Thread: Should this forum not be called

Originally posted by SÓCcfc
    No thats the point Im making, in the recent past these lads would have played for the North but are now choosing to play for the Republic unlike the players you listed. Just seems to be a trend of late.
    This has always occured actuallt. Some choose not to represent us, others choose to play for us. Chris Baird was asked to play for the republic by Kerr personally, but chose to play for us.

812 Posts
    Originally posted by SÓCcfc
    A small country is losing 45% of their potential players.
    Yeah, but an only slightly less small one is gaining 30% more players (not counting the English-based diaspora).
    You can't spell failure without FAI

If people are born on this island they're entitled to play for Ireland. The government has made passports available to people in the 6 counties, because they are Irish! simple.

Originally posted by Éanna
    If people are born on this island they're entitled to play for Ireland. The government has made passports available to people in the 6 counties, because they are Irish! simple.
    everything seems to be simple for you

Some NI lads declare for the ROI for the very reason some english lads do - they try to play with the best international team that will have them. ROI has been better than NI for ages so they go south just as Morrison, etc cross the sea because england won't have them.

As for 2 teams look everyone benefits. twice as many strapped clubs get european football. I personally wouldn't mind having 4 associations in the country.

Originally posted by Éanna
    Its either Britain or its not.

Actually Northern Ireland isnt part of Britain, its part of the United Kingdom. Britain is an island.

Originally posted by davros

As there's more mixing of races this will be more of an'issue',but if they want to play & are entitled to....Why not?!
    are you a facist now as well

erm, what have the l/uvf got to do with this?

I think Davros and Lopez have a good knowledge of facism, as they seem to practice it on a daily basis on this forum, while everyone else on the forum is generally dead on.

Originally posted by Andyh
    I think Davros and Lopez have a good knowledge of facism, as they seem to practice it on a daily basis on this forum, while everyone else on the forum is generally dead on.
    Yes I do have a good knowledge of 'facism' (sic.), but maybe you would like to explain how I practice it?
    Last edited by lopez; 31/01/2004 at 10:10 PM.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

I think this is a little hard on Lopez and Davros.

There's little evidence in Lopez's fascination with nationality qualfication, or his occasional lapses into crude playground Spanish, of any real affinity with the corporate state, cult of personality leadership, or other standard features of the Third Reich.

While I doubt that Mussolini's motives for invading Abyssinia, Albania and Nice included the objective of making their mutant inhabitants feck off or integrate.

PS Fancy a beer in the Central Bar, Andy? I should be Carrick the w/e 19/22 February, and they had a good pint of Old Nollaig last time I was over
    They're red, they're black
    The hatchetmen are back.

We'll support you evermore
    Though you never score...

Originally posted by Duncan Gardner
    I think this is a little hard on Lopez and Davros.

There's little evidence in Lopez's fascination with nationality qualfication, or his occasional lapses into crude playground Spanish, of any real affinity with the corporate state, cult of personality leadership, or other standard features of the Third Reich.
    DG, thanks for your once again unsolicited interference. But could you let the wee lad answer for himself? He can't spell the word fascism. Let's see if he knows the first thing of what being a fascist entails, before I phone my solicitor.

Wink

'a policy of belligerent nationalism and racism'

I think that sums up Davros' thinking.

'suppression of the opposition through terror and censorship'

And i think that sums up Lopez' behaviour towards us poor Northern visitors to this site who can't say a word without being jumped upon.

Only joking of course lads. Sure you two wouldn't be the types to take anything seriosly would you????

I'm thinking DG if i've really upset Lopez and Davros i might need to make a few friends in the Central Bar.

Originally posted by Andyh
    'suppression of the opposition through terror and censorship'

And i think that sums up Lopez' behaviour towards us poor Northern visitors to this site who can't say a word without being jumped upon.
    Terror? I'm now a terrorist, so I am? Censorship? You have to look to our mutual fat friend for that one, or the Army Groupie and Research Boy, who took exception to me: 1. Ripping apart Dog Breath's post (not hard I know) 2. Pointing out that not all Ireland fans are thieves. 3. Suggesting that military regalia on a football website, especially one in NI, might be a bit alienating to a section of NI society.

Jumping on our Northern visitors? AG and RB gave as good as they got. In fact RB got in his first dig on ourweeminds. If he didn't call me a 'bigot' - perhaps I should have taken this as a compliment: like a Brazilian saying I was brilliant football player - I would have left him alone. If AG didn't come out with all that Barry White about reading the Irish Post then he too would not have got the 'treatment.' Anyway I've been sticking up for Army Groupie lately after his 'links' with Arkan were exposed. Photos of 'facists' were paraded from various sites but they all seemed to me like Rangers fans waving for the camera. I've yet to jump on Nifan or BB - perhaps because they haven't made any snide personal remarks about/to me - and I left Black Dog alone even though - oooooohh!!! - I could feel the hostility to the man who put his mad brother in his kennel pouring out of my monitor. DG and me have been sparring long before we jousted on this forum and he is more than up for it. And I've yet to jump on you (OK that bit about Martin O'N excepted, but it was just a question).

Listen young whippersnapper, you're lucky I've just had a w*nk and am in a fairly good mood...and I've a soft spot for Glentoran (well they play in green). Also that so far you have generally not come out with - offending post excepted - much cr*p. F*cking call me a 'facist' again and you'll definitely need to see your mates in the Central Bar.

PS: Try using a spell-check!
    Last edited by lopez; 01/02/2004 at 3:25 PM.

I still dont know what the l/uvf has to do with anything here?

Sure they have some fascinating literature on fascism et al.Why not write & ask?
    It pains me to question you in front of our new found northern friends, but Fascism with a small 'f' is not confined to the unionist community (one party state, armed militia, vertical society, government sanctioned extrajudicial executions). My good mate (best man at mutual weddings) was informed the previous weekend that his cousins' house in Feeny Co. Derry had an extrajudicial visit of their own from 'the boys'. Their 'crime'? Having a spate of a loud parties and smoking some Moroccan Old Holborn. Environmental Health Chucky Style entails having the front door shot to pieces.
    Originally posted by nifan
    I still dont know what the l/uvf has to do with anything here?
    The subject of l/uvf was brought up after Bannerside boy suggested Dav was a fascist for saying: 'As there's more mixing of races this will be more of an 'issue'.' Now I may be the little boy in Hans Christian Andersen's 'The Emperor's New Clothes', but I think all he was doing was pointing out the bloody obvious. Perhaps you should ask BBboy what is 'fascist' about this statement, particularly coming from someone of 'mix race' himself?

Originally posted by lopez
    It pains me to question you in front of our new found northern friends, but Fascism with a small 'f' is not confined to the unionist community (one party state, armed militia, vertical society, government sanctioned extrajudicial executions). My good mate (best man at mutual weddings) was informed the previous weekend that his cousins' house in Feeny Co. Derry had an extrajudicial visit of their own from 'the boys'. Their 'crime'? Having a spate of a loud parties and smoking some Moroccan Old Holborn. Environmental Health Chucky Style entails having the front door shot to pieces.
    Aye but it would be pointless of me to start referring to the IRA every time I was making a point to members of this board. Terrorists are pretty much sum whatever way you look at it, so I wish davros would give up on the "but the loyalists are worse" etc.

Dont recall the incident in feeny - was it recent? Whatever its typical of the terrorists who want to rule their way.

two national teams

virgin post so apologies for any mispelt words.the original post was an enquiry about dual team/s.as far as i can remember i and all of my friends were solid behind norn irn in 82 as our lot were still being discriminated against by dodgy refs in sofia
    go on the woods

Originally posted by nifan
    Dont recall the incident in feeny - was it recent? Whatever its typical of the terrorists who want to rule their way.
    Re: Feeny. See ic.derry.com. Armed Gang Attacks House

BT and BBCUlster carried the story but the BT article has gone into the archives (which you have to pay).

Also regarding the recent attacks on ethnic minorities in the North, this has been going on for at least six years in the Republic, so we shouldn't feel too smug about this either. And - surprise, surprise - while the SF leadership talks about a more tolerant attitude to immigrants, both North and South, the 'grass roots' have been found to be more anti-immigrant than either voters of FF or the Blueshirts.

Aye,yer right....we need to address our own problems in this respect....just that I think even the'grassroots'haven't quite stooped to being in Lge.with 'mainstream'fascists like the JA fan club et al!
    Do the people you quote have a political ideology? Mad Dog listened to Celine Dion and Goldie most of the time he was in the Kesh while Grugg hated all and sundry except Israel, because 'they are just like us fighting terrorism.' As for Skelly, well he'd be wearing a pink triangle on his pyjamas in Dachau if he lived in Third Reich.