Page 10 of 18 FirstFirst ... 89101112 ... LastLast

Thread: Europa League 2009

291 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    dont know if this has been listed already but here are Bohs' possible opponents in the CL qualifiers. Some really tough draws there but got to say we have a slightly better chance against some of the teams in the bottom half. Gonna be a tough one for us i think.
    I think Bohs' style of play might be suited to European competition. The only thing I would be worried about would be that the defence that was so solid last year has looked rather more porous this year. I'm sure the return of McGuinness will make a difference but I think the confidence in a good defence is invaluable to a team, especially in a two-legged European tie. I do think that Bohs have a good chance of doing well this year though. Obviously, like all the LOI entrants in Europe, a lot will depend on the draw.

Bohs were a better team last year anod were knocked out by poorer opposition. A lot depends on how well they do this year

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thischarmingman View Post
    I think Bohs' style of play might be suited to European competition. The only thing I would be worried about would be that the defence that was so solid last year has looked rather more porous this year. I'm sure the return of McGuinness will make a difference but I think the confidence in a good defence is invaluable to a team, especially in a two-legged European tie. I do think that Bohs have a good chance of doing well this year though. Obviously, like all the LOI entrants in Europe, a lot will depend on the draw.
    the apparent collapse of our defence is also what has got me worried... Jason Byrne gives me cause for optimism but i think we would be hard pressed to even compete with any of those teams in the top half. I think last years team would have presented a stronger challenge.

That said, i would still fancy our chances somewhat against any of the scandinavian, Icelandic or Lituanian teams.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

291 Posts
    Bump!

Just a reminder. Champions League 1st and 2nd qualifying round draw is 11am today, with the draw for corresponding UEFA cup rounds following at 1:30pm.

http://www.uefa.com/uefa/keytopics/k...id=836938.html

Sligo Rovers are the only club in first round action, with St Patrick's Athletic and Derry City receiving byes into the second round of the new Europa League.

Premier Division champions Bohemians will enter Champions League qualifying at the second stage.

Sligo will be seeded in the first round, but all four clubs look set to be unseeded in the second round draws.
    http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/...champions.html

Nine British clubs and three from the Republic of Ireland will enter the first-ever draw for the Europa League in Switzerland on Monday Scottish side Motherwell are seeded for the first-round draw along with the Republic's Sligo Rovers.

It also includes Welsh clubs Llanelli and The New Saints, plus Northern Irish sides Linfield and Lisburn Distillery.

Falkirk, Bangor City, Crusaders, Derry City and St Patrick's Athletic are in the second-round draw.
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/foot...pe/8111925.stm

UEFA Cup First qualifying round draw

Seeded teams - Rosenborg (Norway), Anorthosis (Cyprus), Helsingborg (Sweden), Motherwell, Randers (Denmark), Polonia Warsaw (Poland), Bnei Yehuda (Israel), Spartak Trnava (Slovakia), Slaven Belupo (Croatia), FC Lahti (Finland), Vetra (Lithuania), Sligo Rovers (Ireland), Dinaburg (Latvia), Rudar Velenje (Slovenia), Dinamo Minsk (Belarus), MTZ-RIPO (Belarus), Siroki Brijeg (Bosnia and Herzegovina), Szombathelyi Haladas (Hungary), Olimpi Rustavi (Georgia), Zestaponi (Georgia), Zimbru Chisnau (Moldova), Keflavik (Iceland), Fram (Iceland).

Unseeded teams - Renova (Macedonia), Inter Baku (Azerbaijan), Simurq Zaqatala (Azerbaijan), Trans (Estonia), Kalju (Estonia), Vllaznia (Albania), Dinamo Tirana (Albania), FC Irtysh (Kazakhstan), FC Okzhetpes (Kazakhstan), FC Mika (Armenia), Banants Yerevan (Armenia), Llanelli (Wales), TNS (Wales), Linfield (Northern Ireland), Lisburn (Northern Ireland), B36 (Faroes), NSI Runavik (Faroes), UN Kaerjeng (Luxembourg), CS Grevenmacher), Buducnost (Montenegro), Sutjeska Niksic (Montenegro), Valletta (Malta), Birkirkara (Malta).
    Last edited by thischarmingman; 21/06/2009 at 11:36 PM.

I enjoyed the BBC having us as "from the Republic of Ireland".

Feckers should learn their geography! We didn't fight for 90 years to be lumped in with them dirty Mexicans! Don't they know we're as British as Finchley (allegedly).
    DCFC

Starts tonight

Best of luck, Sligo.

Do the league proud
    or at least embarrass it a little less than we did last year

49 Posts
    Starts tonight
    im not hopefull today, id say these albanians will be decent on the ball like all the eastern europeans. apparently they have a few internationals aswell. if we concede an away goal it will be curtains for the 2nd leg i think.

Quote Originally Posted by Duggie View Post
    if we concede an away goal it will be curtains for the 2nd leg i think.
    Not if we score 2 .

291 Posts
    All the best Sligo, do us proud.

sligoman, enjoy it, best of luck to my home club Il be home next week as cant afford to go away now, its a pity it wasn't away first and then home as id go down and cheer on my local EL club !

Are the team confident of winning?!

21 Posts
    Best of luck Sligo. Hopeing that ye can do the league proud.

Any radio coverage for the game tonight?

Quote Originally Posted by Bunny Kelly View Post
    Any radio coverage for the game tonight?
    www.oceanfm.ie Not sure if it's live or just updates.

44 Posts
    www.oceanfm.ie Not sure if it's live or just updates.
    Best of luck Sligo
    Only another 9 titles till Drogheda become pride of county louth!!!

2,771 Posts
    good luck Sligo!! Back where you belong at last (in a runners up competition... )
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

One nil to the malteasers in the match to find out who pats play

3,491 Posts
    Maltesers at home, yeah?

Edit - yeah; half an hour gone.

Be cool to see Jordi Cruyff play in Dublin!

2-0 to the Malteasers now
    Come On You Saints!!!

Quote Originally Posted by robbieos88 View Post
    2-0 to the Malteasers now