Thread: Roy Keane

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    25/1 actually.
    Just listening to rte's Tony ODonahue's cringeworthy exalted praise of the messiah. Nothing more blind than a langer's blind praise of another langer.
    Jesus, just listened online, that is a shocking piece of broadcast journalism, dreadful stuff altogether. Going on about the money in the game with no mention of how much was spent at both Sunderland and Ipswich, amazing....

http://www.rte.ie/news/news1pm/playe...1807,flash,257

1,928 Posts
    You posted the link? I wouldn't encourage people to listen to it, it carries a sick bucket health warning

675 Posts
    I'm prepared to give Tony O' the benefit of the doubt as I'm convinced he's been possessed by the reincarnated soul of Triggs the dog.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

130 Posts
    Some proper analysis of the situation on the last word at the moment.

398 Posts
    The sad fact is the man has many issues, many of which he has dealt with, but in the same way as one compulsion/addiction is replaced with another, he threw himself into management but his paranoia took over. This praise of his saying "I can only work with what I have and if I'm not good enough I'll accept the consequences" are a disgusting reflection on the man. He routinely took shots at the owner by saying how he didn't have the players, he took shots at players for not coming to Ipswich (same as he did in Sunderland) and worst of all this acceptance of his failing is a way to ensure the club paid him up for getting rid of him. How often does a manager walk of his own free will when he's patently unable to do his job? How many bad workmen blame their tools? How many managers use the excuse that the players they wanted went off to glitzier surrounds? Until he faces that fact that players with any standing and experience in the game won't play for a bully, that his own poor decisions cost his team points and his lack of ability to trust others meant he hadn't a rounded view of the game, then he will continue drifting down the leagues. I would really hope he goes abroad to learn his trade, as an assistant somewhere. Or even take up a National coaching job in a 3rd tier nation to build up his experience and self-confidence.

253 Posts
    Don't think it's the lack of self-confidence that's dragging him down Spud!
    Eirebhoy's "We Love You" Chant. RIP:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V7UfSbASyrQ

630 Posts
    Did Keane have the same coaching assistants as he had at Sunderland ?

If he did it was obvious that "team Keane" was not producing the goods at Sunderland and that he needed to change it.

He did not sign players that were better than what he had already and he did not seem to have any particular style/system of play.

One good year from five (approx)does not a good manager make.

253 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by seanfhear View Post
    Did Keane have the same coaching assistants as he had at Sunderland ?

If he did it was obvious that "team Keane" was not producing the goods at Sunderland and that he needed to change it.

He did not sign players that were better than what he had already and he did not seem to have any particular style/system of play.

One good year from five (approx)does not a good manager make.
    First season: Got Sunderland to the Prem, winning the Championship.
    Second season: Kept Sunderland up.
    Third season: Resigned at Sunderland during relegation dogfight/led Ipswich to mid-table Championship finish (they were in relegation zone when he took over).
    Fourth season: Made no progress with Ipswich in the league but brought them to the Carling Cup semi finals.

I would suggest that his first two seasons would be considered successful by any standard. I think it was a mistake to walk away from the Sunderland job in the first place, and at Ipswich I think he's basically spun the tires and gone nowhere.

I'll give him two good years, one bad year, and one passable year. If I were Ipswich's owner I wouldn't sack a manager who brought me to a cup semi final...but I think the owner feels he has spent too much money for his team to be flirting with relegation in the second tier.

366 Posts
    I think Roy needs to reassess his Sergeant Hartman approach to management.

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    167 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Noelys Guitar View Post
    Never unearthed a proper goalscorer for Ipswich. And any game I saw Ipswich in they played a hell of a lot of long ball stuff. Wonder when he'll be back and in what division/country. I have a feeling he might move to somewhere like Dubai/Australia or even North America for his next job. And yes that T'OD piece was horrible and had really nothing to do with football or more specifically football management.
    I'd love to see him come to the MLS, can't see it ever happening though. MLS players make on average very little money and most of them only do it on a part time basis. The MLS defender of the year retired at age 23 because he couldn't make enough money, this was back in 2006 or something. I can't see Roy's "total preparedness" going down too well with a bunch of guys that are makin twenty grand a year.

253 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Colbert Report View Post
    I'd love to see him come to the MLS, can't see it ever happening though. MLS players make on average very little money and most of them only do it on a part time basis. The MLS defender of the year retired at age 23 because he couldn't make enough money, this was back in 2006 or something. I can't see Roy's "total preparedness" going down too well with a bunch of guys that are makin twenty grand a year.
    The MLS is a full-time league. Players do not generally have other jobs. Under the league rules, a player must be paid a minimum of $40,000 a year. The average salary for MLS players was $138,169 last season.

Source, New York Times soccer blog (using stats from MLS Players Union):

http://goal.blogs.nytimes.com/2010/0...-l-s-salaries/

He's a crap manager. He's not a very nice person.He walked out on his homeland. But we are still talking about him in as if we are almost afraid of meeting him after giving out about him......
    You can shove your British Culture up your Londonderryair!

192 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by irishfan86 View Post
    First season: Got Sunderland to the Prem, winning the Championship.
    Second season: Kept Sunderland up.
    Third season: Resigned at Sunderland during relegation dogfight/led Ipswich to mid-table Championship finish (they were in relegation zone when he took over).
    Fourth season: Made no progress with Ipswich in the league but brought them to the Carling Cup semi finals.
    Ipswich were 9th in the Championship when Keane took over but there were only a couple of games left in the season (Jim Magilton was sacked for not making the play-offs that season). They finished 9th at the end of that season.

You might be thinking of Sunderland who were in the relegation zone (although after only six games) when Keane took over there in 2006.
    "There's man all over for you, blaming on his boots the fault of his feet" - Samuel Beckett, Waiting for Godot

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    167 Posts
    The MLS is a full-time league. Players do not generally have other jobs. Under the league rules, a player must be paid a minimum of $40,000 a year. The average salary for MLS players was $138,169 last season.

Source, New York Times soccer blog (using stats from MLS Players Union):

http://goal.blogs.nytimes.com/2010/0...-l-s-salaries/
    Take out the designated player exemption for each player and the average salary is nowhere near 139k. 40k is not full time, not in the USA. I make twice that as a construction worker. MLS is part-time.

398 Posts
    Don't think it's the lack of self-confidence that's dragging him down Spud!
    Okay, I should clarify that. It might not be the classical elements that we'd see as self-confidence, but as a seriously damaged person, with more chips than Macari's, he's in a constant battle to prove others wrong, and that he is right. So in this sense he doesn't really believe he's good enough because he's so afraid of failure. He doesn't have the innate self-confidence to accept that life goes on, and when you hear somebody saying "why don't they just get over it" it's actually a comment on his own psyche. Yesterday on the way home I listened to his rant post-Paris, and it was unsettling and upsetting in equal measure. He's a person who pushed himself to the limit and beyond without actually appreciating what he'd done, and the whole time his paranoid instincts meant he was waiting for it all to be robbed from him. However he's been guided well in this instance, he made sure he'd gotten a good payoff by not doing the decent thing and walking away from a no win job, because to do that would not only lose him money, it would show to himself and others that he wasn't capable of winning, which would shatter the little glass cage he's built around himself.

228 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sullivinho View Post
    I think Roy needs to reassess his Sergeant Hartman approach to management.
    Never!
    He should have been given the boot a few games ago.

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Colbert Report View Post
    MLS is part-time.
    No its not. Do you understand the concepts of part time or full-time work? Someones earnings dont determine what someones employment status is. The MLS is a full-time, professional league. Player signed to the MLS make their living from playing in the MLS irrespective of how much they are paid.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

Quote Originally Posted by elroy View Post
    Hard to call the lad a useless manager after what he achieved with Sunderland in fairness. As great and all it is he signing loads of Irish players, he really needs to expand his scouting network for the next managerial role he undertakes.
    He spent the Championship equivalent of what Chelsea spent in the Premiership. an amount not nearly matched by any Championship side. He hasn't had that luxury at Ipswich and also managed to alienate good players he did have. A terrrible man manager with delusions of greatness choosing to pontificate on everything it seems except his own club and his failings.

After his comments wondering if "anyone would be stupid enough to give Mick McCarty a job" and "I hope I don't come across as bitter and twisted but that man can rot in hell for all I care", I am amazed that any club owner considered him for a managerial position to begin with.

446 Posts
    Good Riddance to bad rubbish.

Even more reason for Mick to keep the Wovles up.

There's only one person RMK has ever been interested in. And that's himself.

230 Posts
    The only reason for Mick to keep Wolves up is to save his own job. I'm a McCarthy fan but if Wolves aren't seen to be moving forward, he'll be under pressure himself. They've had good results of late against Liverpool and Chelsea. They'll need to keep on that upward curve and avoid defeats to lower opposition.

Page 44 of 73 FirstFirst ... 34424344454654 ... LastLast