Thread: EA Sports Cup vs Derry

122 Posts

EA Sports Cup vs Derry

Are many Derry fans heading down? Hopefully ye will bring a few down because I'm not sure if there will be that big of a crowd here.

Weather is not that great, as usual.

KO is at the earlier time of 3pm

89 Posts
    Nope.

A lot of people have taken the humped after the decision last week to shift the game that they won't bother with this one.
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

37 Posts
    One Nil to the minnows................
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

The trophy will be returning to Ireland this year.

very bould!!!
    more water!

Very happy with the way our lads played.

Fair play to the small set of Derry supporters who made the trip to see their reserve team. No doubting Kenny's competitive nature but the lads he put out gave the strong sense of not being too bothered themselves........bit like when Ireland used to win the Eurovision all the time.
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

What are YOU doing to make it better?

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Dunne View Post
    Gracious in victory.

I doubt you'll be seeing it.

Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Dunne View Post
    Partitionist!....
    innit though??

33 Posts
    It appears from a draw made this morning and published on the loi.ie website at the time Galway and UCD are drawn together in the EA Sports Cup quarter-Final. I see you were graced with the ex-champion's presence already, good result. Because of that and Galway league form I don't know how the result will go. Obviously the line-up on the night will play a part, see how it goes anyway.
    " I'll go right up to here,
    it can't possibly hurt.
    All they will find is my
    beer and my shirt."

cant see anything but a Galway win. We will have a full strength team out.

147 Posts
    I wouldn't be so sure, Derry had a team of kids out and while we outplayed them, we only scored once and could have been caught with a late goal. UCD are top of the First Division, expecting a tough and decent game but not a comfortable win
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by HarpoJoyce View Post
    It appears from a draw made this morning and published on the loi.ie website at the time
    Numerous people have already told you the draw wasn't published on the loi.ie website at the time.

I'd like to think we'll play a fuller-strength team than Tuesday; our first team need the experience against a Premier side more so than our reserves. We made ten changes from our league game to our League Cup game, and the one lad who stayed is only in the league side because of injuries. It'll be an interesting game, although I'll probably be stuck in work for it.

Any word on date/time confirmation?
    Last edited by Terry; 10/05/2009 at 7:13 AM.

Any word on date/time confirmation?
    Aertel mentioned week ending May 17th.....would have thought May 19th. a more realistic possibility?
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

What are YOU doing to make it better?

3,491 Posts
    It's either Monday 18th or Tuesday 19th per the original League Cup schedule; it's obvioulsy up to the clubs to agree after that. Presumably 7:45 will be the kick off.

122 Posts
    It's either Monday 18th or Tuesday 19th per the original League Cup schedule; it's obvioulsy up to the clubs to agree after that. Presumably 7:45 will be the kick off.
    I'd say it will be the Monday night at 7.45

64 Posts
    Tuesday at 7:45 I presume. All our league cup games (other than the one on bank holiday Monday) have been on Tuesdays recently.

147 Posts
    We are home to Bray and Friday before, and away to Sligo the game after, so would hazard a guess at the game being played on Tuesday. Which doesn't actually answer your question, so sorry about that!

3,491 Posts
    Confirmed for Monday 18, 7:45pm.

147 Posts
    Ah, what would I know ;-0)

If Fitzgerald gets near that Galway team UCD will hammer them, he is all ego no end product!!!!