Craig Moore is ruled out while muscat isnt 1st team so i dont think there will be a chance
how about a round of applause every time the rangers playes touch the ball on tuesday and drown out the muppets.
you can shove your scottish football up your arse
Craig Moore is ruled out while muscat isnt 1st team so i dont think there will be a chance
Fair enough if you're against the booing but why you'd want to applaud any opponent is beyond me, Lansedown should be as intimidating as possible.
two reasons:Originally posted by Slash/ED
Fair enough if you're against the booing but why you'd want to applaud any opponent is beyond me, Lansedown should be as intimidating as possible.
1. its only a friendly.
2. to make a point
Strange that somebody who calls Roy Keane a "thug" is now encouraging us to applaud Kevin Muscat, the thug of all thugs. Irony in the extreme!
How about instead of either booing or applauding, we just pray that he doesn't injure any of our players.
Last edited by brine2; 17/08/2003 at 5:31 PM.
i totally agree with it ..... try and shut those Sell-Thick múppets up, they are high-jacking our National games .... why dont they go and support Scotland.![]()
Kevin Muscat is a thug, and if he throws in a dirty tackle then boo him, if he moans to the ref after getting carded then boo him. If he gives the fan the finger then boo him. I'll join in with you....
but booing him just because of a connection with rangers is just sad and pathethic.
Yeah if Muscat puts in one of his vintage tackles I'd boo him, it was him who sparked a huge club V country row before when he creased some French striker in a friendly between the sides a while ago, he's a disgrace.
An Aussie mate of mine used to play with him in school and claims that he has a very highly developed sense of his own self-worth, or as my mate put it "he's a cocky little mongrel".Originally posted by Slash/ED
Yeah if Muscat puts in one of his vintage tackles I'd boo him, it was him who sparked a huge club V country row before when he creased some French striker in a friendly between the sides a while ago, he's a disgrace.
Maybe you should put her on a leash, agent-man.
Bang on the mark Tiktok - that is exactly what the case should be tonight. Same with Kewell, Viduka, Pemberton et al. Boo them if they deserve it, not because of who pays their wages.Originally posted by tiktok
Kevin Muscat is a thug, and if he throws in a dirty tackle then boo him, if he moans to the ref after getting carded then boo him. If he gives the fan the finger then boo him. I'll join in with you....
but booing him just because of a connection with rangers is just sad and pathethic.
That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.
Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!
Originally Posted by Dodge
not really. I'm well aware of muscats behaviour, but at least he's actually willing to play for his country unlike that other scumbag you seem so totally obsessed with- do you ever post anything that doesn't have his name in it? I booed okon last night after he tried to maim ireland players, I didn't boo vidmar- you get the point yet?Originally posted by brine2
Strange that somebody who calls Roy Keane a "thug" is now encouraging us to applaud Kevin Muscat, the thug of all thugs. Irony in the extreme!
i think if we can distinguish between them, the Uefa representative probably would be able to too.Originally posted by Silvio Dante
And UEFA are supposed to distinguish booing for a bad tackle but not because he may have a Rangers connection....
the last time Uefa took a look it was because an irish fan registered a complaint, the same fan would be unlikely to register a complaint because of booing due to a bad tackle. use your head man![]()
Celtic Football Club is delighted to announce that UEFA has honoured the Club’s supporters with the presentation of the 2003 UEFA “Fair Play Award”.
UEFA has paid tribute to Celtic supporters following their fantastic performance throughout the Club’s UEFA Cup run last season, culminating in the UEFA Cup Final when around 80,000 supporters travelled to Seville to back the team.
UEFA has expressed its admiration for the Celtic support, the way in which supporters created such a magnificent ‘fiesta’ in Seville and for the sportsmanship which they demonstrated at the Final.
The Fair Play Award is presented this evening (28th August 2003) in Monte Carlo at the annual UEFA Football Gala.
thats cos there were no rangers players to boo in the UEFA cup![]()
Anyone with cop on will agree that the Celtic fans who follow their team across europe are a sight to behold- the colour noise and passion are amazing, unfortunately its the idiots over here who think they support a team from another country, who embarass Ireland AND Glasgow Celtic
please explain to me how you "think" you support a team? does that mean i might have convinced myself i support celtic but that in actual fact some higher authority has deemed it otherwise. if that is the case, i wonder who do i support? maybe eanna you are the higher entity who dictates where my true allegiance lies?? i hope after all these years i haven't secretly been a rangers supporter (or worse, a city fan! aaaaahhh)![]()
There was around 15,000 Irish people in Seville and several thousand who go to Glasgow every week!Originally posted by Éanna
unfortunately its the idiots over here who think they support a team from another country, who embarass Ireland AND Glasgow Celtic
Never heard of anyone being embarrassed by them can you to tell me what ye mean by that?
BTW I hope those nasty league of Ireland fans stay away from the Ireland game against Russia as we dont want any leftovers from last night dublin derby spoiling the day!
to be fair, the Final in Seville was a credit to Celtic, the place was green and white as far as the eye could see, apparently outside the ground too. and the award for fair play was deserved on those terms, shame the result went the other way.
slightly off topic but, Porto have just gotten done with a huge fine for selling a portion of their allocation at inflated prices on the black market.
embarrassment mightn't have been the word to use, but i wish some of them would trot down the road and support their local clubs the odd weekend too.Originally posted by Lionel Hutz
There was around 15,000 Irish people in Seville and several thousand who go to Glasgow every week!
I'd agree the Rangers players controversy is embarrassing the southern national team (I'm a NI fan btw).
The barracking is obviously sectarian, there's a lot of it, and that does Republic fans no credit. The team aren't playing Rangers, they have a neglgible fan base in the Republic. Why not just ignore them?
PS I supported Rangers as a kid until I realised how sectarian the Old Firm was...but no more!
They're red, they're black
The hatchetmen are back.
We'll support you evermore
Though you never score...
i don't actually believe the booing is sectarian, that would imply that they are being booed on the presumption of their protestant faith as was incorrectly stated by fran rooney. in fact it would not matter if the said player was catholic, jew or scientologist, there just exists a large amount of antipithy towards the club in these parts. i do not agree with the booing, i think is is quite juvenile and purely from a public relations standpoint it is counter productive. i believe an ironic cheer would have the same effect whilst also abating the baying anti celtic elements.
No, it's definitely sectarian. Which I would define here as anything advertising a bias based on nationalist/ unionist conflict in Northern Ireland. Not everything unionist or nationalist is sectarian.
So, a tricolor outside your house in Andytown isn't sectarian. Taking a union jack into the Cliftonville Road is, since clearly its purpose is to annoy the locals. Barracking Rangers players at Lansdowne is sectarian because it exploits an event (RoI v Australia?) that has nothing to do with Rangers.
Celtic and Rangers are sectarian because they exploit political conflict in NI for their own commercial ends. Not as much as they did, sure, but it's still there. Aye, I'll have an orange jersey while you sing IRA ditties. Charming![]()
They're red, they're black
The hatchetmen are back.
We'll support you evermore
Though you never score...