Well spotted stu - except my english grammar is only at D+... at best.
I meant For Gods' sake at the time (I think).
Also, on mature reflection, I have now decided that I can no longer believe in apostrophes ...or semi-colons either for that matter!
John 83 are you any relation of John 3:17. Anyone think it unusual to have religious banners at big games ??? - What a tangent, even for me!!!
The wording of a blasphemy law would be legally impossible in my opinion.
It would be very hard to include/omit the fringe religion/cult and I think that we are going down a very dangerous road with this. While it is hard to define blasphemy, in Ireland we'd end up with an opus dei committee to decide which gods and religions were important enough to be included in this law.
Steven Gerrard, Kaka or Lionel Messi anyone? Gods/prophets/saints???
Would it be allowed to slag off saints such as saint-in-training Mother Theresa, who has a slightly dodgy record according to some people???
I see this passed the Dáil the other day. In my admittedly fairly cursory browsing on the subject, I haven't seen a defense of the law offered apart from a one-liner that seems to suggest that the JM implemented it because of a "need" for a law because of the Constitution, is that correct? Surely the logical solution would be to tack removal onto the spurious Lisbon referendum? We're having one already, let's take advantage of it!
The Constitution argument is a load of.... The Constitution is ambiguous on lots of areas that sucessive Governments haven't felt the need to legislate for.
And if you really do need to do something, change the Constitution (throw it in with Lisbon as you suggest).
FF right wing little Ireland church element firmly behind this.
... So when can we, if at all, start laughing at people praying to a tree stump 30 miles from here?
Sceptics Stumped (RTEs Title ...I'm watching you liberal media pinkos)
Though before losing the run of ourselves in a frenzy of zealous fervour we should perhaps consider the calming wise counsel of the local padré whos understated, simple words bely a deep, rich truth at their very heart ....
....'It's only a tree' said local parish priest Father Willie Russell.
" I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"
What'll happen to him now?
Extratime.ie
Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.
Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.
Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.
That's from the above article. Made me laugh anyway! Not as much as the following quote though:'One of the lads said look, our Blessed Lady in the tree,' Mr White said. 'One of the other lads looked over and actually knelt down and blessed himself, he got such a shock.'
So the church is against superstition! Brilliant!'While we do not wish in any way to detract from devotion to Our Lady, we would also wish to avoid anything which might lead to superstition,' said Fr Paul Finnerty.
Anyhoo- the church reckons that it's just a tree so the people who are worshipping it are flipping blasphemers and should be prosecuted to the full extent of the law.
This is nothing other than Dermot Aherns campaign for next leader of FF
DB Cooper is alive !
The law provides for a definition of blasphemy, aswell, and the general consensus is that you have to INTEND to cause outrage for it to be a crime.
Never said it was OK... just that it's not really a blasphemy law in fairness.
Some questions for the FAQs
Do you have to nail your colours to the mast (sorry baby Jesus) as to what religion you are? Could have it on our PPS cards.
Would you have the right to blasphem your own kind like the brothers in the African American community do but frown upon those outside of said community doing so.
If your name is Ger O'Donavan are you allowed to write your initials anymore or is that lining yourself up for a burning at the stake.
Can you do a citizens arrest, hold him face down in the dirt and call the guards if someone is blaspheming?
Public stonings could be really what this country needs to turn this economy around
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Erthun0Pauc
Who is this guy, Trapper Tony?