Page 12 of 73 FirstFirst ... 210111213142262 ... LastLast

Thread: Roy Keane

Jaysus lads in fairness, the boyos who knock Keane and his sheep are just as bad. He wasn't great at Sunderland, but he wasn't that bad, especially considering it was his first managerial position.... the "club" failed in the end. Giving that much money to a completely inexperienced manager was idiotic and the pressure from the fans if he didn't spend and wasn't doing well would have been overwhelming.... it was doomed by design. Keane made a balls of it but was coaxed in that direction every step of the way. He's learned a thing or two now and I think he will do well, but if he's ever to become a top manager he has a lot of work to do and it won't be in the near future.

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    848 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Scram View Post
    FRONT PAGE of The Sunday Turbine, whilst unemployment is expected to hit 450,000 this year and the country is in the midst of a Fianna Fail driven disaster!! Perspective please!

There is a HUGE difference between showing games and back page coverage of CURRENT players than the ridiculous media frenzy and front page coverage around this ex-player and begrudger of all his ex Ireland team mates.

Larrson would absolutely NOT be Front page news in Sweden for any result unless it was the national team, why would you presume otherwise?

And, your points re. "Polish TV have been showing every Celtic game since they signed Boruc and Zurawski." etc., actually shows how ludicrous the media coverage here of Roy Keane is, in that RTE do not "show every game of Robbie Keane" for example, yet there is all this coverage of Roy Keane!!!

Total inconsistency and porn to feed the moronic RoyKeaneophiles, rushing out to buy Ipswich jerseys, total Muppets.

League of Ireland supporters must be outraged and rightly so, especially when you see the likes of the disgraced former Taoiseach jumping on the Keane bandwagon.
    Well Im living in Sweden at the moment and everything Larrson or Zlatan does is massive news
    Its really not that complicated!!!

2,636 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Colbert Report View Post
    He's the greatest player we've had in my lifetime, plus he's a very controversial figure. I don't blame the papers for having these stories, I'm a big Keane fan and I'll pay to read them. That doesn't make me a muppet. I have my own theory on people who follow the LOI but I don't want to get into any trouble on this site so I'll keep those thoughts to myself.
    dont want to drag this too off topic but seeing as though you brought this up, i want to know if the same theory will simply apply to all people who follow their own domestic leagues? Spaniards who follow La Liga, Italians that follow Serie A, French folk who support their local La Ligue team etc etc. You'd swear that us LOI fans are doing something unusual...

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    162 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    dont want to drag this too off topic but seeing as though you brought this up, i want to know if the same theory will simply apply to all people who follow their own domestic leagues? Spaniards who follow La Liga, Italians that follow Serie A, French folk who support their local La Ligue team etc etc. You'd swear that us LOI fans are doing something unusual...

I live in Canada. What do you think I watch on Saturday afternoons - Toronto FC vs. Kansas City Wizards or Manchester United vs. Liverpool?

I was recently in Cork and went down to Turner's Cross to check out this great LOI I've been reading about for years on this very website. I went in with the best of intentions - I really wanted the quality to be good.

The players out there were out of shape and unable to string five passes together without losing the ball. I'm NOT trying to start anything on here as I've been warned about stirring the pot with LOI supporters. You've every right to follow your local team and if I lived in Ireland I would likely do the same as I love the sport immensely. If you'll allow me to worship Roy Keane in peace I'll let you do the same with your local LOI club. Fair deal?

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    162 Posts
    I've just re-read your post. You're from bloody Saskatchewan! I went to Taylor Field last summer for a Stamps/Riders game and it was great craic. But if you can't get out to the ground to have a pint and enjoy the atmosphere what would you REALLY want to watch on TV - Bombers/Riders or Cowboys/Jets? Think about it.
    Last edited by Colbert Report; 28/04/2009 at 11:23 PM.

I live in Canada. What do you think I watch on Saturday afternoons - Toronto FC vs. Kansas City Wizards or Manchester United vs. Liverpool?

I was recently in Cork and went down to Turner's Cross to check out this great LOI I've been reading about for years on this very website. I went in with the best of intentions - I really wanted the quality to be good.

The players out there were out of shape and unable to string five passes together without losing the ball. I'm NOT trying to start anything on here as I've been warned about stirring the pot with LOI supporters. You've every right to follow your local team and if I lived in Ireland I would likely do the same as I love the sport immensely. If you'll allow me to worship Roy Keane in peace I'll let you do the same with your local LOI club. Fair deal?
    Good post, I was an avid follower of Longford town when I lived there, however I really only went to the games for the craic I had with friends. The quality was always awful, even when we went to see Bohs, Pats, Cork, Shels and the other full time teams. I now live in Australia and went to see a couple of A- League games, because the craic was not as good as at LOI games I will not be attending any more games. I love football for what it is, a game, when played well it is a fantastic spectacle when played poorly (as it is in all less developed leagues) it can be painful. I appreciate that there are those out there who will go to games because the love of their team outweighs the love of the actual game. In fact I kind of applaud these fans, but I can't see how one can genuinely support a group of players who more than likely have no links to the locality of their club and are really just playing because it is their job to do so, more than one can just support the game itself or a great player from their locale. This brings me to the point of this post. Why can we, as Irish people, not just get behind the best player we have ever produced (please don't argue as no other player no matter how good, that we have produced, has had the same effect on the game as Keane) and hope he does us proud in his new career. Yes what he did in Saipan was wrong (hindsight is fantastic eh?) but there were several parties involved not just Keane. We tend to forget that every time he pulled on an Irish shirt he gave it his all. He was the driving factor behind that team qualifiying for that world cup, every game he took by the scruff of the neck, he refused to lie down and give up, that attitude obviously rubbed off on the other players. This attitude did not change upon his return either, lets face it he could have insisted upon being captain but didn't, it takes a big man to come back and just get on with the job (which he did). We also forget the impression he left on the Champions league stage, I have no affection for Man Utd. whatsoever but that night in Turin I was a very very proud Irishman because one of our own had shown the football world just what we are made of. Ask yourselves this "if Roy Keane had missed games because he was drunk or played games while still drunk would we be slagging him off or cheering him on?" Paul McGrath let his club and country down on a number of occasions because he preferred to go drinking, he himself has admitted it. do we argue about him? No we all love the guy and so we bloody well should because when he was on the pitch he was immense, for all McGraths faults we would always prefer to have him than not to. The same should go for Keane, yes the guy has his demons, yes he can be a nasty so and so on occasion, yes he has made bad decisions and no he is not everyones cup of tea but the fact remains we would prefer to have him than not to because when he does what he is paid to do he is awesome and never gives less than his all. He has the potential to be a very good manager, possibly better than our little country has ever produced before so we should support him not just because he is Irish but because he is Irish and he is good at what he does. If you can scream with delight because some Portugese man scores for a team from a different country or even for the African who has just converted a cross from the Englishman playing for your local team surely you can wish a countryman the best of luck as he embarks on the next chapter of his career.
    Help something bit me!!!

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    No, sorry, amaccann made a mistake there which I should have picked up on. It's not front page of the Tribune. There's no mention of sport on their front page. It's on the front page of their sports section. The main headline is about Liverpool's win. On top of that is O'Leary to miss out on Lions squad. And Keane's debut win is the side article.

So no need for me to reply to the rest of your post as it's obviously based on this story being front page news which it wasn't.
    I'd rather you did reply!

Even main back page headline is totally ridiculous. Please replace "Front Page" with "Back Page" in considering my post (and in reconsidering your signature!)

Again, League of Ireland supporters must be outraged and rightly so, especially when you see the likes of the disgraced former Taoiseach jumping on the Keane bandwagon.

As for Larsson; he played for his country for as long as he could, is universally admired and probably would be better than managing a mediocre Division 2 team!

Surely the likes of Reading, with a large contingent of good Irish footballers, a vibrant Irish Community and Irish clubs deserves more press than this clown and Ipswich! (but nobody should get this type of coverage).

ps. I notice the hypocrite Dunphy is back on the bandwagon promoting a special Keane issue of the Star's Fanzine. In fairness, this "Socialist" is probably struggling to try and recoup some of his investment in Anglo-Irish Bank, bless.

2,081 Posts
    Even main back page headline is totally ridiculous. Surely the likes of Reading, with a large contingent of good Irish footballers, a vibrant Irish Community and Irish clubs deserves more press than this clown and Ipswich! (but nobody should get this type of coverage).
    Paper's print things in order of importance, importance to them being what people are more interested in reading about. I suspect a lot more people read about Keane's first match at Ipswich than Reading's important win last night. It would be suicide for the papers to prioritise less popular stories. Keane's big news, it's not likely to change so for your own sanity you'd probably be better off accepting it.

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BarelyLegal View Post
    Paper's print things in order of importance, importance to them being what people are more interested in reading about. I suspect a lot more people read about Keane's first match at Ipswich than Reading's important win last night. It would be suicide for the papers to prioritise less popular stories. Keane's big news, it's not likely to change so for your own sanity you'd probably be better off accepting it.
    Unfortunately, it's that attitude which has lead to the likes of Jade Goody being front page news for most of this year so far, things that's aren't actually that important are givem way too much priority in this day and age, it's dumbing down of the media in general.

2,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra 69er View Post
    Unfortunately, it's that attitude which has lead to the likes of Jade Goody being front page news for most of this year so far, things that's aren't actually that important are givem way too much priority in this day and age, it's dumbing down of the media in general.
    Although I would agree with you in relation to the likes of the Jade Goody stories it would be mainly trashy tabloids that carry that sh!t. I think there is a big difference between that and what we are discussing although I'm sure you would argue the principle remains. It's a bit more debatable at least whether or not Roy Keanes first match in charge of Ipswich should take preference over another Championship team who have a few less profile Irish guys playing for them.
    Last edited by DeLorean; 28/04/2009 at 1:30 PM.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    man thats so untrue!!

2,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    man thats so untrue!!
    Untrue as in what? I'm not saying they print what you or I find important but I am saying they print what the majority of people are most likely to buy

144 Posts

The players out there were out of shape and unable to string five passes together without losing the ball.
    Are you sure City were at home? Could have been the Mossie Linnane Cup Final.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

130 Posts
    Although I would agree with you in relation to the likes of the Jade Goody stories it would be mainly trashy tabloids that carry that sh!t. I think there is a big difference between that and what we are discussing although I'm sure you would argue the principle remains. It's a bit more debatable at least whether or not Roy Keanes first match in charge of Ipswich should take preference over another Championship team who have a few less profile Irish guys playing for them.
    I agree. I do think that an Irish manager winning the Championship with a team including a large number of Irish players should take precedence over a meaningless end of season game even if it was RK's first in charge though.

Personally I just find the circus surrounding RK slightly embarrassing, I think people are beginning to tire of it a little at this stage mind you.

Onanother note I was glad to see he selected Garvan who had been left out a number of times under Magilton.

Can Keane bring him on to the next level?For me this is the main story reg Keane taking over at Ipswich.

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cheifo View Post
    Onanother note I was glad to see he selected Garvan who had been left out a number of times under Magilton.

Can Keane bring him on to the next level?For me this is the main story reg Keane taking over at Ipswich.
    I know he's always been Owen Garvan's hero so hopefully he'll respond well to working with him. Owen's got a great attitude, he's not a boozer and is a good down to earth lad, I think Keane won't have any problems on that count with him.

Even main back page headline is totally ridiculous. Please replace "Front Page" with "Back Page" in considering my post (and in reconsidering your signature!)
    If Larsson took charge of Ipswich he would be on the back pages of the Swedish papers without a shadow of a doubt. After winning 3-0 on his debut, no question.

That's pretty much the only point there is to reply to. Roy Keane is the biggest personality in this country. It's no surprise he makes the back pages. He's also adored by many Irish people. It's obvious they're going to wish success for him and therefore success for Ipswich.

Why would LOI fans be "outraged"? Because an Irishman is pushing Man Utd or another premiership team off the back pages?

The media are going to put on the back pages what people want to read. Fans of league of Ireland clubs know that

20 Posts
    Well certainly I don't believe proper LoI fans would be outraged, because at this stage the proper LoI fans would be well used to the Sunday Tribune ignoring the league (except of course when a club is in financial trouble).

Edit: Though somewhat ironically I ahve noticed this season the tribune have started running reports on some games.

60 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cheifo View Post

Totally agree with you on this Chiefo. Owen hasn't had the greatest of seasons. He seemed to have an uneasy relationship with Magelton after stalling on a new contract last year. He needs a big season. He definitely has the ability and Keane may get the best out of him. Lets hops so.
    Always look on the bright side of life

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    848 Posts

Again, League of Ireland supporters must be outraged and rightly so, especially when you see the likes of the disgraced former Taoiseach jumping on the Keane bandwagon.

As for Larsson; he played for his country for as long as he could, is universally admired and probably would be better than managing a mediocre Division 2 team!

Surely the likes of Reading, with a large contingent of good Irish footballers, a vibrant Irish Community and Irish clubs deserves more press than this clown and Ipswich! (but nobody should get this type of coverage).

ps. I notice the hypocrite Dunphy is back on the bandwagon promoting a special Keane issue of the Star's Fanzine. In fairness, this "Socialist" is probably struggling to try and recoup some of his investment in Anglo-Irish Bank, bless.
    Larrson retired from international football and was convinced to come back after a time.... Very similarly to Keane
    Its really not that complicated!!!

Page 12 of 73 FirstFirst ... 210111213142262 ... LastLast