Page 5 of 73 FirstFirst ... 345671555 ... LastLast

Thread: Roy Keane

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lionelhutz View Post
    Despite all the BS that will now surround Ipswich, I wish Keane the best of luck.

I really hope they get promoted next season, especially since they have Garvan and Quinn with them. I always liked Ipswich under George Burley - didn't they come 4th or 5th in the Premiership one year but got relegated the next?
    Came 5th in 00/01, relegated the next year. Qualified for the UEFA Cup both years funilly enough, once through the league placing and once through the fair play ranking.

Just for info Irish players at Ipswich

Garvan
    Quinn
    Walters
    Supple
    Bruce
    Clarke
    In Trap we trust

And a couple of lads in the acadmey!
    Ronan Murray plus another

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post

Garvan
    Quinn
    Walters
    Supple
    Bruce
    Clarke
    What about David Norris?
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

Setanta Ireland are screening the press conference live at 6pm although the Ipswich website says the conference is at 4pm.

Fcukin hell like!
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

711 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BarelyLegal View Post
    I wouldn't have thought so up to now but the Keane haters seem to be much more passionate in their hate than the pro Keane clan in their love.
    I think it's partly because people were fond of him because he was a very good player, and others hated him because he was a bit of a ******. He's no longer a very good player.

Quote Originally Posted by gspain View Post
    I presume they'll take trade-ins on Sunderland shirts for Ipswich shirts for all their loyal fans here.
    Imaginary jerseys cost nothing.

I didn't see an increase of Sunderland jerseys in Dublin (can't actually remember seeing 1 actually). This "SundIreland" thing was made up by a paranoid bunch who don't understand the people in this country will be interested in Roy Keane more than anyone else in the world (imho). It doesn't make us all supporters of his teams.

2,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post

I didn't see an increase of Sunderland jerseys in Dublin (can't actually remember seeing 1 actually). This "SundIreland" thing was made up by a paranoid bunch who don't understand the people in this country will be interested in Roy Keane more than anyone else in the world (imho). It doesn't make us all supporters of his teams.
    Agreed. I was working in Cork when Keane got the Sunderland job and although you would notice the odd Sunderland jersey around the place it was nowhere near what people were making it out to be. In fact, the reason there was any increase was probably done the fact that all the sports shop started stocking them, whereas they wouldn't have been as readily available previously. I never had any particular soft spot for Sunderland but after Keane's appointment I was happy to see them do well. I think most Keane fans were the same as opposed to overnight Black Cats supporters.

1,912 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Yeah, some are fools. But I betcha I could name 2 non LOI fools here, for every similar LOI fan (and no, the boss wouldn't allow it).
    Hopefully, for all our sakes, you'll grow out of your sarcastic obsession with (turkey shooting) fools on footie.
    ´tis an act of pitiful desperation to scour the pits of footie for a few sparks to light up a sense of superiority that lasts 5 seconds

3,286 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post

Garvan
    Quinn
    Walters
    Supple
    Bruce
    Clarke
    Supple's out on loan
    Clarke is being released at the end of the season

Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Hopefully, for all our sakes, you'll grow out of your sarcastic obsession with (turkey shooting) fools on footie.
    ´tis an act of pitiful desperation to scour the pits of footie for a few sparks to light up a sense of superiority that lasts 5 seconds
    I dunno, I seem to have caught your gaze anyway. A thread on the 3 most interesting Irish footballers of the past 30 years and 66% of your posts are about me?

Seriously...

999 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    I can't speak for Dodge but my sense of superiority lasts much much longer than that.

2,679 Posts
    Roy Keane is box office in Ireland, rightly or wrongly. I've no great regard for him as a person but he's one of Irish football's biggest personalities.

What'll interest me is how he evolves as a manager. He's a relatively inexperienced manager still learning his trade. He has a reputation already for being a "hairdryer" style motivator who doesn't like being told what to do. He rotates his side continuously and his record in the transfer market is mixed. I personally think that different players respond to different types of encouragement and I think Keane would do well to take this on board. I think he'll be treated with a lot less reverence than the Irish investors at Sunderland and it'll be interesting to see if he can hold down a good relatiobnship with Evans & the new CEO.

This Marcus Evans chap is an interesting character. Ipswich fans I know over here wonder if that's even his real name the guy is so reclusive. Made his money in conference organising.

2,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    Clarke is being released at the end of the season
    And is also on loan. Doing well too, 4 goals in 5 games for Brentford so who knows and he's a Corkman too!!

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    842 Posts
    Rarely managers are extremely successful in their first job in management. Keane did well at Sunderland before it went a bit pear shaped towards the end, although I still think they would have been midtable if he had stayed this year. I think he will have learned alot from the Sunderland job and will be a better manager for it. Steve Bruce bounced around clubs alot in his early days with only marginal successes and he has become a very good manager now, so those who are writing Keane off as a crap manager are basing that on their own personal feelings on the guy rather than being objective. I cant be totally objective myself either because Keane is still my fav player ever to put on an Ireland shirt and I admire the mans winning drive. Either way, Ipswich is a well run club off the pitch and a good chance for Keane improve himself again as a manager... I would think that he will get them to at least the play off next season if they remain under the kind of transfer budgets of recent seasons
    Its really not that complicated!!!

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post

Rubbish, there was a huge amount of people travelling over nearly every week ffs. I know one of the tour operators running trips and he made a fortune out of it. Plus a massive casual interest from your average Man U fan who went from despising Sunderland when McCarthy was the manager to having them as their 2nd favourite team,

A "paranoid bunch".

Roy Keane will put another good Championship side together just like he did with Sunderland.

999 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    I think he will have learned alot from the Sunderland job and will be a better manager for it
    I wonder will he though.

I honestly wonder whether he will be able to look back and see the mistakes he made at Sunderland, and see how he should have done some things differently. We imagine all managers do this, and I imagine most will dobut is Keane that kind of reflective character? Will we see a new smarter manager at Ipswich, or will we see the same Keane?

2,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra 69er View Post
    Rubbish, there was a huge amount of people travelling over nearly every week ffs. I know one of the tour operators running trips and he made a fortune out of it.
    Ya but it's a relatively cheap wkd on the lash, with the excuse of a passing interest in a match involving an Irish owned and managed club. Don't think they'd turned into die hard Sunderland fans. I could be wrong and I'm sure there were some freaks that signed all their loyalties over to the Black Cats, but surely not many.

Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra 69er View Post
    Plus a massive casual interest from your average Man U fan who went from despising Sunderland when McCarthy was the manager to having them as their 2nd favourite team,

A "paranoid bunch".
    I don't really mind McCarthy but of course in a lot of cases the manager of a club is going to determine whether you want them to do well or not, especially if it's a club you don't otherwise care about.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Scram View Post
    Not that this "story" is of any interest to anyone other than those titiilated by the constant and ridiculous Roy Keane tabloid "porn", but where/when/why do you see this fixture taking place?

And why this English Division 2 "breaking news" in the "Ireland" forum is beyond me.

Just a light hearted joke really, I would like to make it clear that neither Ipswitch nor Wolves have joined the League of Irealnd , it's seems one or two people on the forum took it seriously......and one newspaper.
    So once, again neither Ipswitch nor Wolves will be playinig in the LOI.

Page 5 of 73 FirstFirst ... 345671555 ... LastLast