Thread: Chadwicks Cup 2009

Here is the 3rd round draw games to be played Thursday 25th June @ 7-00 k.o

Manulla v Kiltimagh/Knock Utd
    Ballyheane or Straide & Foxford Utd v Snugboro Utd.
    Swinford v Glenhest Rovers
    Castlebar Celtic v Kilmore
    Urlaur Utd v Moy Villa
    Achill Rovers v Conn Rangers
    Westport Utd v Westport Utd. ‘B’
    Crossmolina v Charlestown Athletic
    Last edited by murphs jewels; 08/06/2009 at 11:17 AM. Reason: more information

Quote Originally Posted by murphs jewels View Post
    Here is the 3rd round draw games to be played Thursday 25th June @ 7-00 k.o

Ballyheane or Straide & Foxford Utd v Snugboro Utd.
    Urlaur Utd v Moy Villa
    Crossmolina v Charlestown Athletic
    Original draw issued by the Mayo League has an error. Here is the revised draw issued this week

Ballyheane v Snugboro Utd.
    Urlaur Utd v Moy Villa
    Bye Charlestown Athletic

646 Posts
    Original draw issued by the Mayo League has an error. Here is the revised draw issued this week

Ballyheane v Snugboro Utd.
    Urlaur Utd v Moy Villa
    Bye Charlestown Athletic
    Ballyheane 4-1 Snugboro United.

Any other results out there? Westports played last night no?

celtic 7-1 kilmore
    www.castlebarceltic.com

What the mind can conceive and believe, it can achieve!

Quote Originally Posted by joe_denilson View Post
    Ballyheane 4-1 Snugboro United.

Any other results out there? Westports played last night no?
    The A side beat the B last night. Think it was 2-1. Any other results from tonight? Are the Super league matches on Sunday then? Seems a bit much playing Thursday and Saturday nights...

Manulla 3 v 1 Kiltimagh/Knock Utd.
    Ballyheane 4 v 1 Snugboro Utd.
    Swinford 4 v 1 Glenhest Rovers
    Castlebar Celtic 7 v 1 Kilmore
    Urlaur Utd. 1 v 2 Moy Villa
    Achill Rovers 1 v 0 Conn Rangers
    Westport Utd. 2 v 1 Westport Utd. ‘B’

Quarter Finals------------Thursday 30th July @ 7.00pm

Manulla v Castlebar Celtic
    Ballyheane v Swinford
    Westport Utd. v Moy Villa
    Achill Rovers v Charlestown Athletic

Conn rangers wer unlucky against achill.had a shot cleared off the line and achill keeper should have been sent off but only got a yellow.good game but pitch was like a war zone

defender was well behind keeper when tackle was made.
    www.achillrovers.com
    Achill Rovers Official Facebook Page....

Disclaimer:Facebook Page may not actually be official

not a chance,it was a cynical foul.he was goin around the keeper ready to pass it into the net and he was taken down

Quote Originally Posted by Footy Mad View Post
    Quarter Finals------------Thursday 30th July @ 7.00pm

Manulla v Castlebar Celtic
    Ballyheane v Swinford
    Westport Utd. v Moy Villa
    Achill Rovers v Charlestown Athletic
    are the semi final pair-ups known already, or is it a draw after these are played?

*bump*
    www.achillrovers.com

51 Posts
    Swinford through after pens - great game by 2 good sides - match finished 2-2 aet

646 Posts
    Heard Moy Villa beat Westport 3-2 and Charlestown beat Achill 3-1. So plenty of shocks this evening.

Edit: Just checked Aertel and Manulla beat Celtic 3-2.
    Last edited by Closed Account; 30/07/2009 at 10:51 PM.

Achill Rovers 1 - 3 Charlestown Athletic

Tough but fair game played with a high tempo through out. Cannot fault any referee decisions and thought he had a fair game but i cannot understand 2 things..... Where were the ofically appointed lines men????? and why would the MAFL play such an important game on a thursday evening at 7-00pm. We had to leave Charlestown at 4-30 to make the fixture and therefore had only a skeleton squad. Do they belittle this competition to put such an important game on at a time when a club cannot bring a full squad or that they dont insist on linesmen turning up????? and to be fair we had 2-3 off side decisions wrongly given against us and fair play to the Achill official, he actually said as much and therefore unlucky not to have scored more and had 1 ruled out for off side. That said great preformance from our lads and hopefully we can push on from here. Best of luck to Achill for the rest of the season and complements on having the pitch look so well.

Great result for Moy Villa. Couldnt believe it when i saw it. There must be serious problems at Westport at the moment, but in saying that anyone can beat anyteam on any given day. Moy Villa probably wanted it more and got what they deserved.
    Manulla wont fancy taken on any of the lower league teams but should be favourites to lift the cup at this stage. If i was to pick a winner now id go for Swinford.
    Are the semis still a double header in Milebush???

Achill Rovers 1 - 3 Charlestown Athletic

Tough but fair game played with a high tempo through out. Cannot fault any referee decisions and thought he had a fair game but i cannot understand 2 things..... Where were the ofically appointed lines men????? and why would the MAFL play such an important game on a thursday evening at 7-00pm. We had to leave Charlestown at 4-30 to make the fixture and therefore had only a skeleton squad. Do they belittle this competition to put such an important game on at a time when a club cannot bring a full squad or that they dont insist on linesmen turning up????? and to be fair we had 2-3 off side decisions wrongly given against us and fair play to the Achill official, he actually said as much and therefore unlucky not to have scored more and had 1 ruled out for off side. That said great preformance from our lads and hopefully we can push on from here. Best of luck to Achill for the rest of the season and complements on having the pitch look so well.
    credit where its due ye did very well to turn us over. Although we did miss 2 clearcut sitters, 2 1 on 1s and 1 or 2 smart saves from yere keeper.

if we scored the first goal im sure it would have ended with a different result Regardless, the penalty was stupidly given away because the attacker had knocked the ball too far to make it but it was taken sweetly! 2nd goal just before half time was a sucker punch, long ball over the top on the counter.
    When we got our goal (and it was coming) i felt it was deffo there for us but ye totally winded us scoring quite literally straight away after. Sickened. In the end there was pressure pressure pressure by us but couldnt break ye down! ye played awful deep and plenty boys behind the ball! great pace on the break tho!
    makes it worse goin over it today is the teams left in the competition and that ye genuinely have a sweet chance of some silverware!
    enjoy yere run in milebush! beshta luck to yiz!

ye never give us a handy game do ye!!
    edit: were you playin murphs?
    www.achillrovers.com

Quote Originally Posted by achillrover View Post
    credit where its due ye did very well to turn us over. Although we did miss 2 clearcut sitters, 2 1 on 1s and 1 or 2 smart saves from yere keeper.

if we scored the first goal im sure it would have ended with a different result Regardless, the penalty was stupidly given away because the attacker had knocked the ball too far to make it but it was taken sweetly! 2nd goal just before half time was a sucker punch, long ball over the top on the counter.
    When we got our goal (and it was coming) i felt it was deffo there for us but ye totally winded us scoring quite literally straight away after. Sickened. In the end there was pressure pressure pressure by us but couldnt break ye down! ye played awful deep and plenty boys behind the ball! great pace on the break tho!
    makes it worse goin over it today is the teams left in the competition and that ye genuinely have a sweet chance of some silverware!
    enjoy yere run in milebush! beshta luck to yiz!

ye never give us a handy game do ye!!
    edit: were you playin murphs?
    Cheers for the good wishes. Ye have some lovely players and ill be shocked if ye dont go up this year. As was said earlier in this thread there is always tough games between the two sides and I think we just edged it in the end. We were down to bare bones but we got everything out of every player and defended very well. 4 players playing their 1st game of the season our regular keeper playing in midfield and a forward (who came on) back from oz last friday. Great result considerin .... Oh ya I was the last sub ..... just a class act

vintage stuff! ha, eh i can only think of one our lads who could hold his head high after last night. nobody was at it at all

serious squad strength at ye if that was the bones with 4 new lads coming in that ably
    www.achillrovers.com

Quote Originally Posted by achillrover View Post
    vintage stuff! ha, eh i can only think of one our lads who could hold his head high after last night. nobody was at it at all

serious squad strength at ye if that was the bones with 4 new lads coming in that ably
    Stand in Keeper 1st game, 2 centeral midfielders 1st game (except Keeper who had to play out field 6 games in goal), Sub forward 1st game (From oz who scored 3rd) Young lad came on with 15 mins to go 1st game and moi 1st 5 mins ( and last) this season . What did you make of lack of linesmen?? do you honestly think that ref got all our off side decisions correct??

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast