Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: CL Final

Ferguson got it wrong on the night alright but his players, bar Ronaldo, didn't seem up for it at all. VDS could have done better for the Etoo goal but I'd agree with Dunphy that Vidic should take the lions share of the blame there. O'Shea did alright, no better. Vidic and Ferdinand were useless and Evra didn't get forward enough (probably a tactic to keep him back but it wasn't working and should have been changed). Carrick and Anderson aren't good enough for this stage, they just aren't. Giggs is so far past it as a starting player it's laughable Fergie even considered him, let alone went with it. Park is a poor man's Dirk Kuyt, Rooney was misused again, but he still deserves his fair share of criticism for not showing up, where as Ronaldo seemed up for it but got frustrated again and fell out of the game. Scholes is probably the nastiest footballer I've ever seen, that challenge on Basquets was shocking, I heard ITV laughed it off as just another Scholes tackle again Berbatov should be sold in the summer and Tevez couldn't do much when he came on as the 10 players around him already looked defeated.

Fair play to Barca though, thought United a thing or two about football tonight, in particular Iniesta, Messi, Xavi and Puyol, with an extra nod to Basquets and Pique for holding their nerve on such a large occasion.

Barca knocked the ball around brilliantly at times,Messi is a joy to watch,Iniesta and Xavi ran midfield,Man Utd never showed up,i'd be disappointed if i were a Utd fan,Messi's first goal against a Premiership team also

Ha ha Jebus what a loads of absolute rubbish youa re talking there. Explaing 3 league titles and 2 Champions league finals. Are you sure you have not just finished at RTE and have not logged on to foot.ie.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    Ha ha Jebus what a loads of absolute rubbish youa re talking there. Explaing 3 league titles and 2 Champions league finals. Are you sure you have not just finished at RTE and have not logged on to foot.ie.
    Care to wipe those bitter tears out of your eyes and highlight the parts you disagree with?

Ha ha, I could not give a **** as I do not support Utd. I Support Ireland and Bohs. Was hoping an Irish man would get another champions league medal but really enjoyed Barcas midfield. So no tears bitter or joyful.

Generally your point was over the top. Man Utd were poor tonight you have reached conclusive opions based on very thin evidence. Utd have won 3 league titles on the trot and 2 Champions league finals on the trot. So they are doing lots of things right. Their midfield was not great tonight and they probably could do with the introduction of a world class midfielder to replace giggs and scholes and Hargreaves who looks like he is going to retire.

Berbatov contributed 10 assists and 9 goals this season. Not bad for his first season at Man Utd. His style puts people off but his a classy player. Anderson is so young and inexperienced that to right him off is a joke. In conclusion your whole post is like some Dunphy rant that attempts to right Man Utd off when they beat Barca over two legs last season and this season lost to them. Some games teams win some they lose but over a decent period of time you can judge them and Man Utd seem to be doing pretty well with Ferguson in charge and with the players they have.
    Last edited by NeilMcD; 27/05/2009 at 10:30 PM.
    In Trap we trust

What impressed me about Barcelona so much tonight was the way their players moved off the ball, always seemed to be in a position to recieve the ball. It almost made it look like they had more players than United how well they used the space and got away from their markers. A joy to watch nonetheless and football really came out victorious on the night.

Agree with stutts that Puyol acting the b**lox was the only downer for the Spaniards tonight.
    Cmon County!

Hiddink decided not to even bother playing football against Barca and his tactics were very nearly vindicated.

UTD don't have players in Midfield with the class of Iniesta and Xavi(and Messi dropping deep sometimes) and they gave UTD a lesson in technique and awareness.

Ferguson needed a tactical plan to counter act Barca superior technical ability and just didn't seem to have one.

Ha ha, I could not give a **** as I do not support Utd. I Support Ireland and Bohs. Was hoping an Irish man would get another champions league medal but really enjoyed Barcas midfield. So no tears bitter or joyful.

Generally your point was over the top. Man Utd were poor tonight you have reached conclusive opions based on very thin evidence. Utd have won 3 league titles on the trot and 2 Champions league finals on the trot. So they are doing lots of things right. Their midfield was not great tonight and they probably could do with the introduction of a world class midfielder to replace giggs and scholes and Hargreaves who looks like he is going to retire.
    Bar Anderson, Giggs and Carrick I didn't criticise any player outside of tonights game unduly. I called Park a poor man's Kuyt and he is, he works hard, tracks back well, but Kuyt scores more and even better he scores on big occasions. Not a huge criticism of Park because I actually rate both himself and Kuyt. All the other comments bar the three I've highlighted were on tonights performance, not this season or the last few seasons.

And I'll stand by saying Carrick and Anderson aren't good enough for that level, Xavi and Iniesta vs Carrick and Anderson should tell you that United need to buy in the summer. Giggs should retire, he's a grand cameo performer against smaller opponants but he's only kept around because he has been a great servant of the club, not on merit. That Players Player of the Year award was a joke before anyone brings it up too.

Oh wait I called Scholes a hacker, can anyone dispute this? So whats your point?

It must be rememberd too that football was the winner last year too at the Champions League final even if it took penalties to decide it. Man Utd were immense in the first half against Chelsea last year. Barca were great tonight and it was a match between two great clubs. One team showed up and played great and the other did not and was outclassed. But to say that football was the winner innsinuates that somewho Man Utd were anti football in the way that Chelsea were in the Camp Nou or that Liverpool were a few years ago in Europe.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Bar Anderson, Giggs and Carrick I didn't criticise any player outside of tonights game unduly. I called Park a poor man's Kuyt and he is, he works hard, tracks back well, but Kuyt scores more and even better he scores on big occasions. Not a huge criticism of Park because I actually rate both himself and Kuyt. All the other comments bar the three I've highlighted were on tonights performance, not this season or the last few seasons.

And I'll stand by saying Carrick and Anderson aren't good enough for that level, Xavi and Iniesta vs Carrick and Anderson should tell you that United need to buy in the summer. Giggs should retire, he's a grand cameo performer against smaller opponants but he's only kept around because he has been a great servant of the club, not on merit. That Players Player of the Year award was a joke before anyone brings it up too.

Oh wait I called Scholes a hacker, can anyone dispute this? So whats your point?
    No midfield players are up to the standard of Iniesta or Xavi. so to say that Carrick and Anderson are not is not much of a point. Xavi and Iniesta are simply the best central midfielders playing the game at the moment by a country mile. There are not many central midfielders out there.
    In Trap we trust

No midfield players are up to the standard of Iniesta or Xavi. so to say that Carrick and Anderson are not is not much of a point. Xavi and Iniesta are simply the best central midfielders playing the game at the moment by a country mile. There are not many central midfielders out there.
    Alright so, Carrick and Anderson aren't as good as Xabi Alonso and Mascherano, or Essien and Lampard or Diarra and Gago or Pirlo and Gattuso or Senna and Fernandez or Cesc and whatever rubbish player Wenger plays alongside him

They're not good enough for the top level, Anderson especially, but Carrick is very average as well
    Last edited by jebus; 27/05/2009 at 10:46 PM.

Well Man Utd seem to do pretty well if their central midfielders are so rubbish or maybe they are not rubbish and you are talking through yoru arse.
    In Trap we trust

Well Man Utd seem to do pretty well if their central midfielders are so rubbish or maybe they are not rubbish and you are talking through yoru arse.

Ahh Jebus dont take it so bad you will be ok.
    In Trap we trust

I'm just worried about what will happen when you have to take your Ryan Giggs posters down

Never had any. Only posters I had when I was 8 and 9 and 10 were Ireland ones. Now I do not have posters. As I said already only reason I was hoping that Man Utd won was because John O Shea was playing for Man Utd, if he was playhing for Barca I would have gone for them.
    In Trap we trust

Alright so, Carrick and Anderson aren't as good as Xabi Alonso and Mascherano, or Essien and Lampard or Diarra and Gago or Pirlo and Gattuso or Senna and Fernandez or Cesc and whatever rubbish player Wenger plays alongside him

They're not good enough for the top level, Anderson especially, but Carrick is very average as well
    Carrick's better than Busquets. Well above him. As I said earlier in the thread, some players are in there to play a specific role. I happen to think Anderson is a smashing player. He just had a poor game.

Oh and you dind't always know about Iniesta

Basquets isn't first choice though, Yaya Toure normally plays in there and he's miles better than either Anderson or Carrick as well

And that link was 2007, and two points, not many disagreed with my querying of why Iniesta was in there on form and two quit living in the past Dodge
    Last edited by jebus; 27/05/2009 at 11:06 PM.

Oh by the way is the Arsenal central midfield the same one that got destroyed by Anderson and by Carrick over two legs.
    In Trap we trust

Basquets isn't first choice though, Yaya Toure normally plays in there and he's miles better than either Anderson or Carrick as well
    Who mightn't be first choise if Hargreaves and Fletcher are available. In last night's game, Carrick was nowhere near Utd's weak link and I think you're being OTT in singling him out. He got no support and had to try and eadl with Xavi, Iniesta and Messi as well as try and start the attacks. If he's given enough support, he'd be OK.

Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast