Page 18 of 73 FirstFirst ... 816171819202868 ... LastLast

Thread: Roy Keane

Well isnt the world great that everybody is different. And we do not all react the same to similar situations.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by superfrank View Post
    There's no justification for what Keane did to Haaland. He was insulted, fair enough, but Haaland didn't try to take his leg off. Keane should have insulted Haaland or whatever but his physical attack was disgraceful, no justification whatsoever.
    Again though Keane stressed last night the reason he lost the plot in Saipan was being accused of faking injury. I'm sure Keane has had a few hard tackles on him in his career. He obviously feels very strongly about people accusing him of faking an injury, cheating, lack of honesty.

I agree that there's no justification for what he did but I'm just saying if a player did try to hurt Keane in a game he probably wouldn't feel half as bad about that then the screaming from Haaland or the accusation from McCarthy.
    Last edited by eirebhoy; 02/05/2009 at 12:31 PM.

Jesus the audience at the Late Late Show were terrible.
    In Trap we trust

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Just to put it out there...............many of Haalands own teammates at the time werent too overly concerned at the treatment dished out to him by Keane - since he was very much disliked in the dressing room, and was a bit of a **** as they say!

so whats the problem?

630 Posts
    I wonder what Roy would have to say to a player that did a serious injury to himself(not roy) while trying to injure or certainly do some damage to Roy.

I think Roy has different rules for others than himself.

Haaland probably did not realise that Keane was as seriously injured as he was and probably was within his rights to give Keane a mouthful for trying to injure him.

The worrying thing about Roy Keane is that though he had plenty of time to consider that he might deserve some verbals (at the least) from Haaland he could not work out that he may have brought Haalands response upon himself in the time he was recuperating from his injury.

Most normal people would think during this time that I (roy) was a bit of an idiot there and if it had happened to some else I would think they were an idiot.
    They would probably let the matter rest there and move on older and wiser.

A physopath might take a different view and plan his actions accordingly.

417 Posts
    Have any of you ever met Keane? Just curious what he's like when there's not a camera in his face....

630 Posts
    http://www.rte.ie/aertel/221-01.html
    Just thought that I would add this as another example of the Roy Keane school of "How to win friends and gain peoples respect"

2,796 Posts
    Neil, I think you're going way over board on the Keane / Haaland thing. Players get innocuous injuries all the time* and opponents shout "get up there's nothing wrong with you" all the time. Part of the game. As Geysir says, the fact that he let it get to him so much & that he kept it in his head for so long, suggests something wrong with the way he thinks.

*I got a kick right in the middle of the shin one time, absolute agony but it was only bruised. The following week I was playing for my work team, none of whom knew about the previous injury. I misccontrolled a pass with no opponent anywhere near me. The ball bobbled up and hit me right on the part of the shin that was bruised. I crumpled to the ground in agony and not one other person on the pitch had a clue what had happened. I was told by about 20 different people to get up and stop faking it. I didn't try and maim any of them the following year

Quote Originally Posted by limerickblue View Post
    Keane stayed calm for the whole lecture that he was giving by McCarthy, until McCarthy decided to accuse Keane of faking injury to avoid playing for Ireland. What would you have done, stayed queit and let him drag your name through the dirt in front of fellow players..
    Keane played 67 times for Ireland. Between the time he got his first cap and his last cap, Ireland played 145 matches which means that Keane did not play in 78 matches. It would be interesting to know for how many of those matches in which he was named in the squad that he played on the weekend, was injured for the midweek international but was fit again for the following weekend. I can hardly see McCarthy making such a comment unless there was something element of suspicion in it. Seem to remember something about Keane pulling out of the second leg of the playoff against Iran in November 2001 but being fit days later to play for MU.

O.k he refused to play in Niall Quinns testomonial, I'm sorry but if i was going traveling have way across the world to captain my side at a world cup, i wouldnt want to risk the oppurtunity by playing in a testomnial. In all fairness Niall should have kept that for after the world cup.
    Strange that the other 22 in the panel going to the WCF turned up and played no problem?? Suppose they shouldnt have played Nigeria in friendly a few days later either, a game in which Keane 'risked' playing.
    Last edited by Superhoops; 02/05/2009 at 3:44 PM.
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

I am not condoning it I am understanding it thats all. What he did to Haaland was bang out of order and a terrible tackle. Part of the way he thinks I think made him recover to be a better player after the injury than before it. Often the same tunnel vision with nasty side that made him a great player is also the same trait that makes him do such horrible and nasty things like what he did to Haaland.

In the end what I really believe is that comments like pychopath and class act and over the top comments both negative and positive about Keane are stupid and do nothing for the debate on the issue. Fair play to Pat Kenny last night in one aspect that he actually asked pretty decent questions about Saipan and got Keanes take on how he would handle such a situation as manager now. I just don't go for this talk of that Keane is evil or that Keane is God and I find both points of view devoid of any rational thought really.
    Last edited by NeilMcD; 02/05/2009 at 4:08 PM.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by Crosby87 View Post
    Have any of you ever met Keane? Just curious what he's like when there's not a camera in his face....
    A mate of mine who has absolutely no interest in football, was drinking with him one night in cork.

This is about 10 years ago id say and he never even heard of him beforehand would you believe!! As I said no interest in football whatsoever!! I always thought he was g@y cos of that!

Anyway he was down visiting his uncle in cork and went down the local with his uncle and was drinking with the uncle and his mates. Was introduced to all his mates and the lads were all wondering why he never battered an eyelid when introduced to keane - he was drininking with him and his mates for the night and said he was sound as a pound and actually quite shy at times (despite been surrounded by his friends from years!!)

Though when he came back to drogheda he couldnt remember his name - he was telling me the story (as he knew I was a man utd fan), 'Wheelo, I was drinking with a man utd player in cork last week', 'what was his name', 'eh, keane something'

Sorry for going off topic, but I actually always like that story!!
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

65 Posts
    I am sorry but i am uunable to come onto this site and read a post like this.
    Have you just said that mr.Roy Keane is not a class act, I'm sorry to disagree but is not the same Roy Keane that one:

1. Got Clough from a low standard of irish football(no disrespect loyal limerick fan here) to the big leagues in england.

2. signed for united in 1993 for 3.75 million pounds british transfer fee at the time.

3.was handed the manchester united captaincy from one of the most respected managers in the game.

4. got booked in a chapions league semi-final (knew he would be suspended) and went on to inspire the team to victory and in fergusons words
    ;It was the most emphatic display of selflessness I have seen on a football field. Pounding over every blade of grass, competing if he would rather die of exhaustion than lose, he inspired all around him. I felt it was an honour to be associated with such a player;

5. the largest crowd ever to attend a testomonial in england attended roy keane.

6. 7 premier leagues, 4 f.a cups , one intercontanintal cup,scotish cup, scotish league i wont even throw in the chapions league he took them to the semi-final off.

7.english football writers player of the year 2000 and players footballer of the year 2000

8.english hall of fame 2004 george best and liam brady the only other two inductees.

9. did he not also make our only placing in fifas top 100 living footballers besides the norths best who is now dead on gone r.i.p

10.named our best player in 94 world cup playing every game

11.and in typical keane fashion refused to celabrate as he saw the defeat to holland as disapointment.

12.got us a draw in landsdowne road against portugal.

13.and that tackle in the first few minutes against the dutch.

14.once and for all put a stop to the problems on plane for international.

15.and in saipan stood up and said that the irish national team shouldnt have to train in sub-standard conditions.
    I don.t think anybody ever said this but in 2002 we still had the celtic tiger aura around the country, why were we going on a training camp to a sh*thole like saipan.

16.showed a world cup and euro cup winner, Paddy Vieria of aresnal what t was like to mark a real midfielder on numerous occasions.

I think the 16 points, i have shown you will prove to u that roy keane is definatley a class act, and you say that robbie keane dunne and given are class.

I WOULD HAVE TO DISAGREE ROBBIE KEANE IS A GREAT PLAYER, DUNNE IS A VERY GOOD PLAYER, SHAY GIVEN IS A CLASS ACT AGREED. BUT I THINK IF U ASKED ANY OF THESE THREE PLAYERS WHAT WAS ROY KEANE YOU WOULD GET 3 ANSWERS FROM THE ABOVE

CLASS ACT

LEADER AND MOTIVATER(BEST OUT WEAKER PLAYER)

LEGEND.!!!!!!!!!!!

Or as the corkonians would say GOD

11. Most players would treat defeat as a disappointment but we in fact drew with the Dutch 2-2
    Le monde est a nous

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    167 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fizzer View Post
    11. Most players would treat defeat as a disappointment but we in fact drew with the Dutch 2-2
    You're ignorant. We lost the game, it was the second round of the World Cup in 1994. Paul McGrath's goal was disallowed.

More than likely referring to the game in Amsterdam that we only drew 2-2 after being two up. Great performance that night but Keane was right we threw it away. Will never forget Kilbane's miss that would have put it to bed. If only!
    And you ask me to help you??!! Man is evil!!!! Capable of nothing but destruction!

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    167 Posts
    I know exactly which game he meant. He's wrong though, if he had taken the time to read the post that he's quoted he would realise that clearly the game mentioned was the 1994 World Cup game.

The Holland game which we drew 2-2 took place on September 2, 2000.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    10.named our best player in 94 world cup playing every game

11.and in typical keane fashion refused to celabrate as he saw the defeat to holland as disapointment.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

Learn how to read!

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Docboy View Post
    More than likely referring to the game in Amsterdam that we only drew 2-2 after being two up. Great performance that night but Keane was right we threw it away. Will never forget Kilbane's miss that would have put it to bed. If only!
    We still qualified so it's not really an "if only" moment
    Unless of course you had been (and are still) waiting since 1987 for Ireland to win an away competitive football game against a team seeded 1st or 2nd. Hopefully this will finally happen next month

Quote Originally Posted by seanfhear View Post
    http://www.rte.ie/aertel/221-01.html
    Just thought that I would add this as another example of the Roy Keane school of "How to win friends and gain peoples respect"
    What the f has Daniel Agger got to do with Roy Keane's friends???
    Esse Quam Videri

Quote Originally Posted by irishfan86 View Post
    I think Keane is very conscious of creating an image.

If someone watched his guide dog interview with no previous experience with the man, you'd say he was a charming, nice guy.

The media machine would have you believe that this was one of the toughest men alive, and this is largely because of Roy fueling this image himself.

I love football, I love playing football, but when I hear the talk about "hard men," and people shouting "it's a man's game" I have to laugh.

Obviously there are moments in a match that require genuine courage- going up for a header against a goalkeeper who is trying to punch a ball; maintaining your focus while dribbling as you know someone is trying to lunge at you with a sliding tackle; going up for a header against a guy who's been swinging elbows throughout the match, etc.

But the point I'm trying to make is that football for the most part is not violent nor what I would call typically masculine.

The media would make you think Roy was the toughest guy in the world, but I'd pick one of the Irish rugby guys of a similar height/weight to beat Roy in a fight any day.
    F uck off with your rugby ****e please

Quote Originally Posted by Jicked View Post
    I dont remember hearing that Keane said that to Haaland, and his beef was with Haaland for accusing him of faking injury when he was down with a career-threatening one, I dont recall him having a problem with the actual incident that led to the injury.

It was Wetherall, not woodgate. Sorry for being pedantic!!

Quote Originally Posted by Superhoops View Post
    Seem to remember something about Keane pulling out of the second leg of the playoff against Iran in November 2001 but being fit days later to play for MU.
    Less than 3 days after Iran (no need to emphasise the game's importance) :

Manchester United 2 : 0 Leciester City, November 17, 2001 http://www.redcafe.net/archives/report.php?id=278

Yes he had been out for 4 weeks, but he managed to play a full 90. He had his priorities seriously wrong.
    <insert witty remark>

Page 18 of 73 FirstFirst ... 816171819202868 ... LastLast