Page 13 of 70 FirstFirst ... 311121314152363 ... LastLast

Thread: Shane Duffy D Norwich b.1992

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    842 Posts
    Kingdomkerry called this last week on the Darron Gibson thread and I must say I was skepical but fair play your source was dead on. Great news
    Its really not that complicated!!!

717 Posts
    McCarthy and Duffy, bit of a Carlsberg Monday really!

3,286 Posts
    Duffy was named in the squad for the Albania friendly: http://www.irishfa.com/the-ifa/news/...ania-friendly/
    Can someone clarify this?

201 Posts
    According to 'Shane Duffy's Agent' on toffeetalk, Duffy has declared for us.

I've just PM'd Duffy's da on OWC to see the craic and I'll report back with my findings.

http://www.londonderrysentinel.co.uk...and.6093221.jp

From the Sentinel: http://www.londonderrysentinel.co.uk...and.6093221.jp

While Londonderry teenager Shane Duffy, who has impressed Everton boss David Moyes, has turned down the chance to play for Northern Ireland and has opted to try and force his way into Giovanni Trapattoni's Republic of Ireland squad.
    Last edited by Predator; 22/02/2010 at 1:27 PM.

366 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    Duffy was named in the squad for the Albania friendly: http://www.irishfa.com/the-ifa/news/...ania-friendly/
    Can someone clarify this?
    A rumour but it seems that Nigel and the Irish FA released the NI squad press release before checking Duffy's availability for selection.

In a year, he'll be some player

Set your reminders folks!

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Brendan 82 View Post

Ha ha I like it. Great news if true. Bit of fcuk up by the IFA site if true but am more likely to believe the BBC website than the IFA's.

201 Posts
    Duffy's father replied to an enquiry made on the OWC website:
    Originally Posted by duffs
    hi coachers
    shane did make his decision and yes he has declared for the rep,as i have said in my last post the choice was his,
    http://ourweecountry.ipbhost.com/ind...dpost&p=626086
    Last edited by Predator; 22/02/2010 at 2:22 PM.

214 Posts

Haha!!! Quality.

214 Posts
    Very possibly so.

Why not? I'm sure I'll not be "crying" over anything I've posted this time around

P.S. For the record, I think Duffy can go on to be a very good player and while disappointed it won't be with NI, I don't hold anything against him for keeping his options open whilst he made his final choice.
    Mind you, it wouldn't have been so easy to take had he been a goalkeeper or a striker...

85 Posts
    I mentioned this on the Fans Forum a few seconds ago.

I see that it was 'kingdom kerry' that correctly said that he would declare
    The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist thinks it will change; the realist adjusts the sails.

Great news, but I'd be fairly peed off today if I was Nigel Worthington.

What squad and when can we expect to see him getting a call for us first given that in the last week or so the Senior, Under 21 and Under 19 squads have been announced and he is not obviously in any of them yet
    I have a head only Snow White would love

366 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EalingGreen View Post
    Mind you, it wouldn't have been so easy to take had he been a goalkeeper or a striker...
    Tempting fate there EG.

It's pleasing that a young fellow like Shane has the courage to turn down senior international football with NI to follow his heart and fight for his place in our international sides. I think he does have a long way to go before he is ready for senior football with us but the potential to do so is there for everyone to see.

201 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by greendeiseboy View Post
    Great news, but I'd be fairly peed off today if I was Nigel Worthington.
    According to Duffy's father, Duffy made the decision almost 3 weeks ago, so NI really shouldn't have included him in the published team squad. While Worthington may be annoyed at losing such a prospect, he has to respect Duffy's decision.

What squad and when can we expect to see him getting a call for us first given that in the last week or so the Senior, Under 21 and Under 19 squads have been announced and he is not obviously in any of them yet
    There is probably some paperwork currently being done in order for him to get clearance to play. Depending on how the rest of his season goes (he may get another Europa League game this Thursday), I can see him in the U21 squad and then possibly being included in the senior squad for the friendlies in May.

[QUOTE=Predator;1323840]According to Duffy's father, Duffy made the decision almost 3 weeks ago, so NI really shouldn't have included him in the published team squad. While Worthington may be annoyed at losing such a prospect, he has to respect Duffy's decision.

If that's the case, a bit of a slip up by Worthington or maybe he was hoping that by naming him he might have another change of heart.

170 Posts
    If that's the case, a bit of a slip up by Worthington or maybe he was hoping that by naming him he might have another change of heart
    It's obviously disappointing, and the announcement looks like a ****-up by Worthington and the IFA. Still, he's been a valuable player in our youth sides so thanks for that. Let's move on.

285 Posts
    Young Daniel Kearns of West Ham and Dan Devine of Preston have switched to us also. Both were U-19 players for the North.

http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=c...r-19&Itemid=12
    "We lost because we didn't win"- Ronaldo

Quote Originally Posted by Gather round View Post
    It's obviously disappointing, and the announcement looks like a ****-up by Worthington and the IFA. Still, he's been a valuable player in our youth sides so thanks for that. Let's move on.
    Do feel sorry for ye on this one especially given the investment the IFA had made with him. This type of thing hasn't really affected us yet but maybe in a few years I'm sure we'll have kids coming through who are born to foreign nationals who'll declare for the parents countries so that'll be an intersting one here then.

Cant think of any player who was born here declaring for another country - no doubt I'm wrong.

3,286 Posts
    Do feel sorry for ye on this one especially given the investment the IFA had made with him. This type of thing hasn't really affected us yet but maybe in a few years I'm sure we'll have kids coming through who are born to foreign nationals who'll declare for the parents countries so that'll be an intersting one here then.

Cant think of any player who was born here declaring for another country - no doubt I'm wrong.
    I'm convinced I read before of a goalkeeper who played for the U-16's, and went on to represent England at one of the underage championships. Not sure where he was born though
    Paul Marshall played for the U-19's, and then switched to England and played in the World Youth Championships. He was born in Manchester though

170 Posts
    To be fair, he's returned the 'investment' by playing U-21 and U-19.

Although as I've said throughout the thread I'd prefer U-19 or U-21 games after 18th birthday to tie a player to one country, the rules cut both ways. I'd expect us to continue to gain more players from England than we lose to you.

Page 13 of 70 FirstFirst ... 311121314152363 ... LastLast