave ya off this week.Every week the same bloody thing.

I wasn't even going to bother to get involved with this one as there has been so much shíte written,....

Gary I honestly hope you are doing the lánger and just being a windup here which I think you are..

but if not....

Anyway, ye are all wasting ye're time in college anyway. its for losers. There are no jobs anymore.
    has to be the most stupid comment I've heard in a long long time...college is for losers eh Gary??? Doctors are loser, solicitors are losers, etc.. Ah sure they only earn a **** load of money, have nice big house and spanky new cars....losers obviously...

Name me one person you know who went to college in recent years and got a job directly from their course.
    Me for one, and a couple of my frends aren't too long out of college, the only real problem at the moment is in IT engineering sector....I was lucky enough to get one but Im a loser so that doesnt matter....

As for the college debate, I paid for myself during college , got myself a part time job but would have appreciated student discount offers in places..Money is scarce even with a job..but its worse these days with the high cost of living....

Its not going to hurt the club to offer student prices, if they do OAP prices then they could do students too, it may even bring new fans to the club, it is certainly not as bad as those with jobs doing the club out of money by getting U18 tickets for the games..
    Gary you have soem neck on ya giving out about students asking for discounts when you admit that you cheat the club out of money every game by being scanty and getting the cheap ticket...

sure we might as well charge OAPs full price too cause they only compalin about everything, and get free handouts every week too.....

end of rant...end of thread for me....

Originally posted by Gary

Name me one person you know who went to college in recent years and got a job directly from their course.

Guerzy guerzy guerzy, you are obviously not reading what Im saying(typing). I worked 3 nights a week in Limerick, if u call DJing work, i worked saturdays, and sunday mornings in Cork.

Hmm, my folks really gave me an easy go of it. But i got on with it. Most people do. I dont hear any of you muttering that there isnt a student price to get into some stupid nightclub on saturdays? Why would that be? And there any discounts on the drinks, or ol dolls in the clubs either.

whats ur point guerz. come on man, spit it out.

Admit it, you know im right, but you've dug such a deep hole now u cant get out of it.

gary... to sum up the arguement..
    you think its better that the club discourages students based on the fact that you work in a sh1t job with sh1t money and have to pay full price(even though you scab on that one) so they should have to pay the same price

or

city realise that theres a huge student population in cork.. offer a student price as bait... get a decent crowd of students coming every week... fan clubs develop in the colleges to promote the club and as the years go by you end up with an established culture in the colleges of promoting and attending matches and all of the ex college gang continue to return to the x, pump their money into city and who knows... maybe a few of them can donate cash to the club in years to come

wake up... just cos college didnt give you the life you desired doesnt mean all students are a waste of tax payers money....
    come out of your fishbowl some day and youll realise that all businesses give students discounts because it makes sense in the long run. students get cheaper haircuts,trains,flights,beer etc so why not city matches?

and finally... i also went to college and got a job when i was finished in that sector..
    you are a short sighted bitter muppett

I may be short sighted, hence the glasses, but certainly not bitter. In fact some people say Im quite sweet! Im so delighted that you got a job straight from college, in fact I find it hard to see how anyone could turn you down for a job?

And no, I don't feel that the club should discourage students from attending games, that's just plain stupidity, and if that's what u read from my posts, then maybe u should try read them again. Lets look at it another way. Remember on this board recently VITO GO LIGHTLY tried to start a UCC SC. He was shot down at first base by UCC. Why would it be any different is the club approached small minded SU ppl? Face the facts, there is no student price ok.

If they decide to install one, great, but it shouldn't be such a bloody issue.

The reason I have gone so OTT here in what was a WIND UP (swear to god, some ppl have no sense of humour whatsoever, and are so gullible its sickening), is that it is just another instance of moaning students. If a student price is installed and it is €7, guaranteed there will be more moaning that it should be €6 or €5 or whatever. Im sure you will find that a lot of students are there for the easy ride, have no intention of getting past 1st yr, and just take. Lots more on the other are dedicated to what they are doing and fair play to them. Just one last issue One Bounce. How do you know I didn't get my "desired" job out of college? Been a long time since I been a full time student.

Anyway, to use my favourite line which we used use in
    college when someone couldn't handle a wind up - "**** ya if ya cant take an aul joke!"

If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.

Smile Just to lighten up a very angry thread

Originally posted by Gary
    Anyway, to use my favourite line
    [i]
    Just while we're on the subject of favourite lines...
    I'm quite partial to the odd "I ask you" myself!

And that sums up my contribution to this thread!
    Champions!

let the students come along by all means but if they really want to support city, they should be ready to pay full price like all of us

Many students DO pay full price as it is. The simple fact of the matter is that there are empty seats out at the cross for every game, and offering a student price might fill some of them- whats wrong with that

Exclamation ...........................................

Originally posted by Éanna
    Many students DO pay full price as it is. The simple fact of the matter is that there are empty seats out at the cross for every game, and offering a student price might fill some of them- whats wrong with that

That there is the bones of it !!

Jebus ..... how can so much sh!t be written in one thread is beyond me.

If you read back over it .... you can really see who is talking sense and who is blinded by the own sh!t !!

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123