Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Northern Ireland

2,771 Posts

Foot.ie! Northern Ireland

(mods, maybe this can be made a poll?)

I remember watching the 86 World Cup in Mexico - its one of my earliest soccer memories - and I was cheering for Northern Ireland. I really wanted them to do well.

In the event that the North qualified for SA10 and we didnt would the posters here adopt them as their team to cheer on for the tournament? I know there are a few run ins with the nordie foot.ie posters here and i dont agree with a lot of their opinions but i for one would love to see them do well.

Who else here would cheer for them or who would like to see them get thrashed?
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

I would not like them do to well purely cause I would be a neutral and I do not think they play attractive football. I would not support us either if I was a neutral as we play dire football to watch. When I am a neutral, entertainment is the only way to go hence why I have supported Spain and Argentina recently
    In Trap we trust

reder
    It depends on who they were playing. As a matter of interest, do they ever want us to do well? I always got the impression that we would be the last team they would support.

I have generally supported England in all tournaments that Ireland have failed to reach, not sure why, just like to see them do well.

Should Northern Ireland qualify and Republic fail, I will definately be following them & England.

170 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by reder View Post
    It depends on who they were playing. As a matter of interest, do they ever want us to do well? I always got the impression that we would be the last team they would support
    Can only speak for myself, but at the moment I'd probably support you in any game where you were clearly underdog (say against Argentina, Spain or Brazil).

Leaving aside party politics and rows such Darren Gibson etc., there's a natural, ongoing bigger-smaller brother rivalry. You could equally ask how many RoI fans would support England if you don't make it this time.

1,025 Posts
    I'd support them in a lazy way. I'd hope they won, but wouldn't be bothered too much if they lost.

386 Posts
    As they are technically our C team, I'd wish them well. I don't think they'll qualify but if they do, you'd have to give them a lot of credit.

I'd support them and always have done. It's a team of Irish lads too after all. Couldn't give a tuppeny feck if some -even many of their support don't reciprocate the goodwill. That's their business and their choice.

If I can get past or avoid the bull-**** that goes with them I try and keep an eye out for England as well and would most certainly support Wales or Scotland in any game.

Standard of football being played is not important to me. I'll root for a kick'n'rush underdog playing a silken skilled "big" team every time.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

228 Posts
    I'd watch them play if it was on and I was in the house, but I wouldn't go out of my way to watch. I have never supported them. The Republic has always been my team. In the event that Ireland don't qualify, I usually follow Germany.

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie View Post
    I'll root for a kick'n'rush underdog playing a silken skilled "big" team every time.
    You'll be supporting Kildare tonight?

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    i support any team who plays football in the spirit of the game, no cheating or diving and try its best to win - so i could support england and nor iron!

214 Posts
    I'd support em. Missus is from Tyrone so might not have much of a say in the matter

Good luck to them. I hope both nations qualify and we draw them in the group stages!

21 Posts
    I supported them in the 82 and 86 campaigns. However, after Windsor Park 93 I now support anybody but them. I cheer for everybody against them, Moldova, Slovenia... even England.

I think that they'd be a great draw for us in the playoffs tho' - After the rubby All-Ireland at Croker (Munster v Leinster) we could have a soccer All-Ireland there.

170 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ifk101 View Post
    As they are technically our C team, I'd wish them well. I don't think they'll qualify but if they do, you'd have to give them a lot of credit
    Thanks for the good wishes, but I think we'll pass on the kind offer. I'd concentrate on qualifying a bit more often before you invest in a C team.

Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie View Post
    I'd support them and always have done. It's a team of Irish lads too after all. Couldn't give a tuppeny feck if some -even many of their support don't reciprocate the goodwill
    I'm glad to reciprocate it, but to honest I'd prefer other fans supported us as underdogs, or for flowing sexy football, or some other reason not based on us being next door. I hardly ever support England, and generally wouldn't back Scotland or Wales against a weaker country.

Quote Originally Posted by Shilts View Post
    I supported them in the 82 and 86 campaigns. However, after Windsor Park 93 I now support anybody but them. I cheer for everybody against them, Moldova, Slovenia... even England
    Come on, it was 16 years ago, time to move on. But if not, have you forgotten that your new buddy England's fans smashed up your stadium a couple of years later?

I think that they'd be a great draw for us in the playoffs tho' - After the rubby All-Ireland at Croker (Munster v Leinster) we could have a soccer All-Ireland there.
    Sorry to disappoint, but even if we manage second (which would almost certaionly involve winning our first away game against a top-two seeded country since WC 1986), the consensus on the relevant thread here seems to be that FIFA and UEFA will rig the draw to keep France, Germany or any other big boys slumming it, apart from each other.
    Last edited by Gather round; 17/04/2009 at 9:45 PM.

284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ifk101 View Post
    As they are technically our C team, I'd wish them well.
    After years of your being England's C team, I wouldn't get too sniffy if I were you...

I always wished NI well and would have supported them whoever they were playing (except us, obviously).

However the Neil Lennon saga turned me off them. I personally have no time for Lennon but the way he was treated was disgusting. I couldn't give a toss about them now tbh.

reder
    Quote Originally Posted by Gather round View Post
    the consensus on the relevant thread here seems to be that FIFA and UEFA will rig the draw to keep France, Germany or any other big boys slumming it, apart from each other.
    Id say that there will be warm balls in that pot alright. Probably best if we didnt meet to be honest because all that nonsense about GSTQ in Croke Park would come back and it would probably be 20 times worse given that it is football. It wouldnt probably overshadow the game itself.

I personally, would love to go up to Windsor for an away though. Would love to sample the atmosphere there. Seems top notch for the numbers. Fair play to you for that.

Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post

I remember watching the 86 World Cup in Mexico - its one of my earliest soccer memories - and I was cheering for Northern Ireland. I really wanted them to do well.

In the event that the North qualified for SA10 and we didnt would the posters here adopt them as their team to cheer on for the tournament? I know there are a few run ins with the nordie foot.ie posters here and i dont agree with a lot of their opinions but i for one would love to see them do well.

The latter.
    I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.

In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.

Every set of IL/Ni fans that we have been involved with in the Setanta have been brilliant. From being treated like kings at Windsor to hosting a huge gang of excellents Glens supporters to the trips to Dungannon, Ports etc have been great experiences.

For that reason more than any other I'd want them to do well, for those fans.

Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post

Wouldn't really mind how they do. If they win the World Cup, fine, if they lose their three group matches, fine.
    I'm a 23yr old right-handed heterosexual who drinks milk and likes democracy. - dcfcsteve knows me well

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast