Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Best LOI stadium

Fecking typical athlone if you ask me. Working their balls off for a great little stadium.

Swines

205 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by atfconline View Post
    Right so, we'll get them removed and leave ledges with a 20 foot drop so will we?
    What are you talking about? This is a thread on the Best LOI stadiums! I made a comment that there was needless railings in the middle of the stand, blocking the view! Whats the problem?

Quote Originally Posted by atfconline View Post
    Well the absolute cheek of us for fundraising and getting grants.

Christ.
    Hahoo! we both know i wasn't commenting on that. We all have to fundraise and get grants, no club is financially sound are they!
    Sporting F*ck All!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Agreed. Cork are by far the best financial model for any club. One followed by Rovers. "Let someone else build it"
    You could also include Terryland & maybe even Derry City. Those two would probably add up to make the top 4 grounds in the LOI?

137 Posts
    Seriously lad, do you know what you are talking about at all? There are safety railings around the tunnel and entry stairwells, so people don't fall over the walls and kill themselves. The only other option would have been to build concrete up to the height of the railings, which would block the view.

And so if the Council didn't build it, and you have no problem with fundraising or grants, what the hell are you on about?
    Celebrating 130 Years of Athlone Town Football Club - Pride of the Midlands Since 1887

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    You could also include Terryland & maybe even Derry City. Those two would probably add up to make the top 4 grounds in the LOI?
    Not sure about the Brandywell but Terryland is definitely in top 3. Terrific looking stand

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by L.T.F.C. View Post
    What are you talking about? This is a thread on the Best LOI stadiums! I made a comment that there was needless railings in the middle of the stand, blocking the view! Whats the problem?
    Having been to Lissywoolen for the first time last night, I'd like to join in with atfconline in asking what the hell you are on about. The railings block the view from about 1% of the seats. The view from the rest is perfect. Very impressive stand; particularly the clubhouse bit built into the underside.

38 Posts
    yeah the new stand in athlone is very good,quality stand,not like the one in flancare with the big huge steel girders(spelling) blocking your view,and what makes it worse is the chairman was an architech and built that thing...even doh the dressing rooms in athlone aren the biggest...like they are too small...

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mediahack View Post
    Now that the new stand is built at Waterford I think it has improved dramatically. The pitch there has also been improved given the recent internationals there so it is getting there!

They also have the biggest dressing rooms in the league - could comfortably hold two american football squads!!!
    The RSC now has 3100 covered seating capacity. There are future plans to extend the old stand and bring the ground up to 5000 capacity.

Havent been to Tallaght yet.

The outside set up looks very nice.

Turners Cross is probably the best of a bad lot.
    Yeah man, they call gambling a disease, but it's the only disease where you can win a bunch of money.

Quote Originally Posted by Partizan View Post
    The RSC now has 3100 covered seating capacity. There are future plans to extend the old stand and bring the ground up to 5000 capacity.
    Bit pointless seen as though ye are barely able to get 500 at a game!

In truth a bit of work & maintainence and the stadiums would be pretty good.
    I'm a 23yr old right-handed heterosexual who drinks milk and likes democracy. - dcfcsteve knows me well

Quote Originally Posted by harry crumb View Post
    Turners Cross is probably the best of a bad lot.
    What that man said. As gael353 observed we have the worst.

101 Posts
    The best stand in the LOI is Athlone's, although we've yet to play in Tallaght so it might take over once I've been. However, can a ground with one stand count as a 'stadium'? Is a ground with four rubbish stands like Tolka better than a ground with only one very good stand?
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

Quote Originally Posted by holidaysong View Post
    The best stand in the LOI is Athlone's, although we've yet to play in Tallaght so it might take over once I've been. However, can a ground with one stand count as a 'stadium'? Is a ground with four rubbish stands like Tolka better than a ground with only one very good stand?
    No Tallaght is way better, because of the ability to increase capacity on three sides.
    I'm a 23yr old right-handed heterosexual who drinks milk and likes democracy. - dcfcsteve knows me well

3,491 Posts
    Athlone have that ability too. So do UCD. Lots of clubs have ability to do stuff. (Though admittedly Rovers seemingly will be doing it)

33 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Umberside View Post
    No Tallaght is way better, because of the ability to increase capacity on three sides.
    The person you quoted is describing 'Stands', not the ground. (although you weren't the only on to misread what he said.)

After being in both Tallaght Community Stadium and Athlone Town Stadium I chose the Athlone Stand over the one in Tallaght. Less Clutter.

For me the best looking Stand aesthectically is the curvy one at The Brandywell.

Other notable stands I've liked, the seats behind the standing area at Finn Park, the cinema seats at Abbeycartron, the pillbox-style/Old lads stand opposite the curvy Stand at The Brandywell.
    Never being in the seating area at Utd Park.

Obviously the double-decker North Stand at Windsor Park is the best club stand in Ireland.
    Last edited by HarpoJoyce; 08/05/2009 at 5:56 PM.
    " I'll go right up to here,
    it can't possibly hurt.
    All they will find is my
    beer and my shirt."

finn park has character. and a great playing surface. i especially like the tin work.
    It's just a job. Grass grows, birds fly, waves pound the sand. I beat people up.
    Muhammad Ali

473 Posts
    No mention of the tent in Bray yet!

205 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by HarpoJoyce View Post
    The person you quoted is describing 'Stands', not the ground. (although you weren't the only on to misread what he said.)

After being in both Tallaght Community Stadium and Athlone Town Stadium I chose the Athlone Stand over the one in Tallaght. Less Clutter.

For me the best looking Stand aesthectically is the curvy one at The Brandywell.

Other notable stands I've liked, the seats behind the sa=tanding area at Finn Park, the cinema seats at Abbeycartron, the pillbox-style/Old lads stand opposite the curvy Stand at The Brandywell.
    Never being in the seating area at Utd Park.

Obviously the double-decker North Stand at Windsor Park is the best club stand in Ireland.
    abbeycartron?
    Sporting F*ck All!

33 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by L.T.F.C. View Post
    abbeycartron?
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/3808331...7617563536669/

Please note name of road leading to the ground. It has never being fully explained to me the reason for the variable spellings, so that's the reason I tend to use either spelling..
    " I'll go right up to here,
    it can't possibly hurt.
    All they will find is my
    beer and my shirt."

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast