Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Harvesting Away tickets

Harvesting as i understand it is buying tickets with no intention of going but only to be registered that you went to an away game so when a difficult ticket situation arises there is a record that you 'went' to all the away game.

That is different to touting.

Hovever in an Irish context what is the point .. unless the FAI keep a record who gets away tickets and uses it as a means of who is more deserving?

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Newryrep View Post
    Harvesting as i understand it is buying tickets with no intention of going but only to be registered that you went to an away game so when a difficult ticket situation arises there is a record that you 'went' to all the away game.

That is different to touting.

Hovever in an Irish context what is the point .. unless the FAI keep a record who gets away tickets and uses it as a means of who is more deserving?
    agree. given that you have to apply for tickets well in advance and given that the away ticket prices are usually quite small id say its all more of a case that lads get tickets in case they go but dont always be able to do so. i dont think theres anything sinister about it at all

Quote Originally Posted by jbyrne View Post
    agree. given that you have to apply for tickets well in advance and given that the away ticket prices are usually quite small id say its all more of a case that lads get tickets in case they go but dont always be able to do so. i dont think theres anything sinister about it at all
    Ya I think this thread is really making a meal out of nothing. I don't see what 'harvesters' would be harvesting for, as in reality if you are a block booker you can nearly be assured you'll get tickets from the FAI for the WC, bar if it was in Europe. Their own loss in my opinion.
    San Marino are going to be a handful as the group goes on." - Steve Staunton reacts to performance against San Marino.

Will the FAI get tickets for the world cup though.
    In Trap we trust

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    Will the FAI get tickets for the world cup though.
    it doesnt look like it. see the end of this article...

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/foot...ls/7498630.stm

reder
    Quote Originally Posted by gspain View Post
    This campaign is the first time I've noticed it for us. Clearly there were hundreds of tickets not sued in Montenegro and 1,500-2,000 unused for Bari. No doubt some of these are genuine and we had one unused ticket in our group as somebody who had paid to travel couldn't.
    The travel agents had massive problems selling their packages for the Italy away game. Some were advertising, what must have been, cost price flight and tickets packages at the Bulgaria home game and in varous papers. I'd say a that a fair percentage of the unused tickets are from these packages. I know the FAI say they dont give tickets to travel agents other than Ray Treacy but these other agents always bring bus loads to big away games.

I am always unsuccessful in the "ballot" for away games that have any sort of demand. I didnt even get a ticket from the FAI for the game in Germany in the last campaign yet I had my choice of travel agent packages with tickets in the away end. I attend aways regularly including away friendlies.

Any system which means tickets go to genuine fans is good. I would love to see the travel agent situation addressed as opposed to receiving the same old response from the FAI. I am going to blow a fuse, if I have to use a travel agent again for Sofia after forking out €300 on flights and accomadation.

I am thinking of putting a note at the bottom of my application to remind them that I attended the likes of Norway away with about 800 others and Wales away when our end was half empty because there was nothing to play for. I am a BB since the start also.

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by reder View Post
    The travel agents had massive problems selling their packages for the Italy away game. Some were advertising, what must have been, cost price flight and tickets packages at the Bulgaria home game and in varous papers. I'd say a that a fair percentage of the unused tickets are from these packages. I know the FAI say they dont give tickets to travel agents other than Ray Treacy but these other agents always bring bus loads to big away games.

I am always unsuccessful in the "ballot" for away games that have any sort of demand. I didnt even get a ticket from the FAI for the game in Germany in the last campaign yet I had my choice of travel agent packages with tickets in the away end. I attend aways regularly including away friendlies.

Any system which means tickets go to genuine fans is good. I would love to see the travel agent situation addressed as opposed to receiving the same old response from the FAI. I am going to blow a fuse, if I have to use a travel agent again for Sofia after forking out €300 on flights and accomadation.

I am thinking of putting a note at the bottom of my application to remind them that I attended the likes of Norway away with about 800 others and Wales away when our end was half empty because there was nothing to play for. I am a BB since the start also.
    The FAI will give tickets to travel agents when there are extra tickets aka Italy. They just give block bookers priority. For most away games anybody can get tickets in the away end. Travel agents often source tickets locally for the home end where there is big demand.

However some of the unused tickets could well be travel agents in this case.

I started the thread because I know of a group buying away tickets with no intention of going and trying to offload them if they can but if not then no problem. I susbequently heard 2nd hand of up to 10 tickets being bought in the same way.

The FAI will give tickets to travel agents when there are extra tickets aka Italy. They just give block bookers priority. For most away games anybody can get tickets in the away end. Travel agents often source tickets locally for the home end where there is big demand.

However some of the unused tickets could well be travel agents in this case.

I started the thread because I know of a group buying away tickets with no intention of going and trying to offload them if they can but if not then no problem. I susbequently heard 2nd hand of up to 10 tickets being bought in the same way.
    I dont personally know anyone doing this, but am sure it's done, similar to the way people keep block bookings in excess of the number in thier own group.

When I pointed this out on a thread for the recent home games, someone trying to offloaad bundles of tickets I got a rough time.

While the ticket exchange is a good idea in principal it seems to have the same people offering tickets regularly and the same looking for them,
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

229 Posts
    As has been mentioned already on the tread somewhere - where is the benefit in doing this? The FAI do not have a points system to my knowledge and so no benefit is really gained.

Is it a case of just having it there as backup to an argument if WC2010 tickets are hard to source and trying to use it as a goodwill angle with the FAI - "Look at me 'superfan' - I should get tickets"?
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Junior View Post
    As has been mentioned already on the tread somewhere - where is the benefit in doing this? The FAI do not have a points system to my knowledge and so no benefit is really gained.

Is it a case of just having it there as backup to an argument if WC2010 tickets are hard to source and trying to use it as a goodwill angle with the FAI - "Look at me 'superfan' - I should get tickets"?
    It is an attempt to ensure they get tickets for the world cup if we qualify. There is no allocation system as you say but you'd imagine those who have "attended" all the qualifiers will get preference. However I attended all 12 qualifiers in 94 and wasn't allocated any tickets for the finals (I did get them in the end).

So far it has cost them €19 per head total for 3 games. Cyprus normally charge us 3-4 times the home fans price so that will be expensive for them.

In reality I don't think tickets will be a problem in South Africa except maybe for a game v a top seed like Brazil, England or the hosts.

Lets hope you are right gspin as I stupidly never applied for tickets for South Africa.
    In Trap we trust

229 Posts
    I didnt bother either. I wont be going to SA unless we qualify and family commitments now mean that if I can go it will have to be planned carefully to minimise cost/time away etc.. Past experience in America and Japan has meant Im not going to overly worry at this stage about tickets.

Lets get there first!!!

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

I purposely do not start a family or have any interaction with the opposite sex in order so I can go to the World Cup. That is the only family planning I do.
    In Trap we trust

229 Posts
    Judging by the amount of 'thinly veiled' flirting groundwork with female (I think?) posters you do on this site, that might not last forever

Lets review your status pre-2014 World Cup!!!

Problem is Junior is that the likes of Babysis and Green Tribe have all met me in person and that ends the flirting as they see my face.
    In Trap we trust

Calm down lads
    Who said we will get to SA ?

Ha ha, on other forum people are giving out because people are chatting about possible play off opponents and saying we can win the group. Here people are giving out cause we are chatting out about potential ticket issues if we qualify.

I wonder is this how Bertie Ahern worked. When Members of his cabinet a few years ago started saying Boss what will we do if the property market goes bust what will we do. Ahh lads why dont you go and hang yourselves we are going to boom and the boom times are going to get even boomier.
    In Trap we trust

57 Posts
    So Neil do you fancy us to play Brazil or Germany in the final?

Based on the England figures (have to assume all countries got the same) there were approx 8,800 TSTs given out.

If we qualify there will be another 12% for Irish fans (appreciate jbyrne's link that the FAI may not get these but they will be for Irish fans) say 6,000 min per game. The travel agents will also get a chunk of tickets for the first time since 1994. These will be at ripoff prices but will take care of the corporate end.

We should be up at 16,000 - 17,000 for the bigger stadiums.

Local demand is not that high. I suspect that a good chunk of those that have bought tickets intend to tout them. They may go if it is Brazil but Ireland v Paraguay or Korea.

If we draw England, Brazil or the hosts then tickets for that game will be at a premium. Otherwise there should be spares floating around.

In 2002 the only game that had fans locked out was v Saudi in Yokohama. The locals in Japan all wanted to go to games. The Koreans by and large didn't bother or couldn't afford it. I'm pretty sure all block bookers were sorted out by the FAI. 13,000 travelled. I can see a few more going to South Africa if we make it but in the current climate even 20,000 might be optimistic.

So in summary I think tickets will be OK in the end. Qualifying will be much much harder,

I just think its terrible that we have to qualify for 2014 in Brazil even though we will be World Champions. I think Delaney should do something about it.
    In Trap we trust

544 Posts

In 2002 the only game that had fans locked out was v Saudi in Yokohama.
    this was a disgrace at the time as the match was not a sell out. we needed to replace our tickets (long story!) yet we could not get any officially (got sorted in the end elsewhere though). we couldnt believe it when we got to the match and saw empty seats as we were aware of others who came out to Japan en-spec only to be unable to get tickets

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast