675 Posts
    ROFL @ Daily Mail as credible source.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by placid casual View Post
    my favourite legend/story is of pat morley robbing a set of golf clubs.
    closely followed by the legend/story of stephen geoghgan robbing phones.
    both could well be true.
    my brother was working with Geoghegan at the time. Need i say more?
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

Quote Originally Posted by Schumi View Post
    Oi! I didn't say that.

Still? Will there ever be alcohol on sale there?
    Apologies lads I meant Pineapple Stu said. Muchos apologeticos.
    Apparently its too dear to get the alcohol license or something. Funny thing is the crowds would probably double if there was a bar there.
    I just sit down at the typewriter & start hittin the keys, just hittin the keys. Getting them in the right order though thats the trick, thats the trick.

Garth Merenghi

Not really an Urban myth but I always kind of cringe whenever I hear " Such & such had a spell at Liverpool or Man Utd etc". If you can count spending 4 hours a day shining the first teams boots & popping out to the Chippy to get a burger for the Youth team coach "A spell".

Also any current LOI player when they are referred to as an "Irish International".
    I just sit down at the typewriter & start hittin the keys, just hittin the keys. Getting them in the right order though thats the trick, thats the trick.

Garth Merenghi

Quote Originally Posted by Boh_So_Good View Post
    "Derry City FC Officials, Players and Supporters do not smell of Greyhound Droppings"

"Dubs use soap...."

812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Boh_So_Good View Post
    You are an intolerant little fellow aren't you. My sig is none of your business, you have deep rooted issues relating to people holding an opinion which does not align with yours.

It's called "Freedom of Speech" ...
    Not to get into this stupid little fight, but freedom of speech applies to his post as much as your sig. Get over it and stop ****ing up the thread for everyone.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

291 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Salmon Coloured View Post
    Not really an Urban myth but I always kind of cringe whenever I hear " Such & such had a spell at Liverpool or Man Utd etc". If you can count spending 4 hours a day shining the first teams boots & popping out to the Chippy to get a burger for the Youth team coach "A spell".
    Father Dougal: Didn't you once say that Father Jack had a trial for Liverpool?
    Father Ted: No... no, he was on trial, in Liverpool.

This is specially for you Boh_So_Good: http://www.qwghlm.co.uk/toys/dailymail/
    Last edited by thischarmingman; 23/04/2009 at 6:13 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by John83 View Post
    Not to get into this stupid little fight, but freedom of speech applies to his post as much as your sig. Get over it and stop ****ing up the thread for everyone.
    FFS I started this thread!

Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    my brother was working with Geoghegan at the time. Need i say more?
    Was he the junkie who was arrested, panicked and gave Geoghegan's name as he was the only person he knew working with phones??

Anyway, one I heard years ago was former Shels defender Henry McKop (1995-96) was arrested on drug charges and deported!
    4th official"Dermot, relax with the swearing" .Keely"Ah its grand, he's me son"

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Blue Man View Post
    Was he the junkie who was arrested, panicked and gave Geoghegan's name as he was the only person he knew working with phones??
    no, he's not a Pats fan.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

812 Posts
    Anyway, one I heard years ago was former Shels defender Henry McKop (1995-96) was arrested on drug charges and deported!
    You just don't see this colour in the league transfers threads these days:

Shelbourne
    In:
    -

Out:
    H. McKop (deported after narcotics conviction).
    You can't spell failure without FAI

Quote Originally Posted by John83 View Post
    You just don't see this colour in the league transfers threads these days:

Shelbourne
    In:
    -

Out:
    H. McKop (deported after narcotics conviction).
    Very good
    Hunky Dorys Park - could be worse, we could be going to Old Trafford every other week

Have an Urban Legend with a twist.

Derry City were funded by the IRA. As I was told by a Drogs fan many moons.

Which would mean they are part funded by Roy Keane who gives 20% of his wages to the IRA. So I was told by a Cork City fan.

Have any Derry fans heard that one?

291 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SunderlandBohs View Post

Derry City were funded by the IRA.
    That's true: we used to play in red and white balaclavas, our team meetings were held in country pubs and our ground was P. O'Neill Park.

Quote Originally Posted by thischarmingman View Post
    That's true: we used to play in red and white balaclavas, our team meetings were held in country pubs and our ground was P. O'Neill Park.
    I thought it was a classic! Talk about putting 1+1 together and getting 20.

115 Posts
    Wasn't there an ex-Pat's player shot dead in Amsterdam a few years ago? Derek Dunne or something like that.

The Geoghegan story was great! It was brilliant to hear the opposition fans singing "Geoghegan robs the phones" and I remember even at one stage that a Rovers fan (I think) threw his phone at him!!!

Any chance one of the mods could delete all the garbage from this thread because some of it is quite enjoyable.
    I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"

Quote Originally Posted by JC_GUFC View Post
    Wasn't there an ex-Pat's player shot dead in Amsterdam a few years ago? Derek Dunne or something like that.
    The Dunne thing isn't a myth though...

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Salmon Coloured View Post
    the crowds would probably double if there was a bar there.
    There's a new urban myth right there

I have one

Bohs fans are all a shower of .....
    Last edited by Hibernian; 24/04/2009 at 1:00 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by SunderlandBohs View Post

Derry City were funded by the IRA. As I was told by a Drogs fan many moons.

Which would mean they are part funded by Roy Keane who gives 20% of his wages to the IRA. So I was told by a Cork City fan.

Have any Derry fans heard that one?
    at least they be kept running in few years anyway

Page 8 of 9 FirstFirst ... 6789 LastLast